Child Witnesses to Domestic Violence - Indiana

Date:

Circumstances That Constitute Witnessing

Citation: Ann. Stat. § 31-14-14-5

In civil law: This section applies if a court finds that a noncustodial parent has been convicted of a crime involving domestic or family violence that was witnessed or heard by the noncustodial parent's child.

Consequences

Citation: Ann. Stat. § 31-14-14-5

When a noncustodial parent has been convicted of domestic violence that was witnessed by the noncustodial parent's child, his or her parenting time with the child must be supervised for at least 1 year and no more than 2 years immediately following the crime involving domestic or family violence or until the child becomes emancipated, whichever occurs first.

As a condition of granting the noncustodial parent unsupervised parenting time, the court may require the noncustodial parent to complete a batterer's intervention program certified by the Indiana Coalition Against Domestic Violence.