Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect - Delaware

Date:

Professionals Required to Report
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 903

Any person, agency, organization, or entity that knows or in good faith suspects child abuse or neglect shall make a report. For purposes of this section, 'person' shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

  • Physicians, interns, residents, nurses, or medical examiners
  • Other persons in the healing arts, including persons licensed to render services in medicine, osteopathy, or dentistry
  • School employees, social workers, or psychologists
  • Hospitals or health-care institutions
  • The Medical Society of Delaware
  • Law enforcement agencies

Training Requirements for Mandatory Reporters

Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 911

The Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families shall, on a continuing basis, undertake and maintain programs to inform all persons required to report abuse or neglect and the public of the nature, problem, and extent of abuse and neglect; remedial and therapeutic services available to children and their families; and to encourage self-reporting and the voluntary acceptance of such services.

The department shall conduct ongoing training programs to advance the purpose of this section. The department also shall continuously publicize the existence of the 24-hour report-line to those required to report abuse or neglect and of their responsibilities and to the public the existence of the 24-hour statewide toll-free telephone number to receive reports of abuse or neglect.

Resources related to training for reporters can be found at Mandatory Reporting Trainings

Reporting by Other Persons
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 903

Any person who knows or in good faith suspects child abuse or neglect shall make a report. 

Institutional Responsibility to Report

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Standards for Making a Report
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 903

A report is required when the reporter knows or in good faith suspects child abuse or neglect. 

Privileged Communications
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 909

Only attorney-client and clergy-penitent privileges are recognized. 

Inclusion of the Reporter's Name in the Report
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 905

Although reports may be made anonymously, the department shall request the name and address of any person making a report. 

Disclosure of the Reporter's Identity

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed.