Infant Safe Haven Laws - Nebraska

Date:

Infant's Age

Citation: Rev. Stat. § 29-121

A child who is 30 days old or younger may be relinquished.

Who May Relinquish the Infant

Citation: Rev. Stat. § 29-121

A person may leave the child at a licensed hospital.

Who May Receive the Infant

Citation: Rev. Stat. § 29-121

The child may be left in the custody of an employee on duty at a hospital licensed by the State of Nebraska.

Responsibilities of the Safe Haven Provider

Citation: Rev. Stat. § 29-121

The hospital shall promptly contact appropriate authorities to take custody of the child.

Immunity for the Provider

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed.

Protection for Relinquishing Parent

Citation: Rev. Stat. § 29-121

No person shall be prosecuted for any crime based solely upon the act of leaving a child 30 days old or younger in the custody of an employee on duty at a hospital licensed by the State of Nebraska.

Effect on Parental Rights

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed.