Educational Supports for Youth in Foster Care - Oregon

Date:

Support for Completing High School

Citation: Admin. Rules § 413-030-0430

The range of services available through the department to an eligible child or young adult transitioning to independent living includes educational and vocational training support, such as high school diploma or general educational development (GED) preparation, job readiness, and job search assistance and placement programs.

Planning for Postsecondary Education

Citation: Admin. Rules § 413-030-0430

The range of services available through the department to an eligible child or young adult transitioning to independent living includes the following:

  • Postsecondary education and academic support
  • Education and training grants that provide assistance with the costs of a postsecondary education or training program

Eligibility Requirements

Citation: Ann. Stat. § 350.300; Admin. Rules § 413-030-0410

A 'former foster child' is an individual who, for a total of 6 or more months while between age 14 and 21, was either of the following:

  • A ward of the court pursuant to § 419B.100(1)(b)-(e), in the legal custody of the Department of Human Services for out-of-home placement, and not dismissed from care before reaching age 16
  • An Indian child subject to the Indian Child Welfare Act, under the jurisdiction of a Tribal court for out-of-home placement, and not dismissed from care before reaching age 16

In regulation: A child, young adult, or former foster child must meet the following eligibility criteria for an Education and Training Voucher (ETV):

  • Be adopted or entered a guardianship after September 1, 2015, at age 13 or older through the department
  • Be age 16 or older and currently in substitute care through the State or one of the federally recognized Tribes
  • Have been dismissed from substitute care after reaching age 16 and had 180 or more cumulative days of substitute care after his or her 14th birthday

The child, young adult, or former foster child may remain eligible until he or she reaches age 26. He or she must be making satisfactory progress in his or her area of study, as determined by the postsecondary institution, in order to continue receiving the grant. The child, young adult, or former foster child may receive the grant for a maximum of 5 years (whether or not the years are consecutive).

The former foster child is only eligible for an ETV when the cost of room and board is not included in calculation of the cost of attendance.

Financial Supports for Postsecondary Programs

Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 350.300; 348.272

A current or former foster child under age 25 who is enrolled in courses totaling 1 or more credit hours at an institution of higher education as an undergraduate student shall have the amount of tuition and all fees levied against the student waived if attending an institution of higher education for purposes of pursuing an initial undergraduate degree.

A student who is a current or former foster child is entitled to a tuition waiver and all fees until the student has received the equivalent of 4 years of undergraduate education. As a condition of receiving a tuition waiver for an academic year, a current or former foster child must complete and submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid for that academic year.

A tuition waiver and all fees may be reduced by the amount of any Federal aid scholarships or grants, an award from the Oregon Opportunity Grant program established under § 348.205, and any other aid received from the institution of higher education. For the purposes of this subsection, 'Federal aid scholarships or grants' does not include Chafee Education and Training Grant vouchers.

In addition to any other scholarships provided by law, the Higher Education Coordinating Commission shall award scholarships to any individual applying for enrollment or enrolled in an institution of higher education who is a current or former foster child. Scholarships awarded under this section shall be in an amount to be determined by the commission based on the funds that are made available for the awarding year.

If a student who is a current or former foster child continues to remain enrolled in a public university; a community college; or an Oregon-based, regionally accredited independent institution, the student is entitled to apply for renewal of the scholarship until the student has received the equivalent of 4 years of undergraduate education.

The director of the Office of Student Access and Completion may require proof that a student is currently or formerly in foster care.