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Penalties for Failure to 
Report and False Reporting 
of Child Abuse and Neglect
Many cases of child abuse and neglect are 
not reported, even when mandated by law. 
Therefore, nearly every State and U.S. territory 
imposes penalties, often in the form of a fine or 
imprisonment, on mandatory reporters who fail to 
report suspected child abuse or neglect as required 
by law.1 In addition, to prevent malicious or 
intentional reporting of cases that are not founded, 
many States and the U.S. Virgin Islands impose 
penalties against any person who files a report 
known to be false. 

1 Mandatory reporters are professionals and other persons who are required by State 
law to report suspected child abuse or neglect. For more information, see Child Welfare 
Information Gateway’s Mandatory Reporters of Child Abuse and Neglect at https://
www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/statutes/manda/.
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Penalties for Failure to Report

Approximately 49 States, the District of Columbia, 
American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, 
Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands impose penalties on 
mandatory reporters who knowingly or willfully fail to make 
a report when they suspect that a child is being abused 
or neglected.2 In Florida, a mandatory reporter who fails 
to report as required by law can be charged with a felony. 
Failure to report is classified as a misdemeanor or a similar 
charge in 40 States and American Samoa, Guam, and the 
Virgin Islands.3 Misdemeanors are upgraded to felonies 
for failure to report more serious situations in Arizona (for 
a serious offense such as child prostitution or incest) and 
Minnesota (for when a child has died because of the lack of 
medical care). In Connecticut, Illinois, Kentucky, and Guam, 
second or subsequent violations are classified as felonies.

Twenty States and the District of Columbia, Guam, the 
Northern Mariana Islands, and the Virgin Islands specify 
in the reporting laws the penalties for a failure to report.4 
Upon conviction, a mandated reporter who fails to report 
can face jail terms ranging from 30 days to 5 years, fines 
ranging from $300 to $10,000, or both jail terms and fines. 
In seven States, harsher penalties may be imposed under 
certain circumstances.5 In seven States and American  

2  The word “approximately” is used to stress the fact that the States 
frequently amend their laws. This information is current through February 
2019. Wyoming currently does not have a statute that imposes penalties on 
mandatory reporters for failure to report.
3  Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, 
Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, 
Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey 
(charged as a disorderly person), New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North 
Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, 
South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and West Virginia.  
4  Alabama, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Louisiana, Maine, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico, Rhode Island, 
South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and 
Wisconsin.
5  In California and Massachusetts, harsher penalties are imposed when the 
failure to report results in the child’s death or serious bodily injury. Louisiana 
imposes harsher penalties when the reporter fails to report sexual abuse or 
serious bodily injury. Delaware and Virginia impose harsher penalties upon 
second or subsequent convictions for failure to report. Vermont imposes its fine 
for failure to report when the reporter willfully fails to report with the intent to 
conceal the abuse. West Virginia imposes harsher penalties for failure to report 
the sexual assault of a child.

Samoa, in addition to any criminal penalties, the reporter 
may be civilly liable for any damages caused by the 
failure to report.6 

Florida imposes a fine of up to $1 million on any institution 
of higher learning, including any State university and 
nonpublic college, who fails to report or prevents any 
person from reporting an instance of abuse committed on 
the property of the institution or at an event sponsored 
by the institution. In Maryland, an agency participating 
in a child abuse or neglect investigation that has reason 
to suspect that a health-care practitioner, police officer, 
or educator has failed to report as required must file a 
complaint with that professional’s respective licensing 
authority. In Missouri, a film or photographic film 
processor, computer technician, or internet provider who 
fails to report child pornography commits a misdemeanor. 

Obstructing Reports of Abuse or Neglect 

Approximately 10 States impose penalties against any 
employer who discharges, suspends, disciplines, or 
engages in any action to prevent or prohibit an employee 
or volunteer from making a report of suspected child 
maltreatment as required by the reporting laws.7 In 
six States, an action to prevent a report is classified 
as a misdemeanor.8 In Connecticut, an employer who 
interferes with making a report will be charged with 
a felony and may be subject to a civil penalty of up 
to $2,500. Three States specify the penalties for that 
action,9 and in four States the employer is civilly liable 
for damages for any harm caused to the mandatory 
reporter.10 

In Pennsylvania, a person commits a felony if he or she 
uses force, violence, or threat; offers a bribe to prevent a 
report; or has a prior conviction for the same or a similar 
6  Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Michigan, Montana, New York, and Rhode 
Island.
7  Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Maryland, Minnesota, North Dakota, 
Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Vermont, and Wyoming.
8  Alabama, Arkansas, Maryland, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, and Wyoming.
9  Maryland ($10,000, 5 years in jail, or both), Minnesota ($10,000), and 
Wyoming ($750, 6 months in jail, or both).
10  Minnesota, North Dakota, Oklahoma, and Vermont.

This material may be freely reproduced and distributed. However, when doing so, please credit Child Welfare Information Gateway. 
This publication is available online at https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/statutes/report/.
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offense. In Puerto Rico, any person who deliberately 
prevents another person from making a report commits 
a misdemeanor.11 In the Northern Mariana Islands, any 
person who is convicted of interfering with the good-faith 
efforts of any person making or attempting to make a 
report shall be subject to imprisonment for up to 1 year, 
or a fine of $1,000, or both.

Penalties for False Reporting

Approximately 29 States and Puerto Rico carry penalties 
in their civil child protection laws for any person who 
willfully or intentionally makes a false report of child abuse 
or neglect.12 In New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and the 
Virgin Islands, making false reports of child maltreatment 
is made illegal in criminal sections of State code. 

Nineteen States and the Virgin Islands classify false 
reporting as a misdemeanor or similar charge.13 In Florida, 
Illinois, Tennessee, and Texas, false reporting is a felony; 
while in Arkansas, Indiana, Missouri, and Virginia, second 
or subsequent offenses are upgraded to felonies. In 
Michigan, false reporting can be either a misdemeanor 
or a felony, depending on the seriousness of the alleged 
abuse in the report. No criminal penalties are imposed 
in California, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, and Nebraska; 
however, the immunity from civil or criminal action that is 
provided to reporters of abuse or neglect is not extended 
to those who make a false report. In South Carolina, in 
addition to any criminal penalties, the Department of 
Social Services may bring civil action against the person 
to recover the costs of investigation and any proceedings 
related to the investigation.

11  Upon conviction, the person is subject to a fine of up to $5,000 or 
imprisonment of up to 90 days.
12  Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, 
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, 
Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, 
Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, and 
Wyoming. 
13  Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, 
Michigan, Missouri, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, 
South Carolina, Virginia, Washington, and Wyoming. In Iowa, a person who 
makes more than three reports regarding the same child victim or the same 
alleged abuser that are determined to be false or without merit may be 
subject to criminal charges.

Eleven States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands specify 
the penalties for making a false report.14 Upon conviction, 
the reporter can face jail terms ranging from 90 days 
to 5 years or fines ranging from $500 to $5,000. Florida 
imposes the most severe penalties: In addition to a 
court sentence of 5 years and $5,000, the Department of 
Children and Family Services may fine the reporter up to 
$10,000. In six States, the reporter may be civilly liable for 
any damages caused by the report.15

Suggested Citation: 

Child Welfare Information Gateway. (2019). Penalties for 
failure to report and false reporting of child abuse and 
neglect. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Children’s Bureau.

14  Connecticut, Florida, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Oklahoma, 
Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming.
15  California, Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, Minnesota, and North Dakota.

This publication is a product of the State Statutes 
Series prepared by Child Welfare Information 
Gateway. While every attempt has been made 
to be complete, additional information on these 
topics may be in other sections of a state’s code 
as well as agency regulations, case law, and 
informal practices and procedures.
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Alabama 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ala. Code §§ 26-14-3(g); 26-14-13

Commencing on August 1, 2013, a public or private employer who discharges, suspends, disciplines, or penalizes an employee solely 
for reporting suspected child abuse or neglect pursuant to this section shall be guilty of a class C misdemeanor.

Any person who knowingly fails to make the report required by the reporting laws shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be 
punished by a sentence of not more than 6 months imprisonment or a fine of not more than $500. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Alaska 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Alaska Stat. § 47.17.068

A person who fails to comply with the laws requiring reports of child abuse or neglect or child pornography and who knew or should 
have known that the circumstances gave rise to the need for a report is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

American Samoa 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 45.2002(d) 

Any person who willfully violates the provisions of § 45.2002(a) (requiring certain persons to report) commits a class A misdemeanor 
and is liable for damages proximately caused. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Arizona 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 13-3620(O), (P)

A person who violates this section requiring the reporting of child abuse or neglect is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor, except if the 
failure to report involves a reportable offense, in which case the person is guilty of a class 6 felony.

A ‘reportable offense’ means any of the following:



https://www.childwelfare.govPenalties for Failure to Report and False Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect

5
This material may be freely reproduced and distributed. However, when doing so, please credit Child Welfare Information Gateway. 
This publication is available online at https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/statutes/report/.

• Any offense listed in chapters 14 and 35.1 of this title or § 13-3506.01
• Surreptitious photographing, videotaping, filming, or digitally recording or viewing a minor pursuant to § 13-3019
• Child prostitution pursuant to § 13-3212
• Incest pursuant to § 13-3608
• Unlawful mutilation pursuant to § 13-1214

False Reporting 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 13-3620.01 

A person acting with malice who knowingly and intentionally makes a false report of child abuse or neglect, or a person acting with 
malice who coerces another person to make a false report of child abuse or neglect, is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. 

A person who knowingly and intentionally makes a false report that another person made a false report is guilty of a class 1 
misdemeanor. 

 
Arkansas 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 12-18-201; 12-18-202; 12-18-206; 12-18-204 

A mandated reporter commits the offense of failure to notify by a mandated reporter in the first degree if he or she has reasonable 
cause to suspect that a child has been subjected to or has died as a result of child maltreatment or observes a child being subjected 
to conditions or circumstances that would reasonably result in child maltreatment, and he or she knowingly fails to notify the child 
abuse hotline of the child maltreatment or suspected child maltreatment.

Failure to notify by a mandated reporter in the first degree is a class A misdemeanor.

A mandated reporter commits the offense of failure to notify by a mandated reporter in the second degree if he or she has 
reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been subjected to or has died as a result of child maltreatment or observes a child being 
subjected to conditions or circumstances that would reasonably result in child maltreatment, and he or she recklessly fails to notify 
the child abuse hotline of the child maltreatment or suspected child maltreatment.

Failure to notify by a mandated reporter in the second degree is a class C misdemeanor.

A mandated reporter who purposely fails to report as required is civilly liable for damages proximately caused by that failure. 

An employer or supervisor of an employee who is a mandated reporter commits the offense of unlawful restriction of child abuse 
reporting if he or she does the following:

• Prohibits a mandated reporter from making a report of child maltreatment or suspected child maltreatment
• Requires that a mandated reporter receive permission or notify a person before the mandated reporter makes a report
• Knowingly retaliates against a mandated reporter for reporting child maltreatment or suspected child maltreatment

Unlawful restriction of child abuse reporting is a class A misdemeanor. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Code § 12-18-203

A person commits the offense of making a false report under this chapter if he or she purposely and knowingly makes a report 
containing a false allegation to the child abuse hotline.

A first offense of making a false report under this chapter is a class A misdemeanor. A subsequent offense of making a false report 
under this chapter is a class D felony. 
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California

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Penal Code §§ 11166(c); 11166.01

Any mandated reporter who fails to report an incident of known or reasonably suspected child abuse or neglect is guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in a county jail or by a fine of $1,000, or both. If a mandated reporter intentionally 
conceals his or her failure to report an incident known by the mandated reporter to be abuse or severe neglect, the failure to report 
is a continuing offense until an agency specified in § 11165.9 discovers the offense.

Any supervisor or administrator who violates § 11166(1) (that prohibits impeding others from making a report), shall be punished by 
not more than 6 months in a county jail or by a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

Any mandated reporter who willfully fails to report abuse or neglect, or any person who impedes or inhibits a report of abuse or 
neglect, where that abuse or neglect results in death or great bodily injury, shall be punished by not more than 1 year in a county jail 
or by a fine of not more than $5,000, or both. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Penal Code § 11172(a)

Any person reporting a known or suspected instance of child abuse or neglect shall not incur civil or criminal liability as a result of any 
report, unless it can be proven that a false report was made and the person knew that the report was false or was made with reckless 
disregard of the truth or falsity of the report. 

Any person who makes a report of child abuse or neglect known to be false or with reckless disregard of the truth or falsity of the 
report is liable for any damages caused. 

 
Colorado 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 19-3-304(4)

Any mandatory reporter who willfully fails to report as required by § 19-3-304(1) commits a class 3 misdemeanor and shall be 
punished as provided by law and shall be liable for damages proximately caused

False Reporting 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 19-3-304(3.5), (4)

No person, including a mandatory reporter, shall knowingly make a false report of abuse or neglect to a county department or local 
law enforcement agency. 

Any person who violates this provision commits a class 3 misdemeanor and shall be punished as provided by law and shall be liable 
for damages proximately caused.
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Connecticut 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Gen. Stat. §§ 17a-101a; 17a-101e(a)

Any mandated reporter who fails to report as required by law or fails to make such report within the time period prescribed by law 
shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor. That person, however, shall be guilty of a class E felony if any of the following is true:

• The failure to report is a subsequent violation.
• The failure to report was willful, intentional, or due to gross negligence.
• The person had actual knowledge that a child was abused or neglected.

Any person who intentionally and unreasonably interferes with or prevents the making of a report pursuant to this section, or 
attempts or conspires to do so, shall be guilty of a class D felony. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to any child under 
age 18 or any person who is being educated by the Technical Education and Career System or a local or regional board of education, 
other than as part of an adult education program. 

Any person found guilty under the provisions of this section shall be required to participate in an educational and training program. 

The attorney general may bring an action in superior court against an employer who discharges or in any manner discriminates or 
retaliates against any in employee who in good faith makes a report of child abuse or neglect. The court may assess a civil penalty of 
no more than $2,500 and may order such other equitable relief as the court deems appropriate.

False Reporting 
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 17a-101e(c)-(d)

Any person who is alleged to have knowingly made a false report of child abuse or neglect shall be referred to the office of the Chief 
State’s Attorney for purposes of a criminal investigation.

Any person who knowingly makes a false report of child abuse or neglect shall be fined not more than $2,000 or imprisoned for not 
more than 1 year, or both. 

 
Delaware 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 914

Any person who violates § 903 of this title requiring certain persons to report suspected child abuse or neglect shall be liable for a 
civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for the first violation and not to exceed $50,000 for any subsequent violation.

In any action brought under this section, if the court finds a violation, the court may award costs and attorneys’ fees. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
District of Columbia 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 4-1321.07

Any person required to make a report under the reporting laws who willfully fails to make such a report shall be fined no more than 
the amount set forth in § 22-3571.01 ($1,000) or imprisoned for no more than 180 days, or both. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 
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Florida 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 39.205(1)-(4) 

A person who is required to report known or suspected child abuse and who knowingly and willfully fails to do so, or who knowingly 
and willfully prevents another person from doing so, commits a felony of the third degree, which is punishable as provided in §§ 
775.082, 775.083, or 775.084. Upon conviction, the person may be punished as follows:

• Imprisoned for a term not to exceed 5 years 
• Fined $5,000

Unless the court finds that the person is a victim of domestic violence or that other mitigating circumstances exist, a person age 18 or 
older who lives in the same house or living unit as a child who is known or suspected to be a victim of child abuse and knowingly and 
willfully fails to report the child abuse commits a felony of the third degree.

Any Florida College System institution; State university; or nonpublic college, university, or school whose administrators knowingly 
and willfully, upon receiving information from faculty, staff, or other institution employees, fail to report known or suspected child 
abuse, abandonment, or neglect committed on the property of the university, college, or school or during an event or function 
sponsored by the university, college, or school, or who knowingly and willfully prevents another person from doing so, shall be 
subject to fines of $1 million for each such failure.

Any Florida College System institution; State university; or nonpublic college, university, or school whose law enforcement agency 
fails to report known or suspected child abuse, abandonment, or neglect committed on the property of the university, college, or 
school or during an event or function sponsored by the university, college, or school shall be subject to fines of $1 million for each 
such failure. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 39.205(9); 39.206(1)

A person who knowingly and willfully makes a false report of child abuse, abandonment, or neglect, or who advises another to make 
a false report, is guilty of a felony of the third degree. Upon conviction, the person may be punished as follows: 

• Imprisoned for a term not to exceed 5 years
• Fined $5,000

In addition to any other penalty authorized by this section or other law, the Department of Children and Family Services may 
impose a fine, not to exceed $10,000 for each violation, upon a person who knowingly and willfully makes a false report of abuse, 
abandonment, or neglect of a child or a person who counsels another to make a false report. 

 
Georgia 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 19-7-5(h)

Any person or official required by law to report a suspected case of child abuse who knowingly and willfully fails to do so shall be 
guilty of a misdemeanor. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 
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Guam 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 19, § 13207

Any person required to report who fails to report an instance of child abuse that he or she knows to exist or reasonably should know 
to exist is guilty of a misdemeanor that is punishable by imprisonment for a term not to exceed 6 months or a fine of no more than 
$1,000, or both.

A second or subsequent conviction shall be a felony in the third degree. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
Hawaii 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 350-1.2 

Any mandatory reporter who knowingly prevents another person from reporting, or who knowingly fails to provide information as 
required by the reporting laws, shall be guilty of a petty misdemeanor. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
Idaho 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 16-1605(4) 

Failure to report as required by the reporting laws shall be a misdemeanor. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Code § 16-1607 

Any person who makes a report or allegation of child abuse, abandonment, or neglect knowing the report is false, or who reports or 
alleges the same in bad faith or with malice, shall be liable to the party or parties against whom the report was made for the amount 
of actual damages sustained or statutory damages of $2,500, whichever is greater, plus attorney’s fees and costs of suit.

If the court finds that the defendant acted with malice or oppression, the court may award treble actual damages or treble statutory 
damages, whichever is greater. 
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Illinois 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Comp. Stat. Ch. 325, §§ 5/4.02; 5/4 

Any physician who willfully fails to report suspected child abuse or neglect shall be referred to the Illinois State Medical Disciplinary 
Board for action in accordance with the Medical Practice Act of 1987. Any dentist or dental hygienist who willfully fails to report 
suspected child abuse or neglect shall be referred to the Department of Professional Regulation for action in accordance with the 
Illinois Dental Practice Act.

Any mandatory reporter who willfully fails to report suspected child abuse or neglect shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for a 
first violation and a class 4 felony for a second or subsequent violation.

Any person who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of this section is guilty of a class A misdemeanor for a first violation and 
a class 4 felony for a second or subsequent violation.

If the person acted as part of a plan or scheme with the object of preventing discovery of an abused or neglected child by lawful 
authorities for the purpose of protecting or insulating any person or entity from arrest or prosecution, the person is guilty of a class 
4 felony for a first offense and a class 3 felony for a second or subsequent offense (regardless of whether the second or subsequent 
offense involves any of the same facts or persons as the first or other prior offense). 

False Reporting 
Citation: Comp. Stat. Ch. 325, § 5/4

Any person who knowingly transmits a false report to the department commits the offense of disorderly conduct under Ch. 720, § 
5/26.1(a)(7). A violation of this provision is a class 4 felony. 

 
Indiana 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 31-33-22-1 

A person who knowingly fails to make a report required by § 31-33-5-1 commits a class B misdemeanor.

A person who, in his or her capacity as a staff member of a medical or other institution, school, facility, or agency is required to 
make a report to the individual in charge of the institution, school, facility, or agency, or his or her designated agent, as required 
by § 31-33-5-2 or 31-33-5-2.5, and who knowingly fails to make a report commits a class B misdemeanor. This penalty is imposed in 
addition to the penalty imposed above. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Code § 31-33-22-3(a)-(b) 

A person who intentionally communicates to a law enforcement agency or the Department of Child Services a knowingly false report 
of child abuse or neglect commits a class A misdemeanor. The offense is a level 6 felony if the person has a previous unrelated 
conviction for making a knowingly false report of child abuse or neglect.

A person who intentionally communicates to a law enforcement agency or the department a report of child abuse or neglect 
knowing the report to be false is liable to the person accused of child abuse or neglect for actual damages. The finder of fact may 
award punitive damages and attorney’s fees in an amount determined by the finder of fact against the person. 
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Iowa 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 232.75(1)-(2)

Any person, official, agency, or institution required to report a suspected case of child abuse who knowingly and willfully fails to do 
so is guilty of a simple misdemeanor.

Any person, official, agency, or institution required by § 232.69 to report a suspected case of child abuse who knowingly fails to do 
so, or who knowingly interferes with the making of such a report in violation of § 232.70, is civilly liable for the damages proximately 
caused by such failure or interference. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 232.75(3); 232.71B

A person who reports or causes to be reported to the Department of Human Services false information regarding an alleged act of 
child abuse, knowing that the information is false or that the act did not occur, commits a simple misdemeanor. 

If the department receives more than three reports that identify the same child as a victim of child abuse or the same person as 
the alleged abuser of a child, or which were made by the same person, and the department determined the reports to be entirely 
false or without merit, the department shall provide information concerning the reports to the county attorney for consideration of 
criminal charges under § 232.75(3).

Kansas 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 38-2223(e)

Willful and knowing failure to make a report required by this section is a class B misdemeanor. It is not a defense that another 
mandatory reporter made a report.

Intentionally preventing or interfering with the making of a report required by this section is a class B misdemeanor. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 38-2223(e)

Any person who willfully and knowingly makes a false report pursuant to this section or makes a report that such person knows lacks 
factual foundation is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. 

 
Kentucky 

Current Through August 2015

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 620.030(6)

Any person who intentionally violates the provisions of this section shall be guilty of one of the following:

• A class B misdemeanor for the first offense
• A class A misdemeanor for the second offense 
• A class D felony for each subsequent offense

False Reporting 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 620.050(1) 

Any person who knowingly makes a false report and does so with malice shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor. 
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Louisiana 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Children’s Code Art. 609; Rev. Stat. § 14:403

Violation of the duties imposed upon a mandatory reporter subjects the offender to criminal prosecution.

Any person who is required to report the abuse or neglect of a child and knowingly and willfully fails to do so shall be fined no more 
than $500 or imprisoned for no more than 6 months, or both. 

Any person who is required to report the sexual abuse of a child or the abuse or neglect of a child that results in the serious bodily 
injury, neurological impairment, or death of the child and knowingly and willfully fails to report shall be fined no more than $3,000 or 
imprisoned with or without hard labor for no more than 3 years, or both. The term ‘serious bodily injury’ includes, but is not limited 
to, injury involving protracted and obvious disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the function of a bodily member, organ, 
or mental faculty; substantial risk of death; or injury resulting from starvation or malnutrition.

Notwithstanding the provisions above, any person who is age 18 or older who witnesses the sexual abuse of a child and knowingly 
and willfully fails to report the sexual abuse to law enforcement or to the Department of Children and Family Services, as required by 
law, shall be fined no more than $10,000 or imprisoned with or without hard labor for no more than 5 years, or both. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Children’s Code Art. 609; Rev. Stat. § 14:403(A)(3)

The filing of a report that is known to be false may subject the offender to criminal prosecution.

Any person who reports a child as abused or neglected or sexually abused to the department or to any law enforcement agency 
knowing that such information is false shall be fined no more than $500 or imprisoned for no more than 6 months, or both. 

 
Maine 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 22, § 4009

A person who knowingly violates a provision of this chapter commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not more than $500 may 
be adjudged. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 22, § 4014(1) 

Immunity from any criminal or civil liability for the act of reporting or participating in the investigation or proceeding is not extended 
in instances when a false report is made and the person knows the report is false. Nothing in this section may be construed to bar 
criminal or civil action regarding perjury. 

 
Maryland 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Fam. Law §§ 5-705.2; 5-705.4

An individual may not intentionally prevent or interfere with the making of a report of suspected abuse or neglect as required by law. 
A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, on conviction, is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 5 years or 
a fine not exceeding $10,000, or both. 
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If an agency participating in an investigation under § 5-706 has substantial grounds to believe that a person has knowingly failed to 
report suspected abuse or neglect as required by § 5-704, the agency shall do any of the following:

• File a complaint with the appropriate licensing board in accordance with the provisions of the Health Occupations Article if 
the person is a health practitioner

• File a complaint with the appropriate law enforcement agency if the person is a police officer
• File a complaint with the county board of education or the appropriate agency, institution, or licensed facility at which the 

person is employed if the person is an educator or a human service worker

 
False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
Massachusetts 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Gen. Laws Ch. 119, § 51A 

Any mandatory reporter who fails to report shall be punished by a fine of not more than $1,000.

Any mandated reporter who has knowledge of child abuse or neglect that resulted in serious bodily injury to or death of a child and 
willfully fails to report the abuse or neglect shall be punished by a fine of up to $5,000 or imprisonment for no more than 2 ½ years 
or by both, and, upon a guilty finding or a continuance without a finding, the court shall notify any appropriate professional licensing 
authority of the mandated reporter’s violation of this paragraph. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Gen. Laws Ch. 119, § 51A 

Whoever knowingly and willfully files a frivolous report of child abuse or neglect under this section shall be punished as follows:

• A fine of no more than $2,000 for the first offense
• Imprisonment for no more than 6 months and a fine of no more than $2,000 for the second offense
• Imprisonment for no more than 2 ½ years and a fine of no more than $2,000 for the third and subsequent offenses

 
Michigan 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Comp. Laws § 722.633(1), (2)

A mandatory reporter who fails to report as required is civilly liable for the damages proximately caused by the failure.

A mandatory reporter who knowingly fails to report as required is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by one or both of the 
following: 

• Imprisonment for not more than 93 days
• A fine of not more than $500

False Reporting 
Citation: Comp. Laws § 722.633(5)

Any person who intentionally makes a false report of child abuse or neglect knowing that the report is false is guilty of a crime as 
follows:

• If the child abuse or neglect would not constitute a crime but would constitute a misdemeanor if the report were true, the 
person is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $100, or 
both. 
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• If the child abuse or neglect reported would constitute a felony if the report were true, the person is guilty of a felony 
punishable by the lesser of the following: 
 » The penalty for the child abuse or neglect falsely reported
 » Imprisonment for not more than 4 years or a fine of not more than $2,000, or both

 
Minnesota

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 626.556, Subd. 4a; 6

An employer of any person required to make reports shall not retaliate against the person for reporting in good faith abuse or 
neglect pursuant to this section, or against a child with respect to whom a report is made, because of the report. The employer of 
any person required to report who retaliates against the person because of a report of abuse or neglect is liable to that person for 
actual damages and, in addition, a penalty up to $10,000. There shall be a rebuttable presumption that any adverse action within 90 
days of a report is retaliatory.

A mandatory reporter who knows or has reason to believe that a child is neglected or physically or sexually abused or has been 
neglected or physically or sexually abused within the preceding 3 years, and fails to report the abuse, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

A mandatory reporter who knows or has reason to believe that two or more children not related to the perpetrator have been 
physically or sexually abused by the same perpetrator within the preceding 10 years and fails to report is guilty of a gross 
misdemeanor.

A parent, guardian, or caregiver who knows or reasonably should know that the child’s health is in serious danger and who fails to 
report:

• Is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the child suffers substantial or great bodily harm because of the lack of medical care
• Is guilty of a felony if the child dies because of the lack of medical care and may be subject to one or both of the following:

 » Imprisonment for not more than 2 years
 » A fine of not more than $4,000

The law providing that a parent, guardian, or caregiver may, in good faith, select and depend on spiritual means or prayer for 
treatment or care of a child does not exempt a parent, guardian, or caregiver from the duty to report under this provision. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 626.556, Subd. 5

Any person who knowingly or recklessly makes a false report under the reporting laws shall be liable in a civil suit for any actual 
damages suffered by the person(s) so reported and for any punitive damages set by the court or jury, plus costs and reasonable 
attorney fees. 

 
Mississippi 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code. § 43-21-353(7) 

Anyone who willfully violates any provision of this section shall be, upon being found guilty, punished by a fine not to exceed $5,000 
or by imprisonment in jail not to exceed 1 year, or both. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 
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Missouri 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 210.165(1); 573.215 

Any person violating any provision of the reporting laws is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. 

A person commits the offense of failure to report child pornography if he or she, being a film and photographic print processor, 
computer provider, installer or repair person, or any internet service provider who has knowledge of or observes, within the scope of 
the person’s professional capacity or employment, any film, photograph, videotape, negative, slide, or computer-generated image 
or picture depicting a child under age 18 engaged in an act of sexual conduct fails to report such instance to any law enforcement 
agency immediately or as soon as practically possible.

The offense of failure to report child pornography is a class B misdemeanor.

Nothing in this section shall be construed to require a provider of electronic communication services or remote computing services 
to monitor any user, subscriber, or customer of the provider or the content of any communication of any user, subscriber, or customer 
of the provider.

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 210.165(2)-(3)

Any person who intentionally files a false report of child abuse or neglect shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

Every person who has been previously convicted of making a false report to the Children’s Division or its predecessor agency, the 
Division of Family Services, and who is subsequently convicted of making a false report is guilty of a class E felony and shall be 
punished as provided by law. 

 
Montana 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 41-3-207

Any mandatory reporter who fails to report known or suspected child abuse or neglect or who prevents another person from 
reasonably doing so is civilly liable for the damages proximately caused by such failure or prevention. Any mandatory reporter who 
purposely or knowingly fails to report when required or purposely or knowingly prevents another person from doing so is guilty of a 
misdemeanor. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Code § 41-3-203(1)

Anyone reporting any incident of child abuse or neglect as required by law is immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that might 
otherwise be incurred or imposed unless the person was grossly negligent, acted in bad faith or with malicious purpose, or provided 
information knowing the information to be false. 

 
Nebraska 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 28-717

Any person who willfully fails to make any report of child abuse or neglect required by § 28-711 shall be guilty of a class III 
misdemeanor. 
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False Reporting 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 28-716

Any person participating in an investigation, making a report of child abuse or neglect, or participating in a judicial proceeding 
resulting from a report shall be immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that might otherwise be incurred or imposed, except for 
maliciously false statements. 

 
Nevada 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 432B.240

Any person who knowingly and willfully violates the provisions of § 432B.220 is guilty of one of the following:

• For the first violation, a misdemeanor
• For each subsequent violation, a gross misdemeanor

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
New Hampshire 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 169-C:39

Anyone who knowingly violates any provision of the reporting laws shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
New Jersey 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 9:6-8.14

Any person knowingly violating the reporting laws, including the failure to report an act of child abuse while having reasonable cause 
to believe that an act of child abuse has been committed, is a disorderly person. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 
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New Mexico 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 32A-4-3(F) 

Any person who violates the provisions of this section pertaining to the duty to report is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be 
sentenced pursuant to § 31-19-1. 

Upon conviction, the person shall be imprisoned in the county jail for a definite term that is less than 1 year, be fined not more than 
$1,000, or both, at the discretion of the judge. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
New York 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Soc. Serv. Law § 420 

Any mandatory reporter who willfully fails to report as required shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

Any mandatory reporter who knowingly and willfully fails to report as required shall be civilly liable for the damages proximately 
caused by such failure. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Penal Law § 240.50(4)

A person is guilty of falsely reporting an incident in the third degree when, knowing the information reported, conveyed, or 
circulated to be false or baseless, he or she reports, by word or action, an alleged occurrence or condition of child abuse or 
maltreatment that did not in fact occur or exist to the following:

• The statewide central register of child abuse and maltreatment
• Any person required to report cases of suspected child abuse or maltreatment, knowing that the person is required to report 

such cases, and with the intent that such an alleged occurrence be reported to the statewide central register
Falsely reporting an incident in the third degree is a class A misdemeanor. 

 
North Carolina 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 7B-301 

Any person or institution who knowingly or wantonly fails to report the case of a juvenile as required, or who knowingly or wantonly 
prevents another person from making a report as required, is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor.

A director of social services who receives a report of sexual abuse of a juvenile in a child care facility and who knowingly fails to notify 
the State Bureau of Investigation of the report as required is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 
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North Dakota 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Cent. Code §§ 50-25.1-13; 50-25.1-09.1 

Any person required by this chapter to report or to supply information concerning a case of known or suspected child abuse, 
neglect, or death resulting from abuse or neglect who willfully fails to do so is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.

An employer who retaliates against an employee solely because the employee in good faith reported having reasonable cause to 
suspect that a child was abused or neglected, died as a result of abuse or neglect, or because the employee is a child with respect 
to whom a report was made, is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. It is a defense to any charge brought under this section that the 
presumption of good faith, described in § 50-25.1-09, has been rebutted.

The employer of a person required or permitted to report pursuant to § 50-25.1-03 who retaliates against the person because of a 
report of abuse or neglect, or a report of a death resulting from child abuse or neglect, is liable to that person in a civil action for all 
damages, including exemplary damages, costs of the litigation, and reasonable attorney’s fees. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Cent. Code § 50-25.1-13 

Any person who willfully makes a false report or provides false information that causes a report to be made is guilty of a class B 
misdemeanor, unless the false report is made to a law enforcement official, in which case the person who causes the report to be 
made is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. 

A person who willfully makes a false report or willfully provides false information that causes a report to be made also is liable in a 
civil action for all damages suffered by the person reported, including exemplary damages. 

 
Northern Mariana Islands 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Commonwealth Code Tit. 6, §§ 5315; 5316 

Knowing or willful failure of any person to make a report pursuant to § 5313 shall, upon conviction, be punished by one or both of the 
following: 

• Imprisonment for up to 1 year
• A fine of not more than $1,000

Knowing or willful interference by any person with the good-faith efforts of any person making or attempting to make a report under 
this chapter shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment for up to 1 year or a fine of $1,000, or both. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
Ohio 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Code § 2151.99

Any person who fails to report suspected child abuse or neglect, as required by § 2151.421, is guilty of a misdemeanor of the fourth 
degree.
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Any person required to report by § 2151.421(A)(4) (requiring reports by clergy) who fails to report when knowing that a child has been 
abused or neglected and knowing that the person who committed the abuse or neglect was a cleric or another person other than a 
volunteer designated by a church, religious society, or faith to act as a leader, official, or delegate on behalf of the church, religious 
society, or faith is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree if the person who has failed to report and the person who committed 
the abuse or neglect belong to the same church, religious society, or faith. 

The person who fails to report is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree if the child suffers or faces the threat of suffering the 
physical or mental wound, injury, disability, or condition that would be the basis of the required report when the child is under the 
direct care or supervision of another person over whom the offender has supervisory control. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Rev. Code § 2921.14 

No person shall knowingly make or cause another person to make a false report alleging that any person has committed an act or 
omission that resulted in a child being abused or neglected.

Whoever violates this section is guilty of making or causing a false report of child abuse or child neglect, a misdemeanor of the first 
degree. 

 
Oklahoma 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10A, § 1-2-101(B)(4); (C)

Any employer, supervisor, or administrator who discharges, discriminates, or retaliates against the employee or other person shall be 
liable for damages, costs, and attorney fees.

Any person who knowingly and willfully fails to promptly report suspected child abuse or neglect or who interferes with the prompt 
reporting of suspected child abuse or neglect may be reported to local law enforcement for criminal investigation and, upon 
conviction thereof, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10A, § 1-2-101(D)

Any person who knowingly and willfully makes a false report pursuant to the provisions of this section or a report that the person 
knows lacks factual foundation may be reported to local law enforcement for criminal investigation and, upon conviction thereof, 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

If a court determines that an accusation of child abuse or neglect made during a child custody proceeding is false and the person 
making the accusation knew it to be false at the time the accusation was made, the court may impose a fine, not to exceed $5,000 
and reasonable attorney fees incurred in recovering the sanctions, against the person making the accusation. The remedy provided 
by this paragraph is in addition to the first paragraph above or to any other remedy provided by law. 

 
Oregon 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 419B.010(3)

A person who violates the reporting laws commits a class A violation. Prosecution under this law shall be commenced at any time 
within 18 months after the commission of the offense. 
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False Reporting 
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 419B.016

A person commits the offense of making a false report of child abuse if, with the intent to influence a custody, parenting time, 
visitation, or child support decision, the person: 

• Makes a false report of child abuse to the Department of Human Services or a law enforcement agency, knowing that the 
report is false

• Makes a false report of child abuse to a public or private official knowing that the report is false and with the intent that the 
public or private official make a report of child abuse to the department or a law enforcement agency

Making a false report of child abuse is a class A violation. 

 
Pennsylvania 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 23, § 6319; Tit. 18, § 4958

A mandatory reporter who willfully fails to report as required commits a misdemeanor of the third degree for the first violation and a 
misdemeanor of the second degree for a second or subsequent violation.

A person commits an offense if: 

• The person acts to obstruct, impede, impair, prevent, or interfere with making a child abuse report, conducting of an 
investigation, or prosecuting a child abuse case.

• The person intimidates or attempts to intimidate any reporter, victim, or witness to engage in any of the following actions:
 » Refrain from making a report of suspected child abuse
 » Refrain from providing or withholding information, documentation, testimony, or evidence to any person regarding a child 

abuse investigation or proceeding
 » Give false or misleading information, documentation, testimony, or evidence regarding a child abuse investigation or 

proceeding
 » Elude, evade, or ignore any request or legal process summoning the reporter, victim, or witness to appear to testify or 

supply evidence regarding a child abuse investigation or proceeding
 » Fail to appear at or participate in a child abuse proceeding or meeting involving a child abuse investigation to which the 

reporter, victim, or witness has been legally summoned
A person commits an offense if the person harms another person by any unlawful act or engages in a course of conduct that 
threatens another person in retaliation for anything that the other person has lawfully done in the capacity of a reporter, witness, or 
victim of child abuse.

A violation of this section is a felony of the second degree if the person:

• Uses force, violence, deception, or threat upon the reporter, witness, or victim
• Offers pecuniary or other benefit to the reporter, witness, or victim
• Has a prior conviction for a violation of this section or a similar law

An offense not otherwise addressed above is a misdemeanor of the second degree. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 18, § 4906.1

A person commits a misdemeanor of the second degree if the person intentionally or knowingly makes a false report of child abuse 
under chapter 23 (relating to child protective services) or intentionally or knowingly induces a child to make a false claim of child 
abuse. 
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Puerto Rico 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Laws Tit. 8, § 450a

Any person, official, or public or private institution with the obligation of furnishing information pursuant to the provisions of either 
§ 444 or 446 and who voluntarily and deliberately fails to comply with that obligation, who fails to perform any other act required by 
this chapter, or deliberately prevents another person acting reasonably from doing so shall commit a misdemeanor and if convicted 
shall be sanctioned by a fine up to $5000 or by imprisonment up to 90 days.  

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Laws Tit. 8, § 450a

Any person, official, or public or private institution with the obligation of furnishing information pursuant to the provisions of either 
§ 444 or 446 who deliberately furnishes false information or advises another person to do so shall commit a misdemeanor and if 
convicted shall be sanctioned by a fine up to $5000 or by imprisonment up to 90 days. Any information furnished that is found to be 
false and whose natural or probable consequence is deemed to have interfered in the legitimate exercise of custody, parental rights, 
and patria potestas shall be referred by the competent authority to the Department of Justice for evaluation and the subsequent 
corresponding prosecution.  

 
Rhode Island 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Gen. Laws § 40-11-6.1 

Any mandatory reporter who knowingly fails to report as required or who knowingly prevents any person acting reasonably from 
doing so shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be subject to a fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for 
not more than 1 year or both.

In addition, any mandatory reporter who knowingly fails to perform any act required by the reporting laws or who knowingly prevents 
another person from performing a required act shall be civilly liable for the damages proximately caused by that failure. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Gen. Laws § 40-11-3.2

Any person who knowingly and willingly makes or causes a false report of child abuse or neglect to be made to the Department of 
Children, Youth and Families shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $1,000 or 
imprisoned for not more than 1 year or both. 

 
South Carolina 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 63-7-410

Any mandatory reporter or any person required to perform any other function under the reporting laws who knowingly fails to do so, 
or a person who threatens or attempts to intimidate a witness, is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not 
more than $500 or be imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or both. 
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False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 63-7-430; 63-7-440

If the family court determines that a person has made a report of suspected child abuse or neglect maliciously or in bad faith, or if 
a person has been found guilty of making a false report pursuant to § 63-7-440, the Department of Social Services may bring a civil 
action to recover the costs of the department’s investigation and proceedings associated with the investigation, including attorney’s 
fees. The department also is entitled to recover costs and attorney’s fees incurred in the civil action authorized by this section. The 
decision of whether to bring a civil action is in the sole discretion of the department.

If the family court determines that a person has made a false report of suspected child abuse or neglect maliciously or in bad faith 
or if a person has been found guilty of making a false report, a person who was subject of the false report has a civil cause of action 
against the person who made the false report and is entitled to recover from the person who made the false report such relief as 
may be appropriate, including actual damages, punitive damages, a reasonable attorney’s fee, and other litigation costs reasonably 
incurred.

It is unlawful to knowingly make a false report of abuse or neglect. A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, 
upon conviction, must be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not more than 90 days, or both. 

 
South Dakota 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 26-8A-3; 26-8A-4; 26-8A-6; 26-8A-7

Any mandatory reporter who knowingly and intentionally fails to make the required report is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. This 
provision includes the following:

• Reports that must be made to the coroner when the reporter suspects that a child has died as a result of abuse or neglect
• Reports that are required of hospital staff
• Reports that are required of staff of public or private schools

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
Tennessee 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 37-1-412

Any person who knowingly fails to make a report required by § 37-1-403 commits a class A misdemeanor.

A person believed to have violated this section shall be brought before the court. If the defendant pleads not guilty, the juvenile 
court judge shall bind the defendant over to the grand jury. If the defendant pleads guilty, the juvenile court judge shall sentence the 
defendant under this section with a fine not to exceed $2,500. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Code § 37-1-413

Any person who either verbally or by written or printed communication knowingly and maliciously reports or causes, encourages, 
aids, counsels, or procures another to report a false accusation of child sexual abuse, or false accusation that a child has sustained 
any wound, injury, disability, or physical or mental condition caused by brutality, abuse, or neglect, commits a class E felony. 
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Texas 

Current Through February 2019                                                                                                            

Failure to Report 
Citation: Fam. Code § 261.109

A person commits an offense if the person is required to make a report under § 261.101 and knowingly fails to make a report as 
required.

A person who is a professional as defined by § 261.101 commits an offense if the person is required to make a report and knowingly 
fails to make a report as provided in this chapter.

An offense by a person is a class A misdemeanor, except that the offense is a State jail felony if it is shown on the trial of the offense 
that the child was a person with an intellectual disability who resided in a State-supported living center, the medical assistance 
program for persons with intellectual disabilities component of the Rio Grande State Center, or a facility licensed under chapter 252, 
Health and Safety Code, and the actor knew that the child had suffered serious bodily injury as a result of the abuse or neglect.

An offense by a professional is a class A misdemeanor, except that the offense is a State jail felony if it is shown on the trial of the 
offense that the actor intended to conceal the abuse or neglect. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Fam. Code § 261.107

A person commits an offense if, with the intent to deceive, he or she knowingly makes a report of child abuse or neglect that is false. 
An offense under this subsection is either of the following:

• A State jail felony
• A felony of the third degree if the person has previously been convicted under this section

A person who is convicted of an offense under this section shall be subject to the following:

• Be required to pay any reasonable attorney’s fees incurred by the person who was falsely accused of abuse or neglect
• Be liable to the State for a civil penalty of $1,000

 
Utah 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 62A-4a-411 

Any person, official, or institution required to report a case of suspected child abuse, child sexual abuse, neglect, fetal alcohol 
syndrome, or fetal drug dependency who willfully fails to do so is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.

Action for failure to report must be commenced within 4 years from the date of knowledge of the offense and the willful failure to 
report. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 
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Vermont 

Current Through February 2019                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 33, § 4913(d)(2); (f)

An employer or supervisor shall not discharge; demote; transfer; reduce pay, benefits, or work privileges; prepare a negative work 
performance evaluation; or take any other action detrimental to any employee because that employee filed a good faith report in 
accordance with the provisions of this subchapter. Any person making a report under this subchapter shall have a civil cause of action 
for appropriate compensatory and punitive damages against any person who causes detrimental changes in the employment status 
of the reporting party by reason of his or her making a report.

A person who violates the law requiring mandated reporters to report suspected child abuse or neglect shall be fined no more than 
$500.

A person who violates the reporting laws with the intent to conceal abuse or neglect of a child shall be imprisoned no more than 6 
months or fined for no more than $1,000, or both. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
Virgin Islands 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 5, § 2539

Any person, official, or institution required by this subchapter to report a case of alleged child abuse, sexual abuse, or neglect or 
to perform any other act, who knowingly fails to do so, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined no more than $500 or 
imprisoned for no more than 1 year, or both. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 14, §§ 2146(c); 2144(a)

A person is guilty of falsely reporting an incident in the second degree when, knowing the information reported, conveyed, or 
circulated to be false or baseless, he or she reports, by word or action, to the Department of Human Services or Department of 
Health an alleged occurrence of child abuse or maltreatment that did not, in fact, occur or exist. A person who is found guilty of 
reporting an incident in the second degree shall be fined $5,000 and be imprisoned for no less than 5 years.

 
Virginia 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 63.2-1509(D)-(E)

Any person required to file a report pursuant to this section who fails to do so as soon as possible, but no longer than 24 hours after 
having reason to suspect a reportable offense of child abuse or neglect, shall be fined no more than $500 for the first failure and, for 
any subsequent failures, no less than $1,000. In cases evidencing acts of rape, sodomy, or object sexual penetration, as defined in § 
18.2-61, et seq., a person who knowingly and intentionally fails to make the report required pursuant to this section shall be guilty of a 
class 1 misdemeanor.

No person shall be required to make a report pursuant to this section if the person has actual knowledge that the same matter has 
already been reported to the local department or the toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline of the Department of Social Services. 
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False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Code § 63.2-1513(A)

Any person age 14 or older who makes or causes to be made a report of child abuse or neglect that he or she knows to be false shall 
be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor.

Any person age 14 or older who has been previously convicted under this subsection and who is subsequently convicted of making a 
false report of child abuse or neglect shall be guilty of a class 6 felony. 

 
Washington 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Rev. Code §§ 26.44.080; 9A.20.021 

Every person who is required to make a report pursuant to the reporting laws and who knowingly fails to make such a report shall be 
guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

Every person convicted of a gross misdemeanor shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for up to 364 days or a fine of 
no more than $5,000, or both. 

This section applies to only those crimes committed on or after July 1, 1984. The fines in this section apply to adult offenders only. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Rev. Code §§ 26.44.060(4); 9A.20.021

A person who intentionally and in bad faith knowingly makes a false report of alleged abuse or neglect shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor.

Every person convicted of a misdemeanor shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for no more than 90 days or a fine of 
no more than $1,000, or both.

This section applies to only those crimes committed on or after July 1, 1984. The fines in this section apply to adult offenders only. 

 
West Virginia 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Code § 49-2-812 

Any person, official, or institution required by this article to report a case involving a child known or suspected to be abused 
or neglected who knowingly fails to do so or knowingly prevents another person acting reasonably from doing so, is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be confined in jail not more than 90 days or fined not more than $5,000, or both fined and 
confined.

Any person, official, or institution required by this article to report a case involving a child known or suspected to be sexually 
assaulted or sexually abused, or a student known or suspected to have been a victim of any nonconsensual sexual contact, sexual 
intercourse, or sexual intrusion on school premises, who knowingly fails to do so or knowingly prevents another person acting 
reasonably from doing so is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in jail not more than 6 months or 
fined not more than $10,000, or both. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 
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Wisconsin 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 48.981(6) 

Whoever intentionally violates the reporting laws by failure to report as required may be fined no more than $1,000 or imprisoned for 
no more than 6 months, or both. 

False Reporting

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

 
Wyoming 

Current Through February 2019

Failure to Report 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 14-3-205

Any employer, public or private, who discharges, suspends, disciplines, or penalizes an employee solely for making a report of 
neglect or abuse is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for no more than 6 months or a fine of no more than $750, 
or both. 

False Reporting 
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 14-3-205(d)

Any person who knowingly and intentionally makes a false report of child abuse or neglect, or who encourages or coerces another 
person to make a false report, is guilty of a misdemeanor that is punishable by imprisonment for no more than 6 months or a fine of 
no more than $750, or both. 
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