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WHAT'S INSIDEHome Study 
Requirements 
for Prospective 
Parents in 
Domestic  
Adoption Elements of a home study

Who must be included in the home study

Laws and policies for approving prospective 
adoptive homes vary considerably from State 
to State. In all cases, the process involves 
conducting an assessment or home study of 
the prospective adoptive parent or parents. 
The home study process serves many purposes, 
including educating and preparing the 
prospective parents for parenting an adopted 
child, gathering information about the family in 
order to better match the parent and child, and 
evaluating the fitness of the adoptive family.1  
1  For an overview of adoption home studies, see Child 
Welfare Information Gateway's The Adoption Home Study 
Process. 
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This publication summarizes the laws and 
policies regarding home study requirements 
for all 50 States, the District of Columbia, 
Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the 
Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin 
Islands.2 

WHO MUST BE INCLUDED IN THE 
HOME STUDY

In all States, the District of Columbia, 
American Samoa, Guam, the Northern 
Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin 
Islands, all applicants for adoption, whether 
single or couples adopting jointly, must be 
included in the adoption home study. In 
approximately 22 States, any adult member of 
the household also must be evaluated.3 In 21 
States, the District of Columbia, and Guam, all 
household members, regardless of age, must 
be included in the study.4

AGENCY OR PERSON 
CONDUCTING THE STUDY

State laws and regulations specify the person 
or entity who can conduct a home study 
that will be accepted by the court that will 
hear the adoption petition. In most States, 
the department or licensed child-placing 
agency may be that entity. In 12 States, a 

2  The adoption of a Native American child is subject to the Federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the laws and customs of the 
child's Tribe, which is beyond the scope of this publication.
3  The word "approximately" is used to stress the fact that States frequently change their laws. This information is current 
through August 2020. The States that require all adult members to be included in home studies are Arizona, California, 
Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, 
North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Utah, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.  
4  Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New 
Hampshire, New Mexico, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, and Virginia  
5  Alabama, Kansas, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and 
Virginia  
6  Kansas, Missouri, Ohio, Texas, and Utah
7  Alaska, Arizona, Illinois, Kansas, New York, Ohio, Texas, Utah, Vermont, and Washington  
8  Alabama, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, and Vermont  
9  For more information on the basic qualifications for persons interested in adopting, see Information Gateway's Who May 
Adopt, Be Adopted, or Place a Child for Adoption? 
10  Alabama (3 years) and New York (1 year)
11  Arkansas, Mississippi, Nevada, and Utah  

licensed social worker may conduct home 
studies.5 In five States, a licensed psychologist 
or therapist may conduct the study.6 In 10 
States and the Northern Mariana Islands, 
a person designated by the court may 
conduct studies.7 In seven States, an agency 
or individual licensed or qualified by the 
department may complete the assessment 
of the prospective adoptive home.8 In New 
Mexico and Wisconsin, when a person seeks 
to adopt an Indian child, the home study may 
be conducted by an agent designated by the 
child's Tribe.

QUALIFICATIONS FOR ADOPTIVE 
PARENTS

In general, any adult, whether single or 
married, may apply to adopt a child.9 Two 
States require married couples to have been 
married for a minimum length of time.10 In 
four States, couples who are cohabiting but 
not legally married to one another are not 
allowed to adopt.11 

Prospective adoptive parents must be in good 
health and have adequate income to meet 
the needs of the child(ren) placed in their 
family. Home ownership is not required, but 
a history of stable residency in a home that 

https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/statutes/parties/
https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/statutes/parties/


Children’s Bureau/ACYF/ACF/HHS | 800.394.3366  |  Email: info@childwelfare.gov  |  https://www.childwelfare.gov 3

can accommodate, comfortably and safely, 
all family members, including the adopted 
child, is needed. In 18 States, the prospective 
parents must have completed any family 
preparation training or orientation offered by 
the department.12 

No applicant can be excluded from 
consideration for an adoptive placement 
based on sex, race, national origin, or 
religion. Colorado and Kentucky require 
that all applicants be lawfully present in the 
United States, and Alabama requires that an 
applicant, or one member of a married couple, 
be a U.S. citizen. In 10 States, applicants must 
be residents.13

ELEMENTS OF A HOME STUDY

The goal of the adoption home study is to 
assess whether the prospective adoptive 
parents have the ability to make a lifelong 
commitment to providing a nurturing home 
to the adopted child or children. If the parents 
have identified a particular child for adoption, 
the study will determine the parents' ability to 
meet the specific needs of that child. 

The person conducting the study will 
interview the applicants and all family 
members, including any children, to assess 
the applicants' parenting abilities, their 
attitudes toward adoption, and other social 
and personal characteristics. Personal 
references are contacted for further 

12  Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Illinois, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Hampshire, Ohio, 
Oregon, South Carolina, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin  
13  Delaware, Georgia (unless the placement is made through the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children), Idaho 
(6 months), Illinois (6 months), Indiana (unless the child has special needs), Kentucky (12 months), Mississippi, South Dakota, 
Tennessee (6 months), Wyoming (60 days)
14  Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Idaho, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, 
Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, South Carolina, South Dakota, 
Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, and Wyoming
15  For more information about requirements for background checks, see Information Gateway's Background Checks for 
Prospective Foster, Adoptive, and Kinship Caregivers. 
16  Alaska, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Texas, and Virginia

information. Some States require that at least 
some of the references be unrelated to the 
applicants. Onsite home visits are conducted 
to determine whether the home is safe, can 
accommodate all family members, including 
the adopted child(ren), and is in conformity 
with local building codes. To ensure the 
adoptive parents are healthy enough to 
provide appropriate care, 26 States, the 
District of Columbia, and Guam require the 
submission of the results of recent health 
examinations.14 Checks of criminal records 
and child abuse and neglect records also are 
included in the study.15 Nine States require 
checks of the sex offender registry.16

GROUNDS FOR WITHHOLDING 
APPROVAL

An adoption home study will be given an 
unfavorable recommendation if the applicant 
or a member of the applicant's household has 
been convicted of any crime that would put 
a child at risk of harm. Specific crimes that 
are barriers to approval include criminal child 
abuse and neglect; domestic violence; crimes 
against a child, including child pornography; 
and crimes of violence, including rape, 
sexual assault, and homicide. In Louisiana, 
Maryland, and Texas, an applicant who has 
been convicted of human trafficking will be 
disqualified. Any convictions for physical 
assault or battery or drug-related crimes 
committed within the past 5 years also may 

https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/statutes/background/
https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/statutes/background/
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lead to an unfavorable recommendation. 

An applicant also may be denied approval if 
a central registry check reveals that he or 
she or a household member has a record of 
substantiated child abuse or neglect. Other 
grounds for withholding approval include the 
following: 

 � The applicant's income and/or financial skills 
are inadequate to provide for the family. 

 � The applicant's home is found to be unsafe 
or inadequate to provide for the needs of the 
family with the addition of an adoptive child. 

 � The applicant suffers from a physical or 
behavioral health condition that would 
interfere with providing appropriate care 
for children. 

 � The applicant falsifies or omits information 
on his or her adoption application. 

WHEN STUDIES MUST BE 
COMPLETED

The preplacement home study must 
be completed and receive a favorable 
recommendation before an adoptive child 
may be placed in the prospective adoptive 
parents' home. If a placement is not made 
within a certain amount of time, most States 
will require an update to a home study to 
verify that the applicant remains suitable to 
adopt.17 The home study update may include 

17  In Texas, the preplacement study must have been completed within 6 months of the child's placement. Annual updates are 
required by Alaska, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, 
Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South 
Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. Studies are valid for 18 
months in Arizona, Massachusetts, North Carolina, and Virginia; for 2 years in Alabama, North Dakota, and Ohio; and for 3 
years in South Dakota.  
18  A central registry is a database of child abuse and neglect investigation records that are typically used to aid social services 
agencies in the investigation, treatment, and prevention of child maltreatment cases and to maintain statistical information 
for staffing and funding purposes. Central registry records also are used to screen persons who will be entrusted with the 
care of children.  
19  Arizona, Connecticut, American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Virgin Islands have no specific provisions for 
postplacement supervision.  
20  Idaho, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee  
21  Alabama, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North 
Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington  
22  Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, 
Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington  

updated medical reports, criminal records  
checks, and central registry checks, as well as 
at least one interview with the applicants.18

POSTPLACEMENT STUDY 
REQUIREMENTS

In most States, the placement of a child with 
an adoptive family will be supervised by a 
caseworker from the department or child-
placing agency until the adoption is finalized by 
the court.19 During this period of supervision, 
the adoption professional will make regular 
visits to the home and interview all family 
members in an effort to determine the level 
of integration and adjustment of the adoptive 
child to his or her new family. Based on his 
or her observations, the caseworker also may 
recommend services to assist the family in 
meeting the specific needs of the adopted child.

The observations made during the supervisory 
visits are recorded in the family's case record, 
and in five States, regular progress reports on 
the family's adjustment are submitted to the 
court.20 The caseworker also will document 
any changes in family circumstances that 
may affect the child. Laws in 21 States require 
an investigation and report be made to the 
court of the progress of the family during the 
postplacement period.21 In 19 States, a report 
and recommendation on the suitability of the 
adoption are required.22
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EXCEPTIONS FOR STEPPARENT 
OR RELATIVE ADOPTIONS

The requirements for stepparent adoptions 
vary from State to State.23 Minnesota requires 
a full background study of the adopting 
parent. Wisconsin offers abbreviated home 
studies for the adopting stepparent. In 
16 States and the District of Columbia, 
preplacement home studies are not required 
at all unless an assessment is ordered by 
the court.24 In 10 States and the District of 
Columbia, checks of the person's criminal 
history background and child abuse and 
neglect records must be completed.25 
In 18 States and American Samoa, the 
postplacement investigation and report are 
not required unless ordered by the court.26 
Five States waive the requirement for 
postplacement supervision.27

For adoption by a relative, Minnesota requires 
a full background study, while California 
and Maryland offer an abbreviated study. 
In 13 States, a preplacement home study is 
not required unless ordered by the court.28 
Nine States require criminal background 
and central registry checks.29 In 17 States, 
a postplacement investigation and report 

23  For more information on stepparent and relative adoptions, see Information Gateway’s Stepparent Adoption.
24  Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Kentucky, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, 
Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, and Washington  
25  Arizona, Iowa, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, Utah, Vermont, and Wisconsin  
26  Alabama, Alaska, Florida, Indiana, Iowa, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, 
Ohio, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, and Virginia  
27  Delaware, Indiana, Mississippi, Montana, and Ohio  
28  Arizona, Colorado, Idaho (grandparent adoptions only), Indiana (grandparent adoptions only), Kentucky, Montana, New 
Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, and Vermont  
29  Arizona, California, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, North Dakota, Utah, and Washington  
30  Alabama, Alaska, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North 
Dakota, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, and Virginia  
31  Delaware, Mississippi, Montana, and Virginia
32  For more information, see Information Gateway's Adopting Children From Other States or Jurisdictions webpage. 
33  Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, 
Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin  
34  Illinois, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Carolina, and Tennessee  

may be waived by the court.30 In four States, 
postplacement supervision is not required.31

REQUIREMENTS FOR 
INTERJURISDICTIONAL 
PLACEMENTS

In all States, when a child is to be placed 
for adoption in a home outside his or her 
home State, that placement is subject to the 
provisions of the Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children.32 The State where the 
child is to be placed (receiving State) must 
conduct the home study on behalf of the 
State that is placing the child (sending State). 
The court of the sending State must accept 
the home study completed by the receiving 
State and determine whether the proposed 
adoption is in the child's best interests.

FOSTER TO ADOPT PLACEMENTS

Laws and policies in 34 States and Guam 
provide procedures for a foster parent to 
adopt when his or her foster child becomes 
legally free for adoption.33 In six States, the 
foster parent is the preferred placement if 
he or she qualifies and there are no relatives 
seeking to adopt the child.34 Thirteen States 
require that the child must have resided with 

https://www.childwelfare.gov/pubs/f-step/
https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/adoption/adoptive/choices/states-jurisdictions/
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the foster parents for a period of time before 
the foster parents can be considered for 
adoptive placement.35 Once they have applied 
to adopt the child, an abbreviated home 
study will be conducted to determine the 
parents' ability to provide a permanent home. 
The wishes of the foster child regarding the 
adoption also may be considered.

In three States, foster parents who wish to 
adopt a child must undergo a full adoption 
home study and meet all relevant adoption 
home standards.36 Six States offer a single 
assessment process for both foster and 
adoptive parents.37 Three States have "legal 
risk" or "foster/adopt" licensure for foster 
parents.38 This type of placement is used 
when the child has concurrent permanency 
plan goals of reunification and adoption. The 
foster parent, who is fully certified as both a 
foster and adoptive parent, agrees to work 
with the birth family toward reunification 
and is committed to adopting the child if 
reunification efforts should fail.

35  Arizona (for 6 months), Maryland (12 months), Michigan (12 months), Mississippi (6 months), New Jersey (15 months), New 
York (12 months), Ohio (6 months), Oregon (12 months), Pennsylvania (6 months), Rhode Island (2 years), South Carolina (6 
months), Tennessee (12 months), and Virginia (18 months)  
36  Florida, Idaho, and Wisconsin  
37  Colorado, Connecticut, Maryland, Mississippi, New Hampshire, and Utah. Agencies in other States may require assessment 
and training for foster parents seeking to adopt beyond what is mandated in State law and regulation. For more information, 
see Information Gateway's webpage, Preadoption Training.    
38  New Mexico, Oregon, and South Dakota

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Many States maintain an array of information 
and resources on the adoption process and 
home study requirements on the internet. 
Links to these resources, as well as links to the 
full text of relevant State agency regulations, 
are available under each State listing.

SUGGESTED CITATION: 

Child Welfare Information Gateway. (2021). 
Home study requirements for prospective 
parents in domestic adoption. U.S. Department 
of Health and Human Services, Administration 
for Children and Families, Children's Bureau.
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ALABAMA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Code § 26-10A-19(a)

A preplacement investigation shall be made to determine the suitability of each petitioner and the home in 
which the adoptee will be placed. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 26-10A-19

A preplacement investigation or a postplacement investigation must be performed by one of the following:
 � The Department of Human Resources
 � A licensed child-placing agency
 � An individual or agency licensed by the department to perform investigations
 � A licensed social worker 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code R. 660-5-22-.03(6) 

General requirements for applicants include the following:
 � Both husband and wife must be at least age 19. 
 � Applications may be accepted from single persons.
 � Married applicants must have been married at least 3 years.
 � Applicants and members of their household age 19 and older are required to be fingerprinted and have 

criminal records checks.
 � The family should have sufficient income and savings to meet its needs and provide for the child or children 

without difficulty.
 � All family members must have medical reports indicating they are in good health.
 � The department must have assurance that the adoptive parents are willing to provide medical treatment to 

children as recommended by a licensed physician.
 � Applications may be accepted from persons of any religious faith.
 � Applications may be accepted from persons who currently live in Alabama and who expect to remain in 

Alabama long enough to complete the application process.
 � Either the prospective father or mother must be a U.S. citizen.
 � Race or national origin will not be used as a single or exclusive criterion.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 26-10A-19; Admin. Code R. 660-5-22-.03(7) 

The investigation shall include a criminal background investigation and any other circumstances that might be 
relevant to the placement of an adoptee with the petitioners. The investigation of the adoptive parents must 
include the following:
 � The suitability of each petitioner, and his, her, or their home for the adoptee
 � Any orders, judgments, or decrees affecting the adoptee or any children of the petitioner 
 � Criminal background investigations
 � The costs and expenses connected with the adoption 
 � Any other circumstances that may be relevant to the placement of the adoptee with the petitioners
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In regulation: The home study will consist of the following elements:
 � At least one home visit as well as individual interviews with the applicant(s)
 � Information on the adoptive couple or person, including reasons for adopting and family background
 � Interviews with at least two references after it is reasonably certain that the applicant(s) will be 

recommended for approval
 � A diagnostic evaluation including a recommendation of the type of child as well as future plans for the 

applicant(s)
 � Completion of adoption training as outlined in regulation

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code r. 660-5-22-.03 

No home can be approved in which any adult who lives in the household has been convicted at any time of any 
of the following:
 � A sex-related crime
 � Serious, intentional, reckless, or negligent physical injury, danger, or death of any person
 � A crime against a child
 � A crime involving major intrusion upon property or use of a weapon to secure property
 � Arson
 � The manufacture, sale, distribution, use, or possession of controlled substances or alcohol

Exceptions can be made for some convictions that have occurred in the past when there is credible 
documentation of rehabilitation. No exception will be granted when there is a criminal conviction involving a 
sex-related crime against a child or serious, intentional, reckless, or negligent physical injury or death of a child. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Admin. Code R. 660-5-22-.04 

A child may not be placed in a prospective adoptive home prior to completion of a preplacement investigation 
of the petitioners and their home. The preplacement investigation must have been completed within 24 months 
of the placement of the child. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Code § 26-10A-19

In every adoption proceeding after a child has been placed in the home, a postplacement investigation must be 
conducted as soon as possible after notice of the placement but within 45 days after the placement.

In the investigation, an investigator must observe the adoptee and interview the petitioner in their home to 
verify all allegations of the petition. The report shall include (1) sufficient facts for the court to determine 
whether there has been compliance with consent or relinquishment provisions and (2) all of the information 
enumerated above that was not obtained in the preplacement investigation. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 26-10A-27; 26-10A-28 

Unless otherwise directed by the court, no investigation shall be required when a person seeks to adopt his or 
her spouse's child.
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Unless otherwise directed by the court, no investigation is required when a grandfather, grandmother, great-
grandfather, great-grandmother, great-uncle, great-aunt, brother, half-brother, sister, half-sister, aunt, or uncle 
of the first degree and their respective spouses seek to adopt a minor grandchild, brother, half-brother, sister, 
half-sister, nephew, niece, great-grandchild, great-niece, or great-nephew. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 26-10A-35; 38-7-15

The person or agency bringing the child into the State to be adopted must first obtain the consent of the 
department. The department is authorized to designate an agency in the other State to interview the child's 
parent(s) to obtain social, background, and medical information about the child.

The department shall be authorized to make a thorough investigation of the proposed parents and their 
home to determine whether they are financially able, physically able, and morally fit to have care, supervision, 
training, and control of the child.

If the child, subsequent to being brought into the State, becomes dependent, neglected, or delinquent prior to 
his or her adoption or becoming of legal age of majority, the child shall be subject to the laws of Alabama as if he 
or she were a resident child of the State. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Code R. 660-5-22-.03(10)(b), (11)

The decision whether the foster home will be approved as the child's adoptive home will be a decision of the 
department based upon the following factors:
 � The child's attachment to the foster parents
 � The length of time the child has been in the home
 � The age of the child in relation to the age of the foster parents
 � The health and income of the foster parents
 � Involvement/interference from the birth family
 � The appropriateness of the foster home placement

The approved adoptive family must be issued a foster home approval for the particular child to be placed unless 
the resource is already an approved foster home. 

Links to Resources

Adoption Checklist [webpage] (Alabama Department of Human Resources)

State regulations

ALASKA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 7, § 56.660 

An agency shall conduct a home study for all applicants in the family being considered as an adoptive home. 

https://dhr.alabama.gov/adoption/adoption-checklist/?hilite=%27Adoption%27%2C%27checklist%27
http://www.alabamaadministrativecode.state.al.us/docs/hres/660-5-22.pdf
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Alaska Stat. § 25.23.100

The investigation of the petitioner shall be made by the Department of Health and Social Services or any other 
qualified agency or person designated by the court. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Alaska Stat. § 25.23.020; Admin. Code Tit. 7, § 56.650

Any husband and wife together or unmarried adult may adopt a child. 

In regulation: The application for adoption must include evidence that the applicant has completed any 
orientation or training required by the agency. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 7, § 56.660

The home study must include at least the following:
 � One face-to-face interview with all individuals living in the home
 � One onsite home visit
 � An assessment of the capabilities, willingness, and readiness of the prospective adoptive parent to properly 

parent a child not born to the parent
 � A State and Federal criminal history record check for each adult member of the household
 � At least three positive written references on the applicant, at least two of which are from persons unrelated 

to the applicant

The agency shall obtain all available information about each adoptive applicant regarding the following:
 � Motivation and level of preparedness for adoption 
 � Current residence and the suitability of the family to provide a safe and healthy living environment for a child
 � Physical, mental, and emotional health status of all persons living in the home
 � The quality of marital and family relationships 
 � The attitude of the extended family and friends regarding adoption
 � The applicant's feelings about his or her childhood and parents, including any history of abuse or neglect
 � Values, feelings, and practices in regard to parenting, child discipline, and care
 � Sensitivity to different socioeconomic, cultural, and ethnic groups in relation to the family's ability to 

properly parent an adoptive child and to maintain the cultural or ethnic identity of the child 
 � Behavior, background, special needs status, or other characteristics of a potential adoptive child that 

the family can and cannot accept and why as well as a discussion of the prospective adoptive parent(s)' 
preparation, willingness, and ability to provide proper care for such a child

 � Financial status and ability to support a child, including income, financial resources, debts, expenses, 
employment history, insurance coverage, and the family's ability to address possible ongoing needs of the 
child

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 7, §§ 56.660; 56.210

Except when placing a child under emergency conditions, an adoptive home may not be approved if a person 
in the home has a disqualification described later in this section. In an emergency placement, an agency shall 
complete required clearances on persons in the home as soon as possible following the placement. However, 
the agency shall review the Alaska Sexual Offender Registry before placement of a child and conduct a check 
of local court records before placement or on the first day that the court is open following the placement of a 
child.
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A person may not be approved as an adoptive parent if any of the following apply:
 � The person has a record of having committed a barrier crime.
 � The person's name appears on the child abuse central registry or a sex offender registry.
 � The person has a physical or behavioral health problem that poses a significant risk to the health, safety, or 

well-being of children.
 � The person was the subject of a prior adverse licensing action.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Alaska Stat. § 25.23.100; Admin. Code Tit. 7, § 56.660

A written report of the investigation shall be filed with the court by the investigator before the petition is heard 
as long as the report is filed within 30 days of the designation by the court of the department, agency, or person 
to make the investigation.

In regulation: If a child has not been placed with the adoptive applicants within 1 year of the time the home 
study is completed, the home study must be made up-to-date within the 30-day period before a child is placed 
in the home. The written update must include the following:
 � A review and any required updating of each category of information in the adoptive home study 
 � Documentation of at least one additional visit within the past 6 months to the home when all individuals 

living in the home were present

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 7, § 56.620

During the postplacement period, the agency shall document any changes in the adoptive family in health, 
financial condition, or composition that may affect the child. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Alaska Stat. § 25.23.100

Unless directed by the court, an investigation and report are not required in cases in which a stepparent is the 
petitioner or the adoptee is within the fourth degree of lineal or collateral consanguinity to the petitioner. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Alaska Stat. § 47.70.010

Placement of children in or from another State for possible adoption are subject to the provisions of the 
Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

State regulations

AMERICAN SAMOA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: A.S. Code § 45.0420 

The petitioner for adoption must be studied to determine his or her suitability to parent the child. 

http://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#7.56 
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: A.S. Code § 45.0421 

A study and written report may be completed by the Department of Health, a child-placing agency, or the 
Probation Department of the court. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: A.S. Code § 45.0411 

Any person age 21 or older may petition the court to adopt a child. A minor, upon approval of the court, may 
petition to adopt a child. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: A.S. Code §§ 45.0414; 45.0422

The study and report shall assess the following:
 � The physical and mental health, emotional stability, and moral integrity of the petitioner
 � The ability of the petitioner to promote the welfare of the child
 � The petitioner's moral character
 � The petitioner's ability to support and educate the child
 � The suitability of the adoptive home

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: A.S. Code §§ 45.0414; 45.0422

The court may dismiss the adoption petition if it is not satisfied as to the character and suitability of the 
petitioner or there is reason to believe the person's physical condition would make the person unable to take 
care of the child. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: A.S. Code §§ 45.0414; 45.0421

In placements by the Department of Health or child-placing agencies, the report of the study shall be filed with 
the consent to adoption. If a petition is not accompanied by the written consent and report, the court shall 
order an investigation and report. 

Postplacement Study Requirements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: A.S. Code § 45.0421

The requirement for an investigation and written report does not apply to stepparent adoptions and those 
cases in which placement for adoption has been made by the court, by an individual in whom guardianship of 
the person of the child has been placed by the court, or in accordance with the law of another State or territory. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 
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Links to Resources

None are available online. 

ARIZONA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 8-105

The prospective adoptive parents and any adult members of the adoptive parents' household must be included 
in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 8-105

The study and report are completed by an officer of the court, an agency, the Department of Child Safety, or an 
entity contracted by the department. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 8-103

Pursuant to rules adopted by the department, the department or adoption agency shall place a child in an 
adoptive home that best meets the safety, social, emotional, physical, and mental health needs of the child. 
Other relevant factors for consideration, in no order of preference, shall include the following:
 � The marital status and the length and stability of the marital relationship of the prospective adoptive parents
 � The prospective adoptive family's ability to meet the child's safety, social, emotional, physical, and mental 

health needs and the ability to financially provide for the child
 � The availability of relatives, the child's current or former foster parents, or other significant persons to 

provide support to the prospective adoptive family and child

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 8-105; 8-112 

The application for certification shall include a financial statement and a physician's statement of the 
applicant's physical health.

A prospective adoptive parent and each other adult member of the household must have a valid fingerprint 
clearance card issued pursuant to § 41-1758.07. The prospective adoptive parent and each adult member of 
the household must certify whether that person is awaiting trial on or has ever been convicted of any of the 
criminal offenses listed in § 41-1758.07(B)-(C). An officer of the court may obtain State and Federal criminal 
records checks. The department may exchange this fingerprint data with the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

The investigation and report to the court shall consider all relevant and material facts dealing with the 
prospective adoptive parents' fitness to adopt children and shall include the following:
 � A complete social history
 � The applicant's financial condition, moral fitness, religious background, and physical and mental health 

conditions
 � Any court action for or adjudication of child abuse, abandonment of children, dependency, or termination of 

parent-child relationship
 � All other facts bearing on the issue of the fitness of the prospective adoptive parents
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A social study shall be submitted to the court 10 days before the hearing on the petition to adopt. The social 
study shall include the following:
 � The child's adjustment to the adoptive parents' home
 � The prospective adoptive parents' suitability to adopt
 � The existing and proposed arrangements regarding the child's custody
 � State and Federal criminal records checks and a central registry records check
 � Any other information that is pertinent to the adoption proceedings

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Rev. Stat. § 41-1758.07

A person is precluded from receiving a level I fingerprint clearance card if the person is subject to registration 
as a sex offender or is awaiting trial or been convicted of committing or attempting, soliciting, facilitating, or 
conspiring to commit one or more of the following offenses:
 � Homicide
 � Sexual assault or sexual abuse
 � Sexual exploitation or commercial sexual exploitation of a minor or vulnerable adult
 � Child sex trafficking 
 � Child abuse or felony child neglect
 � Incest or sexual conduct with a minor
 � Molestation of a child or a vulnerable adult
 � Dangerous crimes against children, as defined in § 13-705
 � Exploitation of minors involving drug offenses
 � Taking a child for the purpose of prostitution
 � Production, publication, sale, possession, and presentation of obscene items
 � Furnishing harmful items to minors
 � Furnishing harmful items to minors by internet activity
 � Obscene or indecent telephone communications to minors for commercial purposes 
 � Luring a minor for sexual exploitation
 � Transporting persons for the purpose of prostitution, polygamy, and concubinage
 � Felony contributing to the delinquency of a minor
 � Unlawful sale or purchase of children
 � Child bigamy
 � Felony domestic violence 
 � Felony assault committed within the previous 5 years 
 � Felony drug or alcohol-related offenses committed within the previous 5 years 
 � Felony indecent exposure or public sexual indecency
 � Terrorism
 � Any offense involving a violent crime, as defined in § 13-901.03
 � Trafficking of persons for forced labor or services
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When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 8-105

Before any prospective adoptive parent may petition to adopt a child, the person shall be certified by the court 
as acceptable to adopt children. A certificate shall be issued only after an investigation. The investigation and 
report to the court must be completed within 90 days after the application for certification has been accepted.

Within 60 days after receiving the investigation report, the court shall certify the applicant as acceptable 
or unacceptable to adopt children based on the investigation report and recommendations of the report. A 
certification remains in effect for 18 months from the date of its issuance and may be extended for additional 
1-year periods if after review the court finds that there have been no material changes in circumstances that 
would adversely affect the acceptability of the applicant to adopt. 

Postplacement Study Requirements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed.

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 8-105; 8-112

The requirements for a certification study do not apply in the following situations:
 � The prospective adoptive parent is the spouse of the birth or legal parent of the child to be adopted or is 

an uncle, aunt, adult sibling, grandparent, or great-grandparent of the child by whole or half-blood or by 
marriage or adoption.

 � The birth or legal parent is deceased, but at the time of death, the parent had legal and physical custody of 
the child to be adopted and the child had resided primarily with the spouse of the birth or legal parent during 
the 24 months before the death of the parent.

 � The grandparent, great-grandparent, aunt, uncle, great-uncle, great-aunt, or adult sibling is deceased, but 
at the time of death that person had legal and physical custody of the child to be adopted, and the child had 
resided primarily with the spouse of the grandparent, great-grandparent, aunt, uncle, great-uncle, great-
aunt, or adult sibling during the 24 months before the death of the grandparent, great-grandparent, aunt, 
uncle, great-uncle, great-aunt, or adult sibling.

 � The applicant is the child's foster parent who is petitioning to adopt the child, and the department 
recommends the adoption of the child by the foster parent applicant. 

The social study may consist only of the results of the State and Federal criminal records checks and the central 
registry records check if either of the following is true:
 � The prospective adoptive parent is the child's stepparent who has been legally married to the child's birth 

or legal parent for at least 6 months, and the child has resided with the stepparent and parent for at least 6 
months.

 � The prospective adoptive parent is the child's adult sibling, aunt, uncle, grandparent, or great-grandparent, 
and the child has resided with the prospective adoptive parent for at least 1 year.

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 8-548

Placements of children for adoption in or from another State are subject to the provisions of the Interstate 
Compact on the Placement of Children. 
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Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 8-112

If the child being considered for adoption has resided with the prospective adoptive parent for at least 6 
months and the prospective adoptive parent is a foster parent who is licensed by this State, the social study 
may consist only of the following:
 � The results of a central registry records check
 � A review of any material changes in circumstances that have occurred since the previous license renewal that 

affect the prospective adoptive parent(s)' ability to adopt the child

Links to Resources

Adoption [webpage] (Arizona Department of Child Safety)

ARKANSAS

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Rules & Regs. 016 15 CARR 011, Pol. VIII-G 

Each member of the adoptive family shall be included in the approval process. In a two-parent home, both 
parents shall be joint applicants, and both applicants shall actively participate in the approval process.

Any household member who resides in the home for more than 3 cumulative months in a calendar year 
must clear the following background checks: Arkansas Child Maltreatment Central Registry, Arkansas 
Adult Maltreatment Central Registry, Arkansas State Police Criminal Record Check, and Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI) Criminal Background Check.  

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rules & Regs. 016 15 CARR 011, Pol. VIII-G 

Before placement of a child in the home of the adoptive parent, the Division of Children and Family Services 
(DCFS) will conduct a home study. The purpose of the home study is to evaluate the prospective adoptive 
parent's ability to meet the child's needs as well as evaluate their compliance with minimum licensing standards 
and DCFS policy requirements for adoptive homes.

DCFS will participate in the adoption of a minor who is in the custody of the Department of Human Services or 
for whom the court has retained jurisdiction only if either the person seeking to adopt the child or the child is 
currently a resident of Arkansas.  

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Rules & Regs. 016 15 CARR 011, Pol. VIII-G 

The applicant must be at least age 21. The applicant who is a primary caregiver should be at an age that it can 
be anticipated that he or she can actively parent the child into adulthood. Generally, at least a 10-year age 
difference and no more than a 45-year age difference between the child and adoptive applicant are preferred.  

In a two-parent home, the couple shall demonstrate a stable relationship.

Members of the household must not have a health condition or disability that would interfere with the family's 
ability to parent the child. Each member of the household shall have a physical examination by a physician 
within 6 months prior to the approval of the adoption home study and annually thereafter until placement of a 
child.  

https://dcs.az.gov/foster-and-adoption/adoption
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The applicant must have sufficient resources to meet the financial, medical, physical, educational, emotional, 
and shelter needs of the child without depending solely on State or Federal financial assistance to meet those 
needs (although such forms of assistance may be used to supplement a family's income). 

Before a prospective adoptive parent can begin preservice training, the central registry and State police 
criminal background checks must be completed, and the FBI criminal background check must have been 
submitted. Adoptive parents must complete the division's preservice training curriculum, which includes 
27 hours of preservice training and 3 hours of DCFS orientation prior to placement of a child in their home. 
Adoptive parents must also complete cardiopulmonary resuscitation and standard first aid training and receive 
certification in both areas prior to placement of a child in their home.  

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rules & Regs. 016 15 CARR 011, Pol. VIII-G 

Criteria for consideration in determining the appropriateness of adoptive homes include the following:
 � Space in the residence must be adequate to promote health and safety. Each bedroom should have at least 50 

square feet of space per occupant.  
 � All firearms must be maintained in a secure, locked location separate from ammunition.  
 � All water hazards and dangerous pets will be assessed. Safeguard measures will be implemented, as 

appropriate.  
 � Children of opposite sexes shall have their own separate bedrooms if either child is age 4 or older, except for 

a mother in foster care with her child.  
 � Water must be provided by the public water system or approved by the Department of Health.  
 � DCFS shall not place or permit a child to be placed in a home if the prospective adoptive parent smokes or 

allows anyone else to smoke in the presence of the child unless it is in the child's best interests to be placed 
in or remain in the adoptive home.

Background checks must be completed as follows:
 � Each member of the household age 14 and older, excluding children in foster care, must agree to a child 

maltreatment central registry check in any State in which the person has lived for the past 5 years.
 � Each member of the household age 18 and 1/2 and older, excluding children in foster care, who resides in 

Arkansas must agree to be cleared through the following:  
 – The Arkansas Adult Maltreatment Central Registry 
 – An Arkansas State police criminal record check 
 – A fingerprint-based FBI criminal background check 

The adoption specialist will do the following:  
 � Make at least two visits in person with the prospective adoptive family, with at least one visit being in the 

home
 � Have a separate, face-to-face interview with each prospective adoptive parent
 � Interview in person each household member who is age 10 or older

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Rules & Regs. 016 15 CARR 011, Pol. VIII-G; Ann. Code § 9-28-116 

If the prospective adoptive home is found to be out of compliance with a licensing standard or a DCFS policy, 
this noncompliance issue must be addressed. However, if the adoption specialist or the individual conducting 
the home study determines that the noncompliance issue would not endanger the safety or well-being of 
children placed in a home, an alternative compliance or policy waiver may be requested as appropriate. (An 
alternative compliance is a request for approval from the Child Welfare Agency Review Board to deviate from a 
minimum licensing standard, while a policy waiver is a request to deviate from a DCFS policy or procedure.) 
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If there is a pending child maltreatment report on the family, the adoption specialist will stop proceedings until 
a determination is made. The investigation is to be reviewed and discussed with the adoption supervisor and 
the adoption manager.  

Applicants must have no history of convictions for offenses listed in Annotated Code § 9-28-116. 

In statute: A foster child in the custody of DCFS shall not be placed in the home of any Arkansas adoptive parent 
if the criminal records check reveals a felony conviction for any of the following:
 � Child abuse or neglect
 � Spousal abuse or domestic battery
 � A crime against children, including child pornography
 � A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including other physical 

assault or battery
 � Aggravated assault on a family or household member

A foster child in the custody of DCFS shall not be placed in the home of any adoptive parent if the criminal 
record check reveals a felony conviction for physical assault, battery, or a drug-related offense if the offense 
was committed within the past 5 years.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Rules & Regs. 016 15 CARR 011, Pol. VIII-G 

Before placement of a child in the home of the adoptive parent, DCFS will conduct a home study. The purpose 
of the home study is to evaluate the prospective adoptive parent's ability to meet the child's needs as well 
as evaluate their compliance with minimum licensing standards and DCFS policy requirements for adoptive 
homes. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Rules & Regs. 016 15 CARR 011, Pol. VIII-G 

Prior to the finalization of the adoption, postplacement services are provided, and services to preserve adoptive 
families are offered after the adoption is finalized.

The adoption specialist will do the following:  
 � Provide casework counseling, support, and referral to needed resources and services until the adoption is 

finalized  
 � Visit weekly during the first month of placement and monthly thereafter and make contacts as needed with 

the family until the adoption is finalized  
 � Document the place and dates of postplacement contacts, activities, progress, concerns, etc.  
 � Inform the family about postadoption services

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code § 9-9-211

The requirement to file with the court a report of expenditures connected to the adoption does not apply to an 
adoption by a stepparent whose spouse is a natural or adoptive parent of the child, to an adoption in which the 
adoptee is an adult, or where the petitioner and the minor are related in the second degree. 
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Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 9-29-201

The sending of a child to another State for placement in an adoptive home or the receiving of a child from 
another State for placement in an adoptive home is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 9-9-701(f) 

A family that has a foster child in its home who was placed by the department shall be eligible for the 
streamlined adoption process if the department selects the foster family to be the adoptive family of the foster 
child.

Upon selection, the department shall complete the adoptive home study within 45 business days. The 
department shall not require the foster family to attend training. 

Links to Resources

Policy & Procedure Manual (see Policy VIII-G: Foster Parent, Provisional Foster Parent, and Relative Adoption) 
(Arkansas Department of Human Services, Division of Children and Family Services) 

CALIFORNIA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Fam. Code § 8811

Each person filing an adoption petition and any adult living in the prospective adoptive home must be included 
in the investigation. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Fam. Code § 8811

The Department of Social Services (DSS) or a delegated county adoption agency shall conduct the assessment 
and investigation. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Fam. Code § 8601

A child may be adopted by an adult who is at least 10 years older than the child. An exception to this 
requirement may be made if the adoptive parent is a stepparent, sister, brother, aunt, uncle, or first cousin of 
the child and, if that person is married, is adopting jointly with his or her spouse. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Fam. Code §§ 8811; 9001; Code of Regs., Tit. 22, §§ 35081; 35083; 35087; 35089

Each person filing an adoption petition must submit fingerprints and obtain from an appropriate law 
enforcement agency any criminal record to establish whether he or she has ever been convicted of a crime 
other than a minor traffic violation. DSS or a delegated county adoption agency may also secure the person's 
full criminal record, if any, with the exception of any convictions for which relief has been granted pursuant to § 
1203.49 of the Penal Code.

https://humanservices.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/dcfs/Master_DCFS_Policy.pdf
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The criminal record, if any, shall be taken into consideration when evaluating the prospective adoptive parent, 
and an assessment of the effects of any criminal history on the ability of the prospective adoptive parent to 
provide adequate and proper care and guidance to the child shall be included in the report to the court.

A home study shall be conducted that consists of a physical investigation of the premises where the child will 
reside. 

In regulation: The agency shall assess the petitioners to determine their suitability as adoptive parents by doing 
the following: 
 � Conducting interviews as necessary to make the assessment
 � Obtaining the following documentation: 

 – A report of a medical examination on the petitioner
 – School reports for all school-age children residing in the home 
 – Certification that each adult residing in the home is free from communicable tuberculosis
 – At least three letters of reference regarding the suitability of the petitioner as an adoptive parent
 – The full State criminal record, if any, from the State Department of Justice 

 � Evaluating the following information:
 – Current employment and financial stability
 – Verification of marital status, if relevant
 – Feelings and attitudes that may impact the adoption
 – Social and educational background
 – Adequacy of housing

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Fam. Code §§ 8811; 8822

Under no circumstances shall DSS or a delegated county adoption agency give final approval for an adoptive 
placement in any home in which the prospective adoptive parent or any adult living in the prospective adoptive 
home has either of the following:
 � A felony conviction for child abuse or neglect; spousal abuse; crimes against a child, including child 

pornography; or for a crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide
 � A felony conviction that occurred within the past 5 years for physical assault, battery, or a drug- or alcohol-

related offense 

DSS or a delegated county adoption agency may find that the home of the petitioners is not suitable for the 
child and recommend that the petition be denied. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Fam. Code § 8811.5; Code of Regs., Tit. 22, § 35091

The preplacement evaluation, whether it is conducted for the purpose of initially certifying prospective 
adoptive parents or for renewing that certification, shall be completed no more than 1 year prior to the signing 
of an adoption placement agreement. 

In regulation: The agency shall complete the assessment and report to the court with a recommendation within 
180 days of the filing of the adoption petition, unless an extension of time has been granted by the court.
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Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Code of Regs., Tit. 22, §§ 35299 through 35309

The agency shall supervise the adoptive placement of the child with the prospective adoptive parent unless 
the child was adopted abroad. The supervision shall commence when the child is placed with the prospective 
adoptive parent and continue until a final decree of adoption is granted or the child is removed from the home 
of the prospective adoptive parent.

The duration of the supervisory period shall be no less than 6 months, unless the following apply:
 � The adoptive parent has successfully completed the adoption of another child in California within the past 5 

years.
 � The adoptive parent is in the military service of the United States or is employed by the American Red Cross 

and completion of the 6-month supervisory period would delay completion of an adoption that the agency 
has determined should be completed.

During the supervisory period, the agency shall provide the following services, as needed, to the prospective 
adoptive parent and the adoptive child so that the child may be integrated successfully into the family:
 � Liaisons between the family and schools, mental and physical health agencies, rehabilitation service agencies, 

and other community resources
 � Updates of the psychological and medical history form to reflect any additional information revealed during 

the supervisory period 
 � Updates of the assessment of the child to reflect any additional information discovered during the 

supervisory period

During the supervisory period, the agency shall conduct at least one interview in the home of the prospective 
adoptive parent with the parent and the adoptive child. The agency shall conduct at least three additional 
interviews with the prospective adoptive parent unless the duration of the supervisory period has been reduced 
to less than 6 months. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Fam. Code § 8730; 9001

An abbreviated home study assessment may be completed for any of the following persons:
 � A licensed foster parent with whom the child has lived for a minimum of 6 months
 � An approved relative caregiver or nonrelated extended family member with whom the child has an ongoing 

and significant relationship
 � A court-appointed relative guardian of the child who has been investigated and approved pursuant to the 

guardianship investigation process and has had physical custody of the child for at least 1 year

Unless otherwise ordered by a court, an abbreviated home study shall include, at minimum, all the following:
 � State and Federal criminal records checks
 � A determination of the following for the applicant:

 – Has sufficient financial stability to support the child and ensure that an adoption assistance program 
payment or other government assistance to which the child is entitled is used exclusively to meet the 
child's needs

 – Has not abused or neglected the child while the child has been in the applicant's care and has fostered the 
healthy growth and development of the child

 – Is not likely to abuse or neglect the child in the future and can protect the child, ensure necessary care 
and supervision, and foster the child's healthy growth and development

 – Can address issues that may affect the child's well-being, including, but not limited to, the child's physical 
health, mental health, and educational needs
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 � Interviews with the applicant, each individual residing in the home, and the child to be adopted
 � A review by DSS, the county adoption agency, or a licensed adoption agency of all previous guardianship 

investigation reports, home study assessments, and preplacement evaluations of each applicant

Unless ordered by the court, no home study may be required of the petitioner's home in a stepparent adoption. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Fam. Code §§ 7907.5; 7901.1

A child who is born in this State and placed for adoption with a person who is not a resident of this State is 
subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, regardless of whether the 
adoption petition is filed in this State. In interstate placements, this State shall be deemed the sending State for 
any child born in the State.

Within 60 days of receipt of a request from another State to conduct a study of a home environment for 
purposes of assessing the safety and suitability of placing a child in the home, a county child welfare agency 
shall do, directly or by contract, both of the following: 
 � Conduct and complete the study
 � Return a report to the requesting State on the results of the study that addresses the extent to which 

placement in the home would meet the needs of the child

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Fam. Code § 8730

If the prospective adoptive parent of a child is a foster parent with whom the child has lived for a minimum of 6 
months, the assessment or home study procedure is the same as for a relative caregiver. 

Links to Resources

Adoption Regulations [webpage] (California Department of Social Services)

COLORADO

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 19-5-207

The petitioners for adoption and any adults residing in the petitioners' home must be included in the home study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 19-5-207

Home study reports shall be completed by the county department of human or social services, a designated 
qualified individual, or a child-placing agency approved by the State Department of Human Services. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: 12 Colo. Code Regs. 2509-6, § 7.500.351 

The county department will accept applications for the adoption of children only from persons who meet the 
requirements of the Colorado statute and who have expressed an interest in the placement of a child who might 
be available at the time of the application.

The county department shall require verification of an individual's lawful presence in the United States in order 
to approve an application for a child's adoption. 

https://cdss.ca.gov/inforesources/letters-regulations/legislation-and-regulations/adoptions-regulations
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Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 19-5-207; 12 Colo. Code Regs. 2509-6, § 7.500.2

The home study shall include, but not be limited to, the following:
 � The physical and mental health, emotional stability, and moral integrity of the petitioner
 � The ability of the petitioner to promote the welfare of the child
 � Confirmation that the petitioner has participated in adoption counseling if the court deems it appropriate
 � The suitability of the adoption of this child by this petitioner
 � A fingerprint-based criminal history records check for any prospective adoptive parent and any adult 

residing in the home
 � A check for any substantiated reports of child abuse or neglect in each State in which the prospective 

adoptive parent or adult household member has resided in for the past 5 years

In regulation: The family assessment shall include separate and joint interviews with the applicant(s), all adults 
residing in the home (both related and nonrelated to the applicant), all children residing in the home, and any 
individual that is considering a second parent adoption of the child(ren) regarding the following:
 � Social history and background
 � Personal characteristics of the family
 � Marital and domestic partner relationship
 � The motivation for child placement
 � The applicants' interest, preparation, and willingness to care for a child with special needs
 � Extended family relationships
 � Physical and social environment, including cleanliness; orderliness and maintenance; safety; furnishings; play 

area, equipment, and clothing; finances; support system; and household pets
 � Parenting abilities and style
 � Specialized parenting knowledge, including understanding of the effects of abuse or neglect, sexual abuse, 

and separation and loss; birth sibling relationships; child background information; and birth parent issues
 � Adoption issues, including infertility, telling the child about adoption, openness in adoption, and adoptive 

parent status 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 19-5-207; 12 Colo. Code Regs. 2509-6, § 7.500.312

A person shall not be allowed to adopt a child if there is a record of any of the following:  
 � A felony conviction that involves child abuse, as described in § 18-6-401; a crime of violence, as defined in § 

15-1.3-406; or a felony offense involving unlawful sexual behavior, as defined in § 16-22-102  
 � A felony conviction that occurred less than 5 years prior to the adoption application that involved physical 

assault or battery or a drug-related offense  
 � A felony conviction that occurred less than 10 years prior to the adoption application that involved domestic 

violence, as defined in § 18-6-800.3   

In regulation: The application may be denied if the applicant has been convicted of unlawful use of a controlled 
substance, as specified in § 18-18-404; unlawful distribution, manufacturing, dispensing, sale, or possession 
of a controlled substance, as specified in § 18-18-405; or unlawful offenses relating to marijuana or marijuana 
concentrate, as specified in § 18-18-406.
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When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: 12 Colo. Code Regs. 2509-6, §§ 7.500.2; 7.500.351

The home study must be completed within 90 working days from receiving the completed background checks.

If a child has not been placed in the adoptive home within 1 year of the date of the approval of the adoption 
assessment, the assessment shall be reevaluated if the home is to remain active for consideration of a child and 
annually thereafter until a placement is made or the case is closed. Reevaluation shall consist of at least the 
following:
 � A statement every 2 years from a licensed doctor regarding the current physical condition of the applicants 

and others living in the home
 � Documentation of any changes in the home and family, such as finances; employment; housing; illnesses; 

pregnancy; and current information, where applicable, on growth, development, and activities of children in 
the home

 � Changes, if any, in the kind of child desired, the reason for the change, and the family's capacity to provide 
for the child currently requested

 � Determination of the appropriateness to continue approval of the home

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: 12 Colo. Code Regs. 2509-6, § 7.500.2

The county department placing the child for adoption will be responsible for postplacement supervision until 
the adoption is finalized, unless otherwise negotiated in the placement agreement between the county and the 
child-placing agency. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 19-5-209

A home study is not required to be filed with an adoption petition in the case of stepparent adoptions, kinship 
adoptions, or custodial adoptions and in cases in which placement for adoption has been made by the court. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: 12 Colo. Code Regs. 2509-4, §§ 7.304.63; 7.307.52 

All out-of-State placements for kinship, foster, group, or residential care must comply with the Interstate 
Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC), § 7.307.

County departments must follow Federal guidelines and shall not place children out of State who are in care 
under a placement contract (voluntary placements). Such placements can only be made by a parent or guardian.

When Colorado is the receiving State of an ICPC request for placement, all such requests, except for nonpublic 
adoptive placement requests, shall be sent by the sending State to the Colorado deputy compact administrator, 
who shall forward the request packet to the correct county department or licensed child-placing agency.

The county department staff or licensed child-placing agency staff assigned to ICPC cases shall complete a 
home study within 60 calendar days of receipt of the request from the sending State. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: 12 Colo. Code Regs. 2509-6, § 7.500.351

The single assessment completed on a foster family for foster care will be accepted for adoption. The worker 
will check the adoption box on the single application form and, if appropriate, write a brief update. 
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Links to Resources

Adoption [webpage] (Colorado Department of Human Services)

CONNECTICUT

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: State Agencies Regs. § 17a-145-132 

The adoption home study shall include the applicant as well as all members of the applicant's household. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: State Agencies Regs. § 17a-145-132 

The Department of Children and Families or a child-placing agency shall conduct the assessment of any 
prospective adoptive parent. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: State Agencies Regs. §§ 17a-145-143; 17a-145-144; 17a-145-147

The health of persons living in the prospective adoptive family shall not present a hazard to the children. 
Prospective adoptive parents and other members of the household shall be of good character, habits, and 
reputation.

Prospective adoptive parents shall have an income sufficient to meet the needs of their family. Money received 
on behalf of the child shall be expended on the care of the child. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 17a-114(b)(2); State Agencies Regs. § 17a-145-154

The applicant and any person age 16 or older living in the applicant's household shall submit to State and 
national criminal history records checks prior to placement of a child. The department also shall check the 
State child abuse and neglect registry for the names of the applicant and any person age 16 or older living in the 
household and the child abuse and neglect registry in any State in which the applicant or person resided in the 
preceding 5 years.

In regulation: The department or child-placing agency shall conduct an assessment of any prospective adoptive 
parent(s)' home. The assessment shall include, but not be limited to, the following:
 � The physical condition of the home
 � The health of the applicant and other members of the household
 � The ability of the applicant to provide an environment that will advance the physical, mental, emotional, 

educational, and social development of the adoptive child

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: State Agencies Regs. § 17a-145-152

Approval shall be denied if any of the following applies to any member of the household of a prospective 
adoptive family:
 � Has been convicted of injury or risk of injury to a minor or other similar offenses 
 � Has been convicted of impairing the morals of a minor or other similar offenses 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/adoption-1
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 � Has been convicted of violent crime against a person or other similar offenses
 � Has been convicted of the possession, use, or sale of controlled substances within the past 5 years
 � Has been convicted of illegal use of a firearm or other similar offenses
 � Has ever had an allegation of child abuse or neglect substantiated
 � Has had a minor removed from their care because of child abuse or neglect 

Approval may be denied if any of the following applies to any member of the household of a prospective 
adoptive family: 
 � Is awaiting trial, or is on trial, for charges as described in the preceding list
 � Has a criminal record that the department or child-placing agency believes makes the home unsuitable
 � Has a current allegation of child abuse or neglect pending

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 45a-727

When an application for adoption has been filed, the court shall request the department or a child-placing 
agency to make an investigation and submit a written report to it, in duplicate, within 60 days from the receipt 
of the request. 

Postplacement Study Requirements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 45a-733

An investigation and home study report are not required in the case of a child sought to be adopted by a 
stepparent or a person who shares parental responsibility with the parent of the child pursuant to § 45a-724(3)
(a). 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Gen. Stat. §§ 17a-152; 17a-175; State Agencies Regs. § 17a-145-136

Any person or entity, before bringing or sending any child into the State for the purpose of placing or caring for 
such child in any home or institution, either free or for board, shall make an application to the Commissioner of 
Children and Families, giving the name, the age, and a personal description of such child; the name and address 
of the person, home, or institution with which the child is to be placed; and such other information as may be 
required by the commissioner.

No sending State shall send, bring, or cause to be sent into any other party State any child for placement in a 
prospective adoptive home unless the sending agency complies with the Interstate Compact on the Placement 
of Children and with the applicable laws of the receiving State governing the placement of children.

Prior to sending a child to a receiving State for placement in a prospective adoptive home, the sending agency 
shall furnish the appropriate public authorities in the receiving State written notice containing the necessary 
information. 

The child shall not be sent to the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving State 
notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child.
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In regulation: Each child-placing agency or prospective adoptive family shall comply with State statutes and 
regulations regarding the interstate placement of children prior to accepting placement of a child from out of 
State. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 17a-114

Any person licensed by the department may be a prospective adoptive parent. 

Links to Resources

Connecticut Foster & Adoption Services [webpage] (Connecticut Department of Children and Families)

CT Foster/Adopt Manual (scroll down the page to click on individual chapters) (Connecticut Department of 
Children and Families)

DELAWARE

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Code of Regs. 9-200-201, Part III

The adoptive parents and other members of the household must be included in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 13, § 904

The preplacement evaluation must be completed by the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their 
Families (DSCYF) or a licensed agency. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 13, § 903; Code of Regs. 9-200-201, Part III 

A person who is at least age 21 and a resident of Delaware may adopt. The person may be single, married, 
divorced, or legally separated. 

In regulation: The agency shall ensure that the adoptive parent applicant meets the following criteria:
 � Demonstrates emotional stability, good character, a responsible adult lifestyle, freedom from abuse of alcohol 

or any legal drug, or use of any illegal drug
 � Has the ability to provide nurturing care, supervision, reasonable positive behavior management, and a 

home-like environment that is free from domestic violence
 � Demonstrates a capacity for setting a realistic expectation for behavior and performance based on the age, 

abilities, and special needs of a child
 � Demonstrates a willingness and ability to discuss and deal appropriately with his or her own feelings of 

anger, frustration, sorrow, conflict, and affection and those of others
 � Shows evidence of a stable living arrangement for at least 1 year
 � Has income to meet the needs of a household and ensure the household's security and stability

The agency shall ensure an applicant who works outside the home provides a child care plan to the agency. An 
adoptive parent applicant must obtain approval from the agency for a business conducted in a home showing 
business activities will not interfere with the child's care. 

https://portal.ct.gov/DCF/CTFosterAdopt/Home
https://portal.ct.gov/DCF/CTFosterAdopt/Adoption
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Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 31, § 309; Code of Regs. 9-200-201, Part III 

A background check for applicants wishing to become adoptive parents and their adult household members 
shall consist of the following:
 � A fingerprint-based Delaware and national background check completed by the State Bureau of Identification 

and the Federal Bureau of Investigation
 � A child protection registry check completed by DSCYF

In regulation: The agency shall have four written references or telephone notes on such references for an 
applicant. At least three of these references shall be from a person not related to the applicant. The agency shall 
visit an applicant's home and inspect all rooms and the grounds to observe if the home is maintained in such a 
manner that it does not present a threat to the health and safety of all occupants.

The agency shall meet with an applicant at least three times. The location of the meetings shall include the 
following:
 � At least one meeting in the home of the applicant that includes meeting with any other household member
 � Two more meetings at the agency or a location where an adoptive parent applicant can be provided the 

space to be privately and individually interviewed

The home study shall include a written evaluation that addresses the following regarding the applicant:
 � Motivation for and attitudes toward adoption
 � Willingness and ability to work cooperatively with the agency in the best interests of the child
 � Emotional strengths and weaknesses and philosophy on child rearing, positive behavior management, 

parental role, and experience with a child
 � Communication and problem-solving skills
 � Marital and family relationships
 � Family history, including his or her early home life
 � Feelings on the type of child he or she is able and willing to adopt

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 31, § 309; Code of Regs. 9-200-201, Part III

The following criminal convictions or entries on the child protection registry shall prohibit an applicant from 
being approved for the amount of time indicated:
 � A lifetime prohibition for felony convictions involving physical or sexual assault crimes against a child, an 

adult who is impaired, or an elderly person
 � Prohibition for 10 years for felony convictions involving physical or sexual assault crimes against another 

adult
 � Prohibition for 7 years for all other felony convictions, unless the felony is included within the crimes that 

can lead to entry on the child protection registry, in which case the length of time for the prohibition shall be 
as provided in the child protection registry regulations

 � Prohibition for 7 years for misdemeanor convictions against children, unless the misdemeanor is included 
within the crimes that can lead to entry on the child protection registry, in which case the length of time for 
the prohibition shall be as provided for in the child protection registry regulations

In regulation: A person who is active on the Delaware child protection registry at a level III or level IV is 
prohibited from being an adoptive parent while on the child protection registry. Approval of an application will 
be denied if the adoptive parent(s) or other members of the household have convictions, current indictments, 
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or substantial evidence of involvement in any criminal activity involving violence against a person; child abuse 
or neglect; serious sexual misconduct; possession, sale, or distribution of any illegal drug; gross irresponsibility; 
disregard for the safety of others; or serious violations of accepted standards of honesty or ethical conduct.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 13, § 904; Code of Regs. 9-200-201, Part III 

An adoptive placement shall not be made until a preplacement evaluation that complies with the Delaware 
Requirements for Child Placing Agencies has been completed. 

In regulation: Once an agency approves an applicant, the agency shall provide an approval letter or certificate 
to the applicant. The approval shall state the preadoptive parent has met the requirements for adoption as 
established in the regulations and received a satisfactory evaluation based on a home study conducted by an 
agency licensed to perform adoption home studies. In addition, the approval shall include a start and end date 
that shows the dates of the home's approval. The approval shall be effective for no more than 1 year.  

The agency shall do the following:
 � Prepare an update or addendum when there is a significant change and no less frequently than 1 year from 

the date the home study was approved 
 � Create an update or addendum to a home study during an approval period if there is a change in family 

circumstance, such as a marital separation, divorce, change of household composition, loss of job, serious 
illness, or death 

 � Ensure a home study contains all required items and is kept current and accurate at the time of placement 
through finalization 

 � Complete a new home study within 3 years of the initial home study  

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Code of Regs. 9-200-201, Part III

The agency shall assist a preadoptive parent during the postplacement period until finalization as follows:  
 � Assign a caseworker who is responsible for providing services to a preadoptive parent  
 � Offer assistance with steps toward integrating a child into a new family  
 � Provide help with problems that may occur, including referrals for services outside of the agency's capability 
 � Provide information on adoption subsidies, if applicable  

The agency shall maintain in-person contact with a preadoptive parent and child during the postplacement 
period until finalization as follows:  
 � The first in-person contact shall occur within 2 weeks of placement or within a term required by the 

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.  
 � After the first contact, a minimum of three in-person visits shall be required.  
 � At least one in-person contact shall be made in the preadoptive parent's home.  

Each household member shall be interviewed in-person at least once during the postplacement period.

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 13, § 904

No petition for adoption shall be presented unless, prior to the filing of the petition, the child sought to be 
adopted has been placed for adoption by DSCYF or a licensed child-placing agency and the placement has been 
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supervised by DSCYF or the agency. No such placement or supervision shall be necessary in the case of the 
following:
 � A child sought to be adopted by a stepparent or a blood relative
 � A child sought to be adopted by a guardian as long as guardianship has been granted for at least 6 months 

prior to filing the adoption petition

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Code of Regs. 9-200-201, § 17

A child-placing agency shall, when accepting for placement any child who resides in another State or placing 
a child in another State, comply, as appropriate, with the terms of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of 
Children. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

Adoption [webpage] (Delaware Department of Services for Children, Youth and their Families)

State regulations

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Code of Municipal Regs. § 29-1620

The study must include the applicant(s) and all household members. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Code of Municipal Regs. § 29-1620

The child-placing agency shall conduct the home study. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Code of Municipal Regs. § 29-1620

Each home study report shall include an assessment of the adoptive applicants on the following:
 � The motivation for adoption
 � Readiness to parent a child not born to them
 � The attitudes and feelings of the family and significant others involved with the family toward adoptive 

children
 � The attitudes of the applicants toward birth parents and the reasons the children are in need of adoption
 � Emotional stability and maturity, including the capacity to give and receive affection
 � The ability to cope with problems, stress, crises, and losses, including the availability of formal and informal 

support systems
 � The ability to provide for the child's physical and emotional needs
 � The attitude toward discipline and child-rearing

https://kids.delaware.gov/fs/adoption.shtml
https://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title9/Division%20of%20Family%20Services%20Office%20of%20Child%20Care%20Licensing/200/201.shtml#TopOfPage
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Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Code of Municipal Regs. § 29-1620

The adoptive home study is a counseling and assessment process with the primary goal of providing secure 
nurturing and permanent families for children. In conducting the adoptive home study, the agency shall do the 
following:
 � Work with the applicant to evaluate his or her ability and readiness for adoptive parenthood
 � Make recommendations regarding the type of child to be placed with the family
 � Build supportive relationships and activities that will ensure the success of the placement
 � Provide educational opportunities for the applicant regarding the adoption process
 � Provide a written report integrating all the information and culminating in an agency recommendation

The home study process shall include the following:
 � One face-to-face interview with the adoptive couple and one face-to-face individual interview with each 

applicant
 � One face-to-face contact with each member of the potential adoptive family household
 � Clearance with the child abuse and neglect registry and record of criminal convictions, if any
 � A summary of the medical report for each member of the adoptive family living in the household, within 

6 months of the study, that verifies that each person has no communicable disease, specific illness, or 
disabilities that would interfere with the family's ability to parent a child

 � The level of education completed
 � The applicant's financial status, including current job and income, other sources of income, savings, assets, 

and liabilities
 � A minimum of three personal and community character references
 � The interests, hobbies, and use of leisure time for each applicant 
 � Religious orientation, if any
 � A description of the home, including the adequacy of space and privacy in relation to the parent and age and 

sex of children
 � An assessment of the plan for child care if parents work

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Code § 4-1305.06

An individual shall not be approved to provide foster care if it is determined from the criminal records check 
that the individual, or an adult residing in the home of the individual, has a felony conviction for any of the 
following offenses or their equivalents:
 � Child abuse or neglect
 � An intrafamily offense, as defined in § 16-1001(8)
 � A crime against children, including child pornography
 � A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including other physical 

assault or battery 

An individual shall not be approved if it is determined from the criminal records check that the individual, or 
an adult residing in the home of the individual, has a felony conviction for any of the following offenses or their 
equivalents committed within the past 5 years:
 � Physical assault or battery
 � A drug-related offense
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When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Code of Municipal Regs. § 29-1620

An adoptive home study shall be conducted prior to the placement of a child in a home. 

If a placement has not been made and 12 months have elapsed since the adoptive home study, a prospective 
adoptive home shall be reevaluated. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Code of Municipal Regs. § 29-1624

The child-placing agency shall provide postplacement services for at least 6 months from the date of the 
adoptive placement of a child. The agency shall conduct at least three interviews during the 6-month period 
with the child and the parent(s) and make at least one visit to the home.

If a final decree of adoption has not been granted within 6 months of placement, the child-placing agency shall 
continue to provide services until the final decree is granted. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code § 16-308 

The court may dispense with the investigation and report when the petitioner is a spouse or domestic partner 
of the natural parent of the prospective adoptee and the natural parent consents to the adoption or joins in the 
petition for adoption. A fingerprint-based criminal records check is still required. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 4-1422; Code of Municipal Regs. § 29-1635

Placement of children outside the District of Columbia is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact on 
the Placement of Children.

Prior to sending a child into a receiving State for placement in a prospective adoptive home, the agency shall 
furnish the appropriate authority in the receiving State written notice of the intention to place the child in the 
receiving State. The notice shall contain the following: 
 � The name, date, and place of birth of the child
 � The identity and address of the parents or legal guardian
 � The name and address of the person, agency, or institution to which the agency proposes to send the child
 � A full statement of the reason for the proposed action and evidence of the authority for the proposed 

placement

The child shall not be sent to the receiving State until the appropriate authority in the receiving State notifies 
the sending State, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the interests of 
the child.

In regulation: A child-placing agency in the District of Columbia that is cooperating with agencies or individuals 
in other States for foster or adoptive placement of a child in the District or in another jurisdiction shall comply 
with the interstate placement requirements of the States involved during all phases of the placement process. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 
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Links to Resources

Adopting From the Public Child Welfare System in the District of Columbia (District of Columbia Child and Family 
Services Agency)

Municipal regulations 

FLORIDA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code § 65C-16.007

The adoptive applicant and other adult household members must be included in the home study. 

Abuse and neglect history checks must be conducted on all adoptive applicants and other household members 
12 years of age and older. The applicants must be informed of this requirement early in the home study process 
and must provide written consent for the checks to be completed. Abuse and neglect history checks must be 
current within 30 calendar days of placement of an adoptive child in the home. When the adoptive applicant or 
other adult household member has lived in another State within 5 years of the request for a home study, a child 
abuse and neglect registry check of the other State must be requested. 

Local, statewide, and national criminal records checks and juvenile records checks must be conducted on all 
adoptive applicants and other household members 18 years of age and older. Local, statewide, and juvenile 
records checks must be conducted on all household members age 12 through 17.  

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 63.092; Admin. Code § 65C-16.002

The preliminary home study must be completed by a licensed child-placing agency, a registered child-caring 
agency, a licensed professional, or an agency described in § 61.20(2), unless the adoptee is an adult or the 
petitioner is a stepparent or a relative. The Department of Children and Family Services is required to perform 
the preliminary home study only if there is no licensed child-placing agency, child-caring agency, or licensed 
professional in the county where the prospective adoptive parents reside.

In regulation: The department facilitates the adoption of children with special needs. Persons seeking to adopt 
non-special needs children will be referred to private agencies. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code § 65C-16.005 

An adoptive home study that includes observation, screening, and evaluation of the child and adoptive 
applicants shall be completed prior to the adoptive placement of the child. The aim of this evaluation is to 
select families who will be able to meet the physical, emotional, social, educational, and financial needs of a 
child, while safeguarding the child from further loss and separation from siblings and significant adults. In 
determining which applications for adoption should be approved, the following criteria must be considered: 

 � The child's choice if the child is developmentally able to participate in the decision
 � The ability and willingness of the adoptive family to adopt some or all of a sibling group
 � The commitment of the applicant to value, respect, appreciate, and educate the child regarding his or her 

racial and ethnic heritage
 � The family's childrearing experience

http://cfsa.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/cfsa/publication/attachments/fs_adoption_process.pdf
https://www.dcregs.dc.gov/Common/DCMR/RuleList.aspx?ChapterNum=29-16&ChapterId=2196
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Applications to adopt will be accepted from married couples and from single adults. Consideration should be 
given as to the stability of the marriage and/or any significant relationships. 

Other qualifications include the following:
 � The family must have legal and verifiable income and resources to ensure financial stability and security to 

meet expenses incurred in the care of the family.
 � The family's housing must provide the space and living conditions necessary to promote the health and 

safety of the family.
 � The physical, mental, and emotional health of the prospective adoptive household members must not 

jeopardize the safety and permanency of the child's placement. 
 � When families have children by birth or adoption, the anticipated impact of a new child on the family must be 

considered.
 � Working parents must be willing and able to arrange to be with the child during the transition period.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 63.092; Admin. Code § 65C-16.005 

The preliminary home study must be made to determine the suitability of the intended adoptive parents and 
may be completed prior to the identification of a prospective adoptive child. The study must include, at a 
minimum, the following:
 � An interview with the intended adoptive parents
 � Criminal records and central abuse registry checks
 � An assessment of the physical environment of the home
 � A determination of the financial security of the intended adoptive parents
 � Documentation of counseling and education of the intended adoptive parents on adoptive parenting

In regulation: A minimum of five written references shall be required. Only one reference may be obtained 
from an employer, and only one of the references may be obtained from a relative. All other references must be 
obtained from persons who either (1) have observed the applicants in situations that give some indication for 
their capacity for parenthood or (2) possess documentation or knowledge, as the result of their relationship to 
the applicant, of the applicant's capacity for parenthood. 

The approved adoptive parent training must be provided to and successfully completed by all prospective 
adoptive parents, except licensed foster parents and relative and nonrelative caregivers who have previously 
attended the training within the last 5 years or have the child currently placed in their home for 6 months or 
longer and been determined to understand the challenges and parenting skills needed to parent the children 
available for adoption from foster care successfully. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 63.092; Admin. Code § 65C-16.005

A minor may not be placed in a home in which there resides any person determined by the court to be a sexual 
predator or to have been convicted of an offense listed in § 63.089(4)(b)2, including child abuse, murder, or 
sexual battery.

In regulation: An application may be denied when any of the following issues are present:
 � The adoptive applicant is experiencing a serious or chronic medical condition that compromises or could 

compromise the applicant's ability to provide the physical, emotional, social, and economic support 
necessary for the child to thrive.
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 � The child abuse records check reveals verified findings of abuse, neglect, or abandonment.
 � The criminal history checks reveal that the applicant has been convicted of crimes specified in statute as a 

disqualifying condition.
 � The applicant is a current or former foster parent, and the review of the foster parent file reveals that there 

have been care and supervision concerns or a violation of licensing standards.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 63.092

The preliminary home study must be made to determine the suitability of the intended adoptive parents and 
may be completed before identification of a prospective adoptive minor. If the identified prospective adoptive 
minor is in the custody of the department, a preliminary home study must be completed within 30 days after it 
is initiated. A favorable preliminary home study is valid for 1 year after the date of its completion.

A minor may not be placed in an intended adoptive home before a favorable preliminary home study is 
completed unless the adoptive home is also a licensed foster home under § 409.175.

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Code § 65C-16.010 

The department has a legal responsibility to provide services until the finalization of an adoption. This period 
shall be no less than 90 days from the date the child was placed in the physical custody of the adoptive 
parent. The first home visit must be made within 1 week after placement. There shall be a minimum of three 
supervisory visits in placements that are nonproblematic. For placements that do not proceed smoothly, 
additional and more frequent contacts are necessary. The adoptive child must be contacted a minimum of once 
every calendar month until adoption finalization. The entire family must be seen together at least once during 
the postplacement supervision period. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 63.092; 63.112

If the adoptee is an adult or the petitioner is a stepparent or a relative, a preliminary home study may be 
required by the court for good cause shown. 

Unless ordered by the court, no report or recommendation is required when the placement is a stepparent 
adoption or when the minor is a relative of one of the adoptive parents. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 409.401; Admin. Code § 65C-16.005 

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

In regulation: Families from other States wishing to adopt Florida children may apply and be studied by an 
agency authorized or licensed to practice adoption in their State of residence. Out-of-State placements will be 
facilitated through established regional or national adoption exchanges or directly with out-of-State agencies 
and will comply with the requirements of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children. 
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Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 65C-16.002; 65C-16.005

If the current caregiver applies to adopt the child, the application must be evaluated through an adoptive home 
study. The home study must assess the length of time the child has lived with the current caregiver, the depth 
of the relationship existing between the child and the caregiver, and whether it is in the best interest of the 
child to be adopted by the caregiver.  

The approved adoptive parent training must be provided to and successfully completed by all prospective 
adoptive parents, except licensed foster parents and relative and nonrelative caregivers who have previously 
attended the training within the last 5 years or have the child currently placed in their home for 6 months or 
longer and been determined to understand the challenges and parenting skills needed to parent the children 
available for adoption from foster care successfully.

Links to Resources

Explore Adoption [website] (Florida Department of Children and Families)

State regulations 

GEORGIA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Rules & Regs. r. 290-9-2-.06(3)

The adoptive family must be evaluated in a home study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rules & Regs. r. 290-9-2-.06(3)

The home study shall be completed by the adoption agency. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Code § 19-8-3

Any individual may petition to adopt a child if he or she meets the following criteria:   
 � Is at least age 25, is married and living with his or her spouse, or is at least age 21 and is a relative of the child   
 � Is at least 10 years older than the child, except when the petitioner is a stepparent or relative 
 � Is a bona fide resident of this State at the filing of the petition for adoption or is a bona fide resident of the 

receiving State when the adoptee was born in this State and was placed in compliance with the Interstate 
Compact on the Placement of Children   

 � Is financially, physically, and mentally able to have permanent custody of the child   

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rules & Regs. r. 290-9-2-.06(3)

The home study shall include at least three visits on separate days. At least one visit shall be in the home, and 
the applicant and all other family members shall be seen and interviewed. Prospective adoptive parents shall be 
interviewed together as well as separately.

http://www.adoptflorida.org/
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=65C-16
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The study shall include at least the following information concerning the prospective adoptive family:
 � Motivation to adopt
 � Physical description and social background of each family member
 � Evaluation of parenting practices
 � Summary of health history and condition of each family member
 � Informal assessment of the emotional and mental health of each family member 
 � Evaluation of the understanding of and adjustment to adoptive parenting
 � Evaluation of the prospective adoptive parent(s)' finances and occupation
 � Description of the home and community, including the following:

 – Whether all firearms in the home are locked away from children  
 – Whether smoke alarms are present and functioning on each level in the home  
 – Availability of community resources, including accessibility of schools, religious institutions, recreation, 

and medical facilities
 � Statements regarding the results of a criminal records check and a check of the child abuse and neglect 

registry
 � Minimum of three character references, as follows:

 – At least one reference must be from an extended family member not residing with the prospective 
adoptive family.

 – If a prospective adoptive parent(s) has worked with children in the past 5 years, a reference must be 
obtained from the former employer(s) for that work experience.

Grounds for Withholding Approval

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Rules & Regs. r. 290-9-2-.06(3)

The agency shall make a written evaluation, or study, of each prospective adoptive family prior to the placement 
of a child in the home. If the applicant is approved, the required information shall be kept current, with 
modifications made as necessary if changes occur, until a placement is made.   

A home study may be updated in lieu of completion of an entirely new home study. At a minimum, a home 
study update must include at least one home visit, the applicant's current employment status, updated medical 
reports, changes in family composition, and any changes in types of children requested. 

When a family is approved for an adoption placement by a Georgia agency and a child has not been placed with 
the family within 1 year of the date of the approval, there shall be documentation annually of the reason(s) a 
placement has not been made, and a home study update shall be completed prior to a placement being made.  

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Rules & Regs. r. 290-9-2-.06(7)

The agency caseworker shall make at least two home visits after the placement of the child and prior to the 
filing of the petition for adoption, as follows:
 � The first home visit may be made at any time after the placement of the child.
 � There shall be a minimum of 2 weeks between the required home visits for a child age 12 months or younger.
 � There shall be a minimum of 30 days between the required home visits for a child older than 12 months.
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Home visits shall be made with the prospective adoptive family at least once a month prior to the filing 
of a petition for adoption to verify that the prospective parent(s) are delivering care in a safe and healthy 
environment to the children in accordance with these rules and regulations and relevant agency policies and 
procedures. Such visits shall include observation of the child and at least one prospective adoptive parent in the 
home. 

If a petition for adoption is not granted within 90 days after filing, the agency shall make additional home visits 
at least quarterly until a final order has been entered on the petition.  

Documentation of home visits will be maintained in the case files of both the prospective adoptive parents and 
the child. Documentation of home visits should include, but not be limited to, a summary of the entire family's 
adjustment to the prospective adoptive placement, any problem or issue that has arisen, and the resolution of 
the problem or issue.  

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code § 19-8-3

Any individual may petition to adopt a child if he or she meets the following criteria:   
 � Is at least age 21 and is a relative of the child   
 � Is at least 10 years older than the child, except when the petitioner is a stepparent or relative
 � Is financially, physically, and mentally able to have permanent custody of the child  

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 39-4-4; Rules & Regs. r. 290-9-2-.06(7)

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child.

In regulation: In an interstate adoption placement where Georgia is the State of origin, the requirements for 
services following an adoption placement may be met by fulfilling the requirements of the receiving State. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Rules & Regs. r. 290-9-2-.06(7)

When foster parent(s) are adopting their foster child, the foster parents may proceed with the filing of the 
petition prior to any home visits. 

Links to Resources

The Adoption Process [webpage] (Georgia Department of Human Services, Division of Family and Children 
Services)

State regulations 

http://dfcs.dhr.georgia.gov/portal/site/DHS-DFCS/menuitem.76e501556de17147077a8110da1010a0/?vgnextoid=de8a2b48d9a4ff00VgnVCM100000bf01010aRCRD
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/gac/290-9-2-.06
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GUAM

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Rules Tit. 26, § 1312

The applicant and all members of the applicant's family will be included in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Admin. Rules Tit. 26, § 1312

The department or agency shall conduct the home study. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Rules Tit. 26, § 1307 

Any individual may apply to be an adoptive parent. There shall be no discrimination against applicants because 
of ethnicity, sex, marital status, or lifestyle. However, applicants must be at least age 18 and 10 years older than 
the prospective adoptive child. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Admin. Rules Tit. 26, § 1312

The applicants must submit the following documents, where applicable:
 � Copies of birth certificates, marriage certificates, and divorce decrees
 � Employment verification
 � A financial statement, including income, savings, assets, expenses, and insurance
 � The results of physical examinations
 � References from two nonrelatives
 � Police clearance from the place of current or previous residence

The study shall include the following:
 � Background of the applicant, including education, childhood history, and family relationships
 � Motivation for adoption
 � Condition and suitability of the applicant's home
 � Religious affiliation, if any

Grounds for Withholding Approval

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 19, § 4210; Admin. Rules Tit. 26, §§ 1307, 1312

Upon the filing of an adoption petition, the court shall direct that a social study be made by the department. 

In regulation: Once applications are submitted, no further contact is made unless, upon review of the 
application, clarification is needed regarding points on the application or if the applicant is considered one 
of the three applicants preselected for a prospective adoptive child. A preadoption home study will then be 
conducted on these applicants.
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When the court orders a social study, the department will request the court to have a 45-day period to submit 
completed home studies unless specified in the court order. Extensions may be requested by the department if 
necessary. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Rules Tit. 26, § 1311

After the child is placed in an adoptive home, there shall be a supervisory period of up to 1 year prior to the 
consummation of the adoption during which time the department shall give supportive assistance to the 
adoptive parents in adjusting to the child and integrating the child into the family. It will consist of scheduled 
visits, at least quarterly, in which the worker will monitor the child's and family's adjustment to each other. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Rules Tit. 26 § 1310 

Adoption of a child in foster care by the foster parents will be considered by the agency under the following 
conditions:
 � The Adoption Selection Committee determines this is in the best interests of the child.
 � The child has lived in the foster home for at least 1 year and has developed ties with the family, or the child 

is 'hard to place' because of age, racial background, physical or mental handicap, questionable health or 
social background, etc. and the foster parents are willing to adopt the child, having prior knowledge of these 
factors.

The foster home shall then be reevaluated in terms of adoption. The evaluation shall include the following:
 � The foster parents' feelings about adopting a child whose whereabouts are known to the natural parents
 � Their capacity to give security to the child under those circumstances

Links to Resources

Territory regulations 

HAWAII

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 346-19.7

The prospective adoptive parents or any adult residing in the prospective adoptive home shall be included in 
the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 346-19.7

The Department of Human Services is responsible for conducting the study. The department may authorize 
or contract the home studies of prospective adoptive parents for children under the department's custody to 
experienced social workers with specialized adoption experience. 

http://www.guamcourts.org/CompilerofLaws/GAR/26GAR/26GAR001-1C.pdf
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Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 346-19.7

Any person who seeks to become an adoptive parent, including all adults residing in the prospective adoptive 
home, shall be subject to the following:
 � Meet all standards and requirements established by the department
 � Be subject to criminal history record checks and child abuse and neglect registry checks

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 346-19.7

The department shall develop standards to ensure the reputable and responsible character of prospective 
adoptive parents as defined in this chapter.

The department shall develop procedures for obtaining verifiable information regarding the criminal history 
and child abuse and neglect registry information of persons who are seeking to become adoptive parents. 
The department or its designee shall obtain criminal history record information through the Hawaii criminal 
justice data center and child abuse record information from the department in accordance with departmental 
procedures. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 346-19.7

The department may deny a person's application to adopt a child if either of the prospective adoptive parents 
or any adult residing in the prospective adoptive home was convicted of an offense for which incarceration is 
a sentencing option and if the department finds by reason of the nature and circumstances of the crime that 
either of the prospective adoptive parents, or any adult residing in the prospective adoptive home, poses a risk 
to the health, safety, or well-being of the child.

The department may deny a person's application to adopt a child if either of the prospective adoptive parents 
or any adult residing in the prospective adoptive home has a history of confirmed child abuse or neglect, or 
both, revealed by the child abuse and neglect registry check and if the department finds by reason of the nature 
and circumstances of the abuse or neglect, or both, that either of the prospective adoptive parents or any adult 
residing in the prospective adoptive home poses a risk to the health, safety, or well-being of the child. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 578-8 

The court may enter a decree of adoption if it is satisfied that the petitioners are fit and proper persons, that 
they are financially able to give the individual a proper home and education, and that the adoption will be for 
the best interests of the child. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 578-9 

During the period, if any, between the entry of the adoption decree and the effective date of adoption, the 
decree may provide for the supervision and visitation of the minor child by the director of human services or 
the director's agent during that period and for any reports in connection with that supervision as the court may 
require. 
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Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 350E-1

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

State regulations (see § 17-1610-43, Adoption Services) 

IDAHO

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Code § 16-1506 

The investigation must include the prospective adoptive family and all of its members. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 16-1506 

The social investigation may be performed by any individual who meets the requirements of the law. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Code § 16-1502 

The person adopting a child must be at least 15 years older than the adoptee or age 25 or older. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 16.06.01.750, 762; 16.05.06.100

Each adoptive applicant must provide a medical statement, signed by a qualified medical professional, within 
the 12-month period prior to the application for adoption indicating that the applicant's physical and mental 
health will not adversely affect either the health or quality of care of the adopted child.

Adoption home studies must include an assessment of the following:
 � Verification that the adopting person is at least 15 years older than the child or age 25 or older, except in 

stepparent adoptions
 � Verification that the family has resided and maintained a dwelling within the State of Idaho for at least 6 

consecutive months
 � The adequacy of the family's house, property, and neighborhood 

http://humanservices.hawaii.gov/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/17-1610-Final-12-9-10.pdf
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 � The applicant's educational background, employment, family income, and financial resources
 � Previous criminal convictions and history of child abuse and neglect
 � Family history and verification of marriages and divorces
 � The names and ages of all biological and adopted children
 � The religious and cultural practices of the family
 � For an Indian child, the prevailing social and cultural standards of the Indian community in which the parent 

or extended family resides or maintains social and cultural ties
 � Individual and family functioning
 � Activities, interests, and hobbies 
 � Child care and parenting skills, including methods of discipline used in the home
 � Reasons for applying for adoption
 � The family's prior and current experiences with and attitudes toward adoption
 � Type of child preferred by the family
 � Emotional stability and maturity 
 � The family's attitude about an adopted child's birth family
 � Training needs of the applicant

All persons applying to the department or petitioning the court to be an adoptive parent and all adults in the 
home, except stepparents applying for adoption of a stepchild, are required to complete a fingerprint-based 
criminal history and background check. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 16.06.01.750; 16.05.06.210 

Following an initial interview, an applicant who does not appear to meet the department's requirements may be 
denied a full home study.

An applicant will not be approved as an adoptive parent when the person discloses or the criminal history and 
background check reveals a conviction for a disqualifying crime on his or her record for any of the crimes listed 
in regulation. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Code § 16-1506; Admin. Code §§ 16.06.01.762, 764, 771

A thorough home study must be completed prior to the placement of any child in the home of prospective 
adoptive parents. Once initiated, all studies shall be completed within 60 days. 

In regulation: The home study must be completed prior to placement of any child for adoption in that home.

Upon application by a potential adoptive family, the family services worker will conduct the preplacement 
adoptive home study and issue the verification of positive recommendation where appropriate. The home study 
must be completed prior to placement of any child for adoption in that home. 

An adoptive home study must be updated on an annual basis. A current home study is defined as a home study 
completed within the previous 12 months. 
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Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 16.06.01.860; 16.06.01.861

Following the adoptive placement, a period of support and supervision by the department lasting at least 6 
months must be completed prior to the finalization of the adoption. In situations where a foster family has a 
significant relationship with a child and the child has been placed in their home for at least the past 6 months, 
the supervisory period may be reduced to a minimum of 3 months. The family services worker will make 
scheduled visits to the home at least monthly during this period to assist the child and the family in their 
adjustment to each other and will update the child's permanent record by means of monthly progress reports.

Progress reports must be made at intervals not to exceed 30 days. These reports will include the family services 
worker's observation of each child and the prospective adopting parent(s), with emphasis on the following:
 � The special needs or circumstances of each child at the time of placement
 � Services provided to each child and the family during the report period
 � Services to be provided to each child and the family 
 � General appearance and adjustment of each child, including eating, sleep patterns, responsiveness, and 

bonding 
 � Adjustment of each child to all of the following that apply: school, day care, and day treatment programs
 � Health and developmental progress
 � Whether each child has been accepted for coverage on the family's medical insurance, when coverage begins, 

and whether there will be any limitations or exclusions
 � The family's adjustment to adoptive placement
 � Adoption assistance negotiations
 � Changes in family situation or circumstances
 � Areas of concern during the report period as addressed by each child and the adoptive parent(s)

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 16-1502; 16-1506 

Age restrictions or requirements do not apply when the adopting parent is a spouse of a natural parent. 

When the prospective adoptive parent is married to the birth parent or is the grandparent of the adoptee, the 
social investigation shall be completed with regard to the prospective adoptive parent only upon order of the 
court. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 16-2102; Admin. Code § 16.06.01.030

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child.

In regulation: When necessary to encourage all possible positive contacts with family, including extended 
family, placement with family members or others who are outside the State of Idaho will be considered. On very 
rare occasions, the department may contract with an out-of-State residential facility if it best serves the needs 
of the child and is at a comparable cost to facilities within Idaho. When out-of-State placement is considered 
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in the permanency planning for a child, such placement will be coordinated with the respective interstate 
compact administrator according to the provisions of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children. 
Placements must comply with all State and Federal laws. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Code § 16.06.01.790 

The procedure and requirements are the same for all adoptive applicants. This includes foster parents who 
want to be considered as adoptive parents for a child who has a plan of adoption. These requirements include 
compliance with the Indian Child Welfare Act, the Multi-Ethnic Placement Act of 1994, and the Interethnic 
Adoption Provisions of 1996. 

Links to Resources

About Adoption Through Foster Care [webpage] (Idaho Department of Health and Welfare)

State regulations 

ILLINOIS

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 89, § 402.4

Each applicant and adult member of the applicant's household shall be included in the investigation. In addition, 
members of the household ages 13 through 17 must authorize a check of the child abuse and neglect registry 
and the child sex offender registry. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Comp. Stat. Ch. 750, § 50/6 

The court shall appoint a child welfare agency approved by the Department of Children and Family Services 
or a person deemed competent by the court to conduct the investigation. In Cook County, the Court Services 
Division of the Cook County Department of Public Aid or the Department of Children and Family Services may 
be appointed if the court determines that no child welfare agency is available or that the petitioner is financially 
unable to pay for the investigation. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 89, §§ 309.105; 309.130 

A person seeking to adopt must meet the following criteria:
 � Have resided in the State of Illinois continuously for a period of at least 6 months immediately preceding the 

commencement of an adoption proceeding or be a member of the armed forces of the United States who has 
been domiciled in the State for 90 days

 � Be a reputable person of legal age and of either sex

The child's needs and best interests shall be the primary consideration when selecting an adoptive family for a 
child. The factors to be considered shall include, but are not limited to, the following:   
 � The wishes of the child under age 14 who demonstrates the maturity and cognitive ability to participate in 

the decision   
 � The physical, mental, and emotional needs of the child   

https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Children/AdoptionFosterCareHome/Adoption/tabid/1911/Default.aspx
https://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/16/160601.pdf
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 � The child's need for stability and continuity of relationship with parent figures   
 � The interaction between the child and the prospective adoptive parent   
 � The prospective adoptive parent's ability to meet the physical, mental, and emotional needs of the child   
 � The prospective adoptive parent's ability and willingness to support, maintain, and continue to be sensitive 

to the child's significant relationships with the child's extended family, siblings, and any other significant 
persons who played an important part in the child's life or to whom the child has established significant 
emotional ties   

 � The prospective adoptive family's willingness to help and support the child in developing a relationship with 
his or her siblings, including siblings with whom the child does not yet have a relationship, and recognition 
of the value of preserving family ties between the child and his or her siblings, including the child's need 
for stability and continuity of relationships with siblings and the importance of sibling contact in the 
development of the child's identity

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Comp. Stat. Ch. 750, § 50/6; Admin. Code Tit. 89, §§ 402.28; 309.110 

The study shall investigate accurately, fully, and promptly the character, reputation, health, and general 
standing in the community of the petitioners; the religious faith of the petitioners and, if ascertainable, 
of the child sought to be adopted; and whether the petitioners are proper persons to adopt the child and 
whether the child is a proper subject of adoption. The investigation required shall include a fingerprint-based 
criminal background check with a review of fingerprints by the Illinois State Police and the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation. The criminal background check shall not be more than 2 years old. 

In regulation: An adoptive home shall be licensed as a foster family home before placement of an unrelated child 
for adoption. 

The certification process for a prospective adoptive parent includes completion of the required certification 
training and an assessment that includes a written home study that incorporates information from the 
assessment phase and includes a recommendation regarding the types of children the family is able to parent 
that has been approved by the department or adoption agency supervisor.

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 89, § 402, Appx. A

Final approval for licensure shall not be granted if the record check reveals a felony conviction for child abuse 
or neglect; for spousal abuse; for a crime against children; or for a crime involving violence, including rape, 
sexual assault or homicide, but not including other physical assault or battery; or if there is a felony conviction 
for physical assault, battery, or a drug-related offense committed within the past 5 years. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Comp. Stat. Ch. 750, § 50/6 

The court will order an investigation within 10 days after the filing of a petition for the adoption of a child other 
than a related child. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 89, § 309.160 

Postplacement services are provided to the child and adoptive family from the date of placement of the child in 
the adoptive home to the date of finalization of the adoption for the purpose of the following:

 � Continuing the activities around the preparation of the child for adoption
 � Ensuring the health and safety of the child
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 � Ensuring successful integration of the child in the adoptive home
 � Providing continuing support and placement stabilization in order to minimize the risk of placement 

disruption 
 � Facilitating adoption finalization

The department or adoption agency will continue to assess the child and family after placement has occurred 
to ensure that all existing and potential needs have been identified and appropriate support services are in 
place prior to finalization. The services provided by the department or adoption agency will be related to the 
needs of the adoptive family and the special needs of the adopted child, particularly if the child is older; has 
medical conditions; has physical, mental, or emotional disabilities; or is of a different ethnic, racial, or cultural 
background than the adoptive family. The assessment will explore the level of attachment occurring within the 
adoptive family and will utilize specific activities designed to promote and enhance attachment.

Information relating to the finalization of the adoption is provided to the family, and efforts are directed 
toward completing all necessary reports required prior to finalization. The department or adoption agency 
will schedule regular in-person contacts with the family and child following placement until the adoption is 
finalized. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Comp. Stat. Ch. 750, § 50/6; Admin. Code Tit. 89, § 309.105

An investigation of an adoption petition shall not be made when the petition seeks to adopt a related child or an 
adult unless the court, in its discretion, shall so order. In such an event, the court may appoint a person deemed 
competent by the court. 

In regulation: The residence requirement shall not apply to an adoption of a related child or to an adoption of a 
child placed by an agency. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Comp. Stat. Ch. 45, § 15/1

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Comp. Stat. Ch. 750, § 50/15.1; Admin. Code Tit. 89, § 309.130

Any person age 18 or older who has cared for a child for a continuous period of 1 year or more as a foster 
parent may apply to the child's guardian for the guardian's consent to adopt the child. The guardian shall give 
preference and first consideration to that application over all other applications for adoption of the child, but 
the guardian's final decision shall be based on the welfare and best interests of the child. In arriving at this 
decision, the guardian shall consider all relevant factors, including, but not limited to, the following:

 � The wishes of the child
 � The interaction and interrelationship of the child with the applicant to adopt the child
 � The child's need for stability and continuity of relationship with parent figures
 � The wishes of the child's parent as expressed in writing prior to that parent's execution of a consent to 

adoption
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 � The child's adjustment to his or her present home, school, and community
 � The mental and physical health of all individuals involved
 � The family ties between the child and the applicant and the value of preserving family ties between the child 

and the child's relatives, including siblings
 � The background, age, and living arrangements of the applicant 
 � The criminal background check report presented to the court as part of the required investigation

The final determination of the propriety of the adoption shall be within the sole discretion of the court. 

In regulation: In accordance with the Adoption Act, licensed foster parents who have cared for a child for a 
continuous period of 1 year or more shall be given preference and first consideration over all other applicants 
for the adoption of that child in their home when adoption is the permanency goal, the child is legally free for 
adoption, and adoption is in the child's best interests.

Links to Resources

State regulations

INDIANA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Code § 31-19-7-1

All adult members of the prospective adoptive family must be studied. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 31-19-8-5

The study shall be completed by either a licensed child-placing agency or the local Office of Family and 
Children. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 31-19-2-2; 31-19-2-3

A resident of Indiana may adopt a child. A hard-to-place child may be adopted by a nonresident. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 31-19-8-6; 31-9-2-22.5 

The report required must address the suitability of the proposed home for the child. The report may not 
contain any information concerning the financial condition of the adoptive parents. The results of a criminal 
history check must accompany the report.

A criminal history check shall include the following:
 � An inspection by the State police department of juvenile history data concerning a person who is at least age 

14 who is residing in the applicant's household
 � A fingerprint-based criminal history background check of both national and State records databases 

concerning a person who is at least age 18 residing in the home 
 � A check for substantiated reports of child abuse or neglect reported in any jurisdiction where a household 

member has resided within the previous 5 years

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/089/08900309sections.html
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 � Conduct a check of the national sex offender registry maintained by the U.S. Department of Justice for all 
persons who are at least age 14

 � Conduct a check of local criminal records in every jurisdiction in which a person who is at least age 18 has 
resided within the previous 5 years, unless the Department of Child Services or a court grants an exception 
to conducting this check

Grounds for Withholding Approval

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Code § 31-19-8-5

When a petition for adoption is made to the court, the court shall refer the case to the appropriate agency for 
an investigation. No more than 60 days from the date of the referral, the agency shall submit to the court a 
written report of the investigation and a recommendation as to the advisability of the adoption. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 31-19-8-1; 31-19-8-2

Before an adoption may be granted in Indiana, the adoptive family must complete a period of postplacement 
supervision. The supervision will be provided by either a licensed child-placing agency for a child who has 
not been adjudicated to be a child in need of services or by the Department of Child Services if the child is the 
subject of an open child in need of services action. The length of the period of supervision is within the sole 
discretion of the court hearing the petition for adoption. The requirement for postplacement supervision does 
not apply to an adoption by a stepparent or grandparent of the child.

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code § 31-19-8-5

A court hearing a petition for adoption of a child may waive the investigation and report if one of the petitioners 
is a stepparent or grandparent of the child and the court waives the period of supervision. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 31-28-4-1

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children. The child shall not be sent, brought, or caused to be sent or brought into the 
receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving State notifies the sending agency, in 
writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

Frequently Asked Questions (Indiana Department of Child Services)

Indiana Child Welfare Policy Manual, Chapter 10, Adoption (Indiana Department of Child Services)

http://www.in.gov/dcs/2744.htm
http://www.in.gov/dcs/2531.htm
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IOWA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code § 441-107.8(600)

The preplacement investigation shall include the applicants for adoption and each member of the applicants' 
household. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 600.8 

The Department of Human Services, an agency, or a certified adoption investigator shall complete all required 
investigations and reports, including the postplacement investigation. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 600.4

A petition to adopt a child may be filed by any unmarried adult or a husband and wife together. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 600.8; Admin. Code § 441-107.8(600) 

A preplacement investigation shall answer the following:
 � Whether the petitioner's home is suitable for a child
 � How the petitioner's emotional maturity, finances, health, relationships, and any other relevant factor may 

affect his or her ability to accept, care for, and provide a child with an adequate environment 
 � Whether the petitioner has been convicted of a crime in any State or has a record of founded child abuse

The investigation shall include an examination of the criminal and child abuse records of the petitioner, 
including the following:
 � Criminal, child abuse, and sex offender registries maintained by the State
 � Child abuse registries maintained by any other State in which the applicant has resided during the previous 5 

years
 � National biometric identification-based criminal records

In regulation: The investigation shall include at a minimum two contacts, one face-to-face interview with the 
applicants and each member of the household, and at least one home visit. The assessment shall include the 
following:
 � Motivation for adoption
 � The family's attitude toward accepting an adopted child 
 � Emotional stability and marital history
 � Ability to cope with problems, stress, frustrations, crises, separation, and loss
 � Medical, mental, or emotional conditions that would affect the applicant's ability to parent a child 
 � Ability to provide for the child's physical and emotional needs and to respect the child's cultural and religious 

identity
 � Adjustment of birth children and previously adopted children
 � Capacity to give and receive affection
 � Statements from at least three references provided by the family and other unsolicited references
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 � Income information
 � Disciplinary practices
 � History of abuse by family members
 � Assessment of the capacity to maintain other significant relationships
 � Substance use or abuse by family members and treatment

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 600.8; Admin. Code § 441-107.8(600)

A prospective adoption petitioner shall not be approved if the petitioner has been convicted of any of the 
following felony offenses:
 � A drug-related offense within the 5-year period preceding the petition date
 � Child endangerment or neglect or abandonment of a dependent person
 � Domestic abuse
 � A crime against a child, including but not limited to, sexual exploitation of a minor
 � A forcible felony

The person making the investigation shall not approve a prospective adoption petitioner unless an evaluation 
has been made that considers the nature and seriousness of the crime or founded abuse in relation to the 
adoption, the time elapsed since the commission of the crime or founded abuse, the circumstances under 
which the crime or founded abuse was committed, the degree of rehabilitation, and the number of crimes or 
founded abuse committed by the person involved.

In regulation: If there is a record of founded child abuse or a criminal conviction for the applicant or any other 
adult living in the home of the applicant, the applicant shall not be approved to adopt unless an evaluation 
determines that the abuse or criminal conviction does not warrant prohibition of approval. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 600.8; Admin. Code § 441-107.8(600) 

The postplacement report shall be completed and filed with the court prior to the holding of the adoption 
hearing. A copy of the background information investigation report shall be furnished to the adoption 
petitioners within 30 days after the filing of the adoption petition. 

The person making the investigation shall complete the preplacement investigation and report and approve 
the prospective adoption petitioner for a placement prior to any agency or independent placement of a child in 
the petitioner's home in anticipation of an ensuing adoption. A report of a preplacement investigation that has 
approved a prospective adoption petitioner for a placement shall not authorize placement of a minor person 
with that petitioner after 2 years from the date of the report's issuance. 

In regulation: For the home study to remain valid, an update shall be completed no later than 24 months from 
the previous home study. The home study update shall include the following:  
 � The child abuse and criminal history record checks, except for national criminal history checks, shall be 

repeated. 
 � One face-to-face visit shall be conducted with the approved family annually.  
 � The information in the approved home study shall be reviewed.  
 � An updated report of the adoptive home study shall be written, dated, signed, and notarized, and a copy will 

be provided to the applicant.  
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The certified adoption investigator shall complete a minimum of one visit each year in the homes of families 
approved to adopt. The visit shall include, but not be limited to, an assessment of the following areas:  
 � Home environment  
 � Persons present at the time of the visit  
 � Changes in the home or household members or other areas addressed in the home study  

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 600.8; Admin. Code § 441-107.8(600)

A postplacement investigation and a report of this investigation shall do the following:
 � Verify the allegations of the adoption petition and its attachments 
 � Evaluate the progress of the placement of the adoptee
 � Determine whether adoption by the adoption petitioner is in the best interests of the adoptee

In regulation: When an adoption investigator completes postplacement supervision, at least three visits to 
the adoptive family's home and personal observation of the child are required. Postplacement reports are 
to be written after each postplacement visit, with copies kept in the permanent family file retained by the 
investigator. 

Postplacement supervision should assess the placement in the following areas:
 � Integration and interaction of the child with the family
 � Changes and adjustments that have been made in the family since the child's placement 
 � Social, emotional, and school adjustment of the child
 � The family's method of dealing with testing behaviors and discipline
 � The degree to which the child is bonding and becoming a permanent member of the adoptive family 
 � The behavioral, psychological, and mental health needs of the child 
 � Services and supports that will assist the family

Postplacement visits shall be completed, at a minimum, as follows:
 � One no later than 30 days after placement
 � One no later than 90 days after placement
 � A final visit prior to requesting a consent to adopt, no later than 180 days after placement

Postplacement visits shall be completed as often as necessary if the adoptive family is experiencing problems, 
and the visits may extend to finalization or beyond 180 days if additional time is needed. A report based on the 
postplacement visits with recommendations regarding the finalization of the adoption shall be submitted to the 
court. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 600.8 

Any investigation or report required under this section shall not apply when the adoptee is an adult or when 
the adoption petitioner is a stepparent of the adoptee. However, in the case of a stepparent adoption, the court 
may order an investigation. Additionally, if an adoption petitioner discloses a criminal conviction or deferred 
judgment for an offense other than a simple misdemeanor or founded child abuse report, the petitioner shall 
notify the court of the inclusion of this information in the petition prior to the final adoption hearing, and the 
court shall make a specific ruling regarding whether to waive any investigation.
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The preplacement investigation and report may be waived by the court if the adoption petitioner is related 
within the fourth degree of consanguinity to the adoptee. However, if an adoption petitioner discloses a 
criminal conviction or deferred judgment for an offense other than a simple misdemeanor or founded child 
abuse report, the petitioner shall notify the court of the inclusion of this information in the petition prior to the 
final adoption hearing, and the court shall make a specific ruling regarding whether to waive any investigation 
or report. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 600.8 

In the case of the adoption of a child by a person domiciled or residing in any other jurisdiction of the United 
States, any investigation or report required under this section that has been conducted pursuant to the 
standards of that other jurisdiction shall be recognized in this State.

The department or an agency or investigator may conduct any investigations required for an interstate or 
interagency placement. Any interstate investigations or placements shall follow the procedures and regulations 
under the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children. Such investigations and placements shall comply 
with the laws of the States involved. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

State regulations 

KANSAS

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Regs. § 28-4-176

Each member of the prospective adoptive family must be included in the home study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 59-2132 

In independent and agency adoptions, the court shall require the petitioner to obtain an assessment of the 
advisability of the adoption by one of the following court-approved licensed professionals:
 � Social worker
 � Marriage and family therapist
 � Professional counselor 
 � Psychologist or psychotherapist
 � Child-placing agency

The person performing an assessment shall possess a minimum of 2 years of experience in adoption services 
or be supervised by a person with such experience or, if licensed by the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board 
to diagnose and treat mental disorders in independent practice, possess a minimum of 1 year of experience in 
adoption services or be supervised by a person with such experience.

If there is no one authorized pursuant to this section available to make the assessment and report to the court, 
the court may use the Kansas Department for Children and Families for that purpose. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/12-10-2014.441.107.8.pdf
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Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 59-2113; Admin. Regs. § 28-4-176

A petition to adopt a child may be filed by any adult or a married adult couple jointly. 

In regulation: The agency shall provide orientation to prospective adoptive parents to acquaint them with the 
agency's policies and practices, the approximate time the assessment will take, eligibility standards, the types of 
children available, and the availability of a subsidy. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 59-2132; Admin. Regs. § 28-4-176

In making the assessment, the investigator is authorized to do the following:
 � Observe the child in the petitioner's home
 � Verify the financial information of the petitioner
 � Clear the name of the petitioner with the child abuse and neglect registry and, when appropriate, with a 

similar registry in another State or nation
 � Determine whether the petitioner has been convicted of a felony (as later described)
 � Clarify any genetic and medical history filed with the petition

In regulation: The agency shall require prospective adoptive parents to submit an application that shall be 
designed to obtain information about their family, their home, their financial status, and references to initiate 
a home study. The agency shall conduct a social study with the family in their home. The study process shall 
include a face-to-face interview with each member of the household. The agency shall have on file a written 
assessment of the adoptive home that shall assess the following areas:
 � Motivation for adoption
 � The family's attitude toward accepting an adoptive child 
 � Emotional stability, physical health, and compatibility of the adoptive parents
 � Ability to cope with problems, stress, frustrations, crises, and loss
 � Information on medical or health conditions that would affect the applicant's ability to parent a child
 � Record of convictions other than minor traffic violations
 � Ability to provide for a child's physical and emotional needs
 � Adjustment of the petitioners' own children, if any, including their school reports
 � Positive feelings about parenting an adoptive child
 � Capacity to give and receive affection
 � Types of children desired and kinds of handicaps accepted
 � Types of children who would not be appropriate for placement with the family
 � References
 � Recommendations for number, age, sex, characteristics, and special needs of children best served by the 

family

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 59-2132 

In making the assessment, the investigator shall determine whether the petitioner has been convicted of a 
felony for any act described in chapter 21, articles 54 (crimes against persons, including murder, manslaughter, 
assault, battery, or kidnapping); 55 (sex offenses, including rape, sexual battery, or sexual exploitation of a child); 
or 56 (crimes affecting family relationships or children, including incest, abuse, abandonment, or endangerment 
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of a child); § 21-6104 (unlawful disclosure of tax information); §§ 21-6325 and 21-6326 (unlawful interference 
with a firefighter or emergency medical services attendant); § 21-6418 (permitting a dangerous animal to be 
at large); §§ 21-6419 through 21-6421 (selling, promoting the sale, or buying of sexual relations); and § 21-6422 
(commercial sexual exploitation of a child) or within the past 5 years been convicted of a felony violation of 
chapter 21, article 57 (crimes involving controlled substances) or any felony violation of any provision of the 
Uniform Controlled Substances Act prior to July 1, 2009, and, when appropriate, any similar conviction in 
another jurisdiction. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 59-2132 

The assessment and report required by this section shall have been completed no more than 1 year prior to the 
filing of the petition for adoption. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Regs. § 28-4-176

The agency worker shall establish a time schedule for visits to the adoptive family after the placement of a child 
in order to be able to make clear recommendations for the finalization of the adoption. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 59-2132 

The assessment and report required by this section may be waived by the court upon review of a petition 
requesting such waiver by a relative of the child. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 59-2120; 59-2132 

Interstate placements of children shall comply with the procedures contained in the Interstate Compact on 
Placement of Children, as set forth in § 38-1202. 

In the case of a nonresident who is filing a petition to adopt a child in Kansas, the assessment and report 
required by this section must be completed in the petitioner's State of residence by a person authorized in that 
State to conduct such assessments.  

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

State regulations  

KENTUCKY

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Regs. Tit. 922, § 1:010

The study must include the proposed adoptive parent(s) and members of the household. 

https://sos.ks.gov/publications/pubs_kar_Regs.aspx?KAR=28-4-176
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 199.473

The Cabinet for Health and Family Services shall conduct the home study for an applicant whose total gross 
income is equal to or less than 250 percent of the Federal poverty level guidelines unless the applicant submits 
a written request for the home study to be conducted by a licensed child-placing agency. 

A licensed child-placing agency approved to provide adoption services shall conduct the home study for an 
applicant whose gross total income is more than 250 percent of the Federal poverty level guidelines. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 199.470; 199.475; Admin. Regs. Tit. 922, § 1:350

An adoption petition may be filed by any person who is age 18 or older who is a resident of the State or who has 
resided in the State for 12 months prior to filing the petition.

Any person who has been a resident of any U.S. Army post, military reservation, or fort within Kentucky for 60 
days may file a petition for adoption of a child in any county adjacent to the army post or military reservation. 

In regulation: An adoptive parent applicant shall be at least age 21, except an applicant between age 18 and 21 
may be approved if the applicant is related to the child under the custodial control of the cabinet, the applicant 
can meet the needs of the child, and the cabinet determines the placement is in the best interests of the child.  

The applicant shall provide proof of the applicant's United States citizenship or legal immigrant status.

A married couple or a single, unmarried person may apply to become an adoptive parent. The decision to adopt 
a child shall be agreed to by each adult member of the applicant's household. 

Each adoptive applicant and adult member of the applicant's family shall submit a health information form, 
completed by a health professional who is not a member of the applicant's household, based upon health 
information within the past year, documenting the following:  
 � The individual has no illness or condition that would present a health or safety risk to a child placed in the 

applicant's home, including a communicable disease.  
 � There are no known health factors that would interfere with the applicant's ability to become an adoptive 

parent.  

An adoptive parent applicant shall have a source of income that is sufficient to meet the applicant's household 
expenses, separate from adoption assistance.  

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 199.473; Admin. Regs. Tit. 922, §§ 1:010; 1:350; 1:490

The purpose of the home study shall be to review the background of the applicant and determine the suitability 
of the applicant to receive a child, taking into account at all times the best interests of the child for whom the 
application to adopt has been made.

In regulation: The home study of a proposed adoptive parent shall include the following:
 � A minimum of three personal references, including one from a relative
 � A minimum of two financial references
 � A minimum of one home visit and face-to-face interview with each proposed adoptive parent and members 

of the parent(s)' household
 � Contact with the proposed adoptive parent's adult child, if the cabinet can locate the adult child
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The cabinet shall determine whether the applicant's ability to provide an adoptive home is consistent with the 
minimum adoptive home requirements established in regulation regarding the home environment, including, 
but not limited to, the following:  
 � The physical condition of the home complies with State and local health requirements regarding water and 

sanitation.
 � The home provides access to indoor and outdoor recreation space, functioning kitchen facilities, and a 

functioning bathroom. 
 � The home is equipped with a working smoke alarm within 10 feet of each bedroom and on each floor of the 

home.  
 � A home with gas heating or appliances is equipped with a working carbon monoxide detector.  

An applicant and each adult member of the household shall submit to the following:
 � An in-State criminal records check
 � A child abuse or neglect check for each State of residence during the past 5 years
 � A fingerprint-based criminal records check conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation
 � An address check of the sex offender registry

Prior to approval of an applicant, each adolescent member of the household shall submit to a child abuse or 
neglect check. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Regs. Tit. 922, § 1:490

An applicant shall not be approved if a criminal records check reveals that the applicant or adult member of the 
household has any of the following:
 � A felony conviction involving any of the following:

 – A spouse, a child, sexual violence, or death, as described by 42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(20)
 – Physical abuse, battery, or a drug- or alcohol-related offense within the 5-year period prior to the 

application
 � A criminal conviction relating to child abuse or neglect
 � A civil judicial determination related to child abuse or neglect

An applicant shall not be approved if any of the following apply:
 � A child abuse or neglect check reveals that the applicant, adolescent member of the household, or adult 

member of the household has a history of any of the following: 
 – Has committed sexual abuse or sexual exploitation of a child
 – Has been responsible for a child fatality or near fatality related to abuse or neglect
 – Had parental rights terminated involuntarily

 � An address check of the sex offender registry and supporting documentation confirm that a sex offender 
resides at the applicant's home address.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 199.473

Prior to the approval of an application to receive a child, a home study shall be completed. The portion of the 
home study pertaining to the home and family background shall be valid for 1 year following the date of its 
completion by an adoption worker. 
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Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 199.510

Upon filing a petition for the adoption of a minor child, the clerk of the court shall forward two copies of the 
petition to the cabinet. The cabinet or any person, agency, or institution designated by the cabinet or the court 
shall, to the extent possible, investigate and report in writing to the court on the following:
 � Whether the contents of the petition are true 
 � Whether the proposed adoptive parents are financially able and morally fit to have the care, custody, and 

training of the child
 � Whether the adoption is to the best interests of the child and the child is suitable for adoption

The report shall be filed with the court as soon as practicable but no later than 90 days from the placement of 
the child. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 199.470

No petition for adoption shall be filed unless, prior to the filing of the petition, the adoptee has been placed by 
a child-placing agency or by the cabinet or the child has been placed with written approval of the secretary. No 
approval shall be necessary in the case of a child being adopted by a blood relative, including a relative of half-
blood, first cousin, aunt, uncle, nephew, niece, and a person of a preceding generation as denoted by prefixes 
of grand, great, or great-great; stepparent; stepsibling; or fictive kin. However, the court in its discretion may 
order a report in accordance with § 199.510 and a background check. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 199.473; 615.030

When either the custodial parent or parents of the child to be placed or the persons wishing to receive the 
child reside out-of-State, the requirements of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children shall be 
met before the cabinet gives approval for the child's placement.

Prior to sending or bringing any child into a receiving State for placement for a possible adoption, the sending 
agency shall furnish the appropriate public authorities in the receiving State written notice of the intention 
to place the child in the receiving State. The child shall not be sent to the receiving State until the appropriate 
public authorities in the receiving State notify the sending agency, in writing, to the effect that the proposed 
placement does not appear to be contrary to the interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

State regulations  

LOUISIANA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code § 67:V.7315

The home study must include the applicant(s) and all members of the household. 

https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/TITLE922.HTM
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Children's Code Art. 1207; 1229 

For a private or agency adoption, the Department of Children and Family Services shall investigate and submit 
a confidential report of its findings to the court. The department may delegate the performance of this 
investigation to a licensed private adoption agency, but the department remains responsible for ensuring the 
accuracy and thoroughness of the resulting report and for the safety and welfare of the child. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Children's Code Art. 1198; 1221; Admin. Code 67:V.7315

A single person who is age 18 or older or a married couple jointly may petition to adopt a child.

In regulation: The adoptive parent must provide verification of the following:
 � Sufficient income to meet the needs of the family
 � Sufficient good health to provide necessary care for a child
 � Completion of agency-approved adoptive parent training

The adoptive home shall be reasonably safe, in good repair, and comparable in appearance to other homes in 
the community. The home shall have a safe outdoor play area that children may use either on the property or 
within a reasonable distance of the property. The home shall have sufficient living room space comfortably 
furnished and accessible to all members of the family. 

Adoptive parents shall permit no more than four children to a bedroom, and each child shall have his or her 
own bed. Children over age 6 may not share a bedroom with a person of the opposite sex unless the children 
are of the same sibling group. A child shall not share a bedroom with adults, except when the child needs close 
supervision due to illness. 

The home shall have a continuous supply of clean drinking water. The home shall have a minimum of one flush 
toilet, one wash basin with running water, and one bath or shower with hot and cold water.

The adoptive parents shall ensure the following criteria are met:
 � A working heating and air conditioning system in the home
 � A telephone in the home
 � The safe storage of alcoholic beverages, drugs, poisons, or other harmful materials
 � Restricted access by children to potentially dangerous animals
 � Unloaded firearms and ammunition stored in separate locked places and inaccessible to children
 � The home being equipped with operating smoke alarms and an operating carbon monoxide detector
 � A portable chemical fire extinguisher in the cooking area of the home

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Admin. Code § 67:V.7315

The agency shall perform a State and national criminal background check on the applicant and any member 
of the applicant's household. An inquiry of the State central registry for members of the household age 18 and 
older also shall be conducted. If the applicant or any other adult living in the home resided in another State 
within the previous 5 years, the agency shall request and obtain information from that State's child abuse and 
neglect registry.
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The applicant must submit three personal references who are not related to the applicant and one reference 
who is related to the applicant but does not live in the home.

The study also shall include the following:
 � At least two home consultation visits and a third visit that may be a home or office visit
 � Separate face-to-face interviews with each age-appropriate member of the household
 � An interview with an adult child of the applicant, who does not live in the applicant's home, regarding the 

applicant's parenting history
 � A discussion of the motivation or origin of interest in adoption care
 � History of any previous application for adoption
 � Background and social information, including, but not limited to, the following:

 – Family background, customs, and relationship patterns
 – Marital or nonmarital relationships and how a new child would affect the relationships
 – Children in the family and family interaction patterns and relationships
 – Hobbies, interests, social contacts, contacts with extended family, and involvement in the community
 – The past and present mental and physical health of all applicants and family members
 – Discussion of religious practices and attitudes toward religion
 – Assessment of the attitude of each member of the applicant's household and extended family and 

significant others toward the placement of a child into the home
 – Discussion of disciplinary beliefs and practices
 – Attitudes and capacities to parent an adopted child

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 46:51.2; 15:587.1(C); Admin. Code § 67:V.7315

No prospective adoptive parent shall be approved for placement of a child until it is determined that the 
prospective adoptive parent does not have any of the following:
 � A felony conviction for child abuse or neglect; for spousal abuse; for a crime against children, including child 

pornography; or for a crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including 
other assault or battery

 � A felony conviction for physical assault, battery, or a drug-related offense that occurred within the past 5 
years

 � A felony conviction for any of the following crimes, unless an assessment of the circumstances of the crime 
and of the current situation of the prospective adoptive has been conducted and it has been determined that 
the child would not be at risk if placed in the home:

 – Murder, manslaughter, or feticide
 – Rape or sexual battery
 – Rehoming of a child
 – Criminal neglect of family or abandonment
 – A sexual offense involving a minor or a crime against nature
 – Contributing to the delinquency of a minor
 – Cruelty to juveniles
 – Child desertion
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 – Crimes of violence, including, but not limited to, the following: 
 � Aggravated assault or battery
 � Kidnapping or stalking
 � Robbery or burglary
 � Illegal use of weapons or terrorism
 � Trafficking of children for sexual purposes or human trafficking
 � Domestic abuse aggravated assault
 � Vehicular homicide while intoxicated

 – A sex offense, including failing to register as sex offender, obscenity, operating a place of prostitution, or 
voyeurism

 – Sale of minor children
 – Drug-related offenses
 – A similar offense committed in another State or under Federal law

In regulation: No person who is recorded on the State central registry with a valid ( justified) finding of abuse or 
neglect of a child can reside in an adoptive home. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Admin. Code § 67:V.7321

The home study must be completed prior to adoptive placement of a child in the home. If more than a year 
has passed since the family was certified for adoption, the agency shall complete an update, including updated 
background checks, prior to the placement of a child in the home. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Code § 67:V.7321

The provider placing a child in an adoptive placement shall retain custody and remain responsible for the child 
until a final decree has been granted.  

The provider shall conduct in-home, face-to-face supervisory visits as follows:
 � The first visit shall occur with the child and one adoptive parent within 7 calendar days of the child's 

placement.
 � The second visit shall occur the following month.  
 � Subsequent visits shall occur with one adoptive parent at least once every other month, as follows: 

 – The provider shall observe the infant in the home during the monthly visit.  
 – The provider shall conduct a private supervisory visit with the child age 1 and older every other month, 

with at least a segment of the visit occurring in the adoptive home.  
 � A visit with both adoptive parents and the child shall occur within 30 days prior to the final decree.  

Documentation of the contact shall include assessments of the adjustment of the child and adoptive parent, 
attachment and bonding, the health of the child, and any changes since last the contact.  

At least three of the supervisory visits prior to finalization (including the visit prior to the final decree) shall 
include both adoptive parents and all other members of the household. Observations made during the visits 
shall be used in making recommendations for finalization of the adoption. If problems are identified, the 
provider shall assist the family directly and/or refer the family to a resource to address the concerns.  
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Child-placing agency staff shall be available to provide the child and adoptive parent(s) assistance, consultation, 
and emotional support with situations and problems encountered in permanent placement through finalization. 
The child-placing agency shall provide 24-hour crisis intervention to the adoptive family through finalization.

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Children's Code Art. 1243; 1243.2; 1252; Admin. Code § 67:V.7315

A stepparent, stepgrandparent, great-grandparent, grandparent, or collaterals within the 12th degree may 
petition to adopt a child if all of the following elements are met:
 � The petitioner is related to the child by blood, adoption, or affinity through the mother of the child or 

through a father who is filiated to the child in accordance with the civil code.
 � The petitioner is a single person older than age 18 or a married person whose spouse is a joint petitioner.
 � The petitioner has had legal or physical custody of the child for at least 6 months prior to filing the petition 

for adoption.

Upon the filing of a petition, the court immediately shall order the following:
 � That the local sheriff, State police, or Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information conduct a 

fingerprint-based records check for all Federal and State arrests and convictions for each of the prospective 
adoptive parents

 � That the department conduct a records check for validated complaints of child abuse or neglect in this or 
any other State in which either of the prospective adoptive parents has been domiciled since becoming an 
adult

The department shall not investigate the proposed intrafamily adoption except upon order of the court. If 
the court orders an investigation, it may request any information that it deems relevant and require that the 
department submit a confidential report of its findings to the court. 

In regulation: Adoption by a relative shall be considered under the following conditions:
 � The relative is interested in adopting the child.
 � An assessment indicates that adoption is in the best interests of the child.
 � The child and relative have formed affectionate and healthy ties.
 � The relative meets certification standards for adoptive homes.

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Children's Code Art. 1610; Admin. Code § 67:V.7317

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

In regulation: The agency shall send written notice to the administrator of the Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children on forms provided by the authorized agency before placing into or receiving a child from 
another State. No interstate placement shall occur without prior approval from the compact administrator from 
the receiving State. 
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Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 46:286.13; Admin. Code § 67:V.7315

Foster parents have the right for first consideration as a placement option for a child previously placed in their 
home and for a child placed in their home who becomes available for adoption, if relative placement is not 
available.

In regulation: Adoption of a child by foster parent(s) shall be considered under the following conditions:
 � The foster parent(s) are interested in adopting the child.
 � An assessment indicates that foster parent adoption is the most desirable permanent plan for the child.
 � The child has lived with the foster family for a period of time and the child and family have formed 

affectionate and healthy ties.
 � Removal and placement would be likely to cause lasting emotional damage to the child.
 � The foster parent(s) meet certification standards for adoptive homes. 

Links to Resources

State regulations (see part V, subpart 8, chapter 73) 

MAINE

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 18-C, § 9-304

The court shall request a background check for each prospective adoptive parent who is not the birth parent of 
the child. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 18-C, § 9-304

The Maine Department of Health and Human Services or a licensed child-placing agency will conduct a study 
and make a report to the court. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 18-C, § 9-301; Code of Rules § 10-148-019

Spouses or unmarried persons jointly or an unmarried person, whether residents or nonresidents of the State, 
may petition the court to adopt a person of any age. 

In regulation: Minimal requirements for acceptance shall include the following:
 � A settled conviction on the part of each member of the prospective adoptive family that they wish to adopt
 � An established, stable lifestyle with adequate support systems for a minimum of 2 years
 � Sufficiently good physical health that enables the adoptive parents to meet the needs of the child
 � Good mental and emotional health
 � Sufficient income to support the existing family and the child they wish to adopt

The applicants must be at least age 21 and legal residents of Maine. Their home must be kept clean and 
maintained in a condition ensuring health and safety. The home shall have adequate heat, light, and ventilation 
and have adequate family living space for the comfort of family members and for meals and recreation. The 
home must have a working telephone.

http://www.doa.la.gov/osr/LAC/67v01/67.doc
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Each bedroom used by more than one child shall contain at least 40 square feet of floor space per child. A room 
used for one child shall contain at least 60 square feet of floor space. Separate beds and clean bedding must 
be provided for each child. Furniture must be comfortable and suited to the needs of the children. No adult 
residing in the household shall share a bedroom with a child over age 1. No child over age 5 may sleep in the 
same room with a child of the opposite sex. 

All potentially harmful materials or tools and equipment must be stored in locked storage areas or kept in a 
place inaccessible to children. Firearms, including BB guns and air guns, shall be rendered inoperable, unloaded, 
and locked up to prevent unauthorized use. Ammunition and projectiles, such as arrows or other items that can 
be used to make a weapon operable, shall be locked separately. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 18-C, § 9-304; Code of Rules § 10-148-019

The court shall request a background check for each prospective adoptive parent who is not a parent of the 
child. The background check must include a screening for child abuse cases in the records of the department 
and criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System and the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation. Each prospective parent who is not the birth parent of the child shall submit to 
having fingerprints taken.

In regulation: The applicant must submit the following:
 � A medical statement from a licensed physician based on an examination within 6 months 
 � Financial data
 � Religious data
 � A minimum of three personal references unrelated to the applicants who have known the family long enough 

to make a judgment about them
 � Releases signed by each adult household member permitting the child-placing agency to request criminal 

history records and child protective information

The adoption study shall include the following:
 � At least one visit to the applicant's home
 � Individual interviews with the applicants, including any children in the family
 � Contact with a minimum of three references, at least one of whom must be seen in person

The adoption study must contain an assessment of the following regarding the applicants: 
 � Motivation to adopt
 � Stability of the marriage of a couple (or the stability of the single applicant)
 � Feelings about adoption
 � Philosophy and practice on discipline and child rearing
 � Feelings toward birth parents, including their race and color if different from the applicants, and the 

background of the child
 � Religion and how it affects lifestyle
 � Finances and management of money
 � Relationship with extended family and the family's attitude toward adoption
 � Education and employment 
 � Experience with children
 � Methods and effectiveness of communication
 � Physical, mental, and emotional health
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Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 18-C, § 9-304

There is a rebuttable presumption that the petitioner would create a situation of jeopardy for the child if the 
adoption were granted and that the adoption is not in the best interests of the child if the court finds that any 
of the following applies to the petitioner for the adoption of a minor child:
 � Has been convicted of an offense listed in title 19-A, § 1653(6-A)(A) (child-related sexual offense) in which at 

the time of the offense the victim was a minor and the petitioner was at least 5 years older than the minor, 
except that, if the offense was gross sexual assault and the minor victim submitted as a result of compulsion, 
the presumption applies regardless of the ages of the petitioner and the minor victim at the time of the 
offense

 � Has been adjudicated of sexually abusing a person who was a minor at the time of the abuse

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 18-C, § 9-304

Upon the filing of a petition for the adoption of a minor child, the court shall request a background check of the 
adopting family. The investigation must be completed and a report submitted to the court within 60 days. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 18-C, § 9-304; Code of Rules § 10-148-019

The court may require that a minor child subject to a petition for adoption live in the home of the petitioner for 
1 year before the petition is granted and that the child, during all or part of this probationary period, be under 
the supervision of the department or a licensed adoption agency.

Before the adoption is decreed, the court shall ensure that the petitioners are informed that the transfer of the 
long-term care and custody of the child without a court order is prohibited under title 17-A, § 553(1)(C) and (D). 

In regulation: The agency shall have a written signed agreement with the adoptive applicants stating the length 
of the probationary period. The probationary period shall be at least 6 months. The child and family shall be 
seen within 3 weeks of placement and at least within each 2 months thereafter during the probationary period. 
At least two of the visits shall be in the adoptive home and shall include both parents. 

The agency shall ensure that the applicants understand the importance of telling the child he or she is adopted 
and shall review with the applicants how that will be done.

By the end of the probationary period a decision must be made as to whether the agency will consent to the 
adoption. The decision shall be based on the following factors:
 � The physical and emotional adjustment and development of the child
 � The capacity of the adoptive parents to assume the role of parent with respect to the needs of the child

When the agency decides that it will consent to the adoption, it shall give the adoptive parents, in writing, 
pertinent facts about the child's health development and background. If the agency does not consent to the 
adoption, the agency shall immediately make an alternate plan for the child. This plan and its implementation 
shall be in the best interests of the child. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 18-C, § 9-304

If the petitioner is a relative of the child or the spouse or domestic partner of the child's parent, the court may 
waive the requirement of a study and report. 
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Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. Tit. 22, § 4255

Prior to sending a child to another State for placement, the public child-placing agency in the sending State 
shall provide a written request for assessment to the receiving State. Upon receipt of a request from the public 
child welfare agency of the sending State, the receiving State shall initiate an assessment of the proposed 
placement to determine its safety and suitability. If the proposed placement is a placement with a relative, 
the public child-placing agency of the sending State may request a determination of whether the placement 
qualifies as a provisional placement. The public child-placing agency in the receiving State may request from 
the child-placing agency in the sending State, and is entitled to receive, supporting or additional information 
necessary to complete the assessment. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

State regulations 

MARYLAND

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Code of Regs. §§ 07.02.25.02; 07.02.25.04

A 'resource parent' is an individual dually approved as a foster and adoptive parent. To be approved as a 
resource parent, an applicant and all family members and other residents of the household shall undergo a 
home study.

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Code of Regs. § 07.02.25.04  

The State Department of Human Services or a local Department of Social Services may conduct the home study. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Code of Regs. §§ 07.02.25.04; 07.02.25.06  

An applicant must be a U.S. citizen or alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence. An applicant must be at 
least age 21, unless otherwise permitted by statute.   

All family members and other residents of the household shall undergo an initial medical examination and 
formal medical reexamination at least every 2 years. If a resource parent is age 60 or older, the local department 
shall observe and document that the resource parent's strength is adequate to meet the needs of children in 
care.   

A resource family shall have sufficient income and financial stability to provide reasonable living conditions for 
their own family group without depending upon the reimbursement for basic foster care.   

A resource home shall meet State and local public health and sanitary standards, including the following: 
 � All firearms and ammunition maintained in the home shall be stored in a locked room or container that is 

inaccessible to children 

http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/10/148/148c019.doc


Children’s Bureau/ACYF/ACF/HHS | 800.394.3366  |  Email: info@childwelfare.gov  |  https://www.childwelfare.gov 67

 � Prescription and nonprescription drugs, dangerous household supplies, and tools are kept in a safe location, 
inaccessible to children.   

 � The home meets fire safety standards, including the installation of approved smoke detector and carbon 
monoxide detectors.   

 � The family living quarters shall be adequate to provide space for foster children without disrupting the usual 
sleeping and living arrangements of the family group. 

 � Any pets in the home shall be appropriately licensed, vaccinated, and leashed.   
 � The resource parent shall have access to legal and safe transportation. 

The prospective resource parents shall attend 27 hours of preservice training and meet the technical 
requirements for resource home care to be approved as a resource home. An orientation meeting may be 
counted toward the required 27 hours of preservice training.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Code of Regs. §§ 07.02.25.04; 07.02.25.06  

Before a resource home may be approved, an applicant and all household members age 18 and older must 
apply for a State and Federal criminal background investigation. In addition, the local department shall request 
information from the child abuse and neglect registry of any State in which an applicant or another adult in 
the household has lived within the last 5 years to determine whether an individual in the household has a prior 
indicated finding of abuse or neglect. 

For the home study, the resource home worker shall do the following:   
 � Conduct at least three visits at the home of the prospective resource parent, with one home visit including a 

meeting with each resource parent individually and other visits that include the following:   
 – Meeting with the entire family   
 – A discussion of training   
 – A tour of the house   

 � Obtain three personal references, as follows:   
 – Two references supported by a personal interview   
 – Only one reference from a relative   
 – If there is a school-aged child in the prospective resource family, references from school personnel 

 � Obtain verification of income   
 � Obtain verification of marital status, if applicable   
 � Request a health and sanitary inspection of the home by the local health department 
 � Review local department records to determine whether a member of the prospective resource family has an 

indicated finding of abuse or neglect   
 � Review the results of the State and Federal criminal background checks   
 � Make certain that fire safety approval is obtained

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Code of Regs. §§ 07.02.25.04; 07.02.25.18  

The local department may not approve an applicant to whom any of the following applies:
 � Has an indicated finding of child abuse or neglect 
 � Has a felony conviction at any time for any of the following:

 – Child abuse or neglect
 – Spousal abuse
 – A crime against a child, including child pornography
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 – A crime of violence including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including other physical assault or 
battery

 – Human trafficking
 � Has a felony conviction in the previous 5 years involving physical assault, battery, or a drug-related offense

The local department may deny an application if any of the following are true:
 � The applicant's home fails to meet requirements.
 � The applicant knowingly reported false information.
 � The applicant has a history of regulatory violations that demonstrates an inability to provide for the health 

and safety of the children.
 � The applicant has previously had approval denied or revoked by any local department, unless the local 

department is satisfied that the condition that was the basis for the denial or revocation has been corrected.
 � The applicant prevents the local department from completing its responsibilities for approval.
 � The applicant cannot provide for the health, safety, or welfare of the children in care because of abuse of 

alcohol or other controlled dangerous substances, mental instability, or any other condition that creates 
reasonable doubt as to the applicant's ability to provide care.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Code of Regs. § 07.02.25.06

A local department shall notify a prospective resource parent in writing and within 120 days of the date on 
which the local department accepts the application of the decision of approval or denial. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Code of Regs. §§ 07.02.12.03; 07.05.03.16  

The child must live with the adoptive family for at least 6 months, unless a shorter period is allowed by the 
juvenile court on recommendation of the local department. Postplacement services may be extended by mutual 
agreement of the family and local department based on the needs of the child and the family.   

The agency caseworker shall do the following:   
 � Visit the adoptive family at least monthly  
 � Use observations during the visits in determining the frequency of visits and the family's readiness for 

finalization of the adoption  
 � Include the child in these visits according to the child's age and capability

In a private adoption, the agency shall provide postplacement services to all children and adoptive parents 
before an adoption is finalized. The agency worker shall visit the adoptive parent at least three times and as 
needed during the first 6 months following placement. The worker shall use the observations during the visits 
in determining the frequency of visits needed to ascertain the adopting parent's readiness to finalize the 
adoption. The child shall be included in the home visits according to the child's age and capability.   

The agency shall do the following:   
 � Provide evaluative, supportive, and educational services for the adoptive parents 
 � Place special emphasis on the integrity and continuity of the child's heritage and genetic histories   
 � Ensure that all complaints of child abuse or neglect are reported immediately to the local department 
 � Use a written instrument to assess the child's safety in the adoptive home   

The agency shall terminate services to the adoptive parent when the adoption decree is final, unless the agency 
and adoptive parent agree that services will continue beyond the final adoption decree, or when a child is 
removed from an adoptive home.
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Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Code of Regs. §§ 07.02.25.02; 07.02.25.10 

Consistent with the best interests of the child, the local department shall consider and give first priority to 
adoption by a relative. A 'relative' is an individual who is related to the child by blood or marriage within five 
degrees of consanguinity or affinity and who is age 21 or older or age 18 or older and lives with a spouse who is 
age 21 or older.

An assessment of the relative will be made, with particular attention given to their willingness to assume legal 
responsibility for the child if reunification is not possible within 12 to 18 months.   

To approve a relative as a resource/adoptive parent, a local department shall conduct the following:
 � State and Federal criminal background checks and child protective services clearances
 � A home inspection to verify that the home is physically safe and appropriate and has the following:

 – Adequate heat, light, water, refrigeration, cooking, and toilet facilities 
 – Functioning smoke and carbon monoxide detectors
 – Safety precautions regarding firearms and prescription and nonprescription drugs, dangerous household 

supplies, tools, and any other household items that are potentially life-threatening or injurious to children
 – Otherwise meets basic health and safety standards

The local department may not approve, or continue to approve as a placement, any home in which any of the 
following applies to an adult in the household:   
 � Has a felony conviction for child abuse or neglect, spousal abuse, a crime against children, child pornography, 

or a crime of violence including rape, sexual assault, or homicide but not including other physical assault or 
battery   

 � In the previous 5 years has a felony conviction involving physical assault, battery, or a drug-related offense   

The local department may not approve any home in which an individual has an indicated child abuse or neglect 
finding. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Fam. Law § 5-604; Code of Regs. § 07.02.11.28; 07.02.25.06

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children (ICPC).

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child.

In regulation: All placements of children for out-of-home placement or as a preliminary to possible adoption 
in Maryland from another State shall comply with the requirements of the ICPC. The placement of Maryland 
children into States that are members of the compact also shall comply with ICPC requirements. To place a 
child out of State, ICPC requires that, before the two States involved sign a contract or an agreement, the plan 
shall be approved by the other State based on its interstate placement requirements and the Social Services 
Administration.   
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A foster child may be placed in an adoptive home located out of Maryland only under one of the following 
conditions:   
 � The adoptive family that has the child moves to another State before finalization of the adoption.   
 � A local department has a plan approved by the Social Services Administration to use foster or adoptive homes 

in bordering States. This plan ensures that the local department can provide responsible supervision of the 
placement.  

A home study for a relative placement, foster care placement, or adoption that is referred from another State 
under the ICPC shall be handled as follows:   
 � Forwarded to the appropriate local department within 5 days of receipt at the Maryland ICPC Office   
 � Completed by the local department and returned to the ICPC Office within 45 days of receipt 
 � Forwarded to the requesting State within 60 days from the date of the receipt of the request at the ICPC 

Office

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Code of Regs. § 07.02.25.06  

A home study shall provide indepth information about foster care and adoption to a prospective resource 
parent, including the following:   
 � The nature and purpose of the local department's planning documents, including the permanency plan, the 

case plan, and the service agreement   
 � The order of priorities of permanency plan options, which are as follows:   

 – Return home to birth parents   
 – Placement with relatives   
 – Adoption   
 – Independent living, in which the child is learning to be self-sufficient and responsible for living 

arrangements   
 – Another planned permanent living arrangement, which is described as follows:

 � A permanency plan that addresses the individualized needs of the child, including the child's 
educational plan, emotional stability, physical placement, and socialization needs

 � A plan that includes goals that promote the continuity of relations with individuals who will fill a 
lasting and significant role in the child's life   

 � The option to be considered as an adoptive home for children who have been in continuous care in the foster 
home for at least 1 year

Links to Resources

State regulations:
 � Resource Home Requirements (title 07, subtitle 02, chapter 25) 
 � Private Adoption (title 07, subtitle 05, chapter 05)

MASSACHUSETTS

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 606, § 5.10

The study will include the applicants and all household members. Household members age 15 and older are 
subject to background checks. 

http://www.dsd.state.md.us/COMAR/SubtitleSearch.aspx?search=07.02.25.*
http://www.dsd.state.md.us/COMAR/SubtitleSearch.aspx?search=07.05.03.*
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 606, § 5.10

The assessment shall be completed by a social worker who meets the requirements of 606 CMR 5.06(3).  

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Laws. Ch. 210, § 1; Code of Regs. Tit. 606, § 5.10

Any adult or, jointly, a husband and wife may petition to adopt a child.

In regulation: Prior to a placement, adoptive parent applicants must complete a minimum of 10 hours of 
education about a range of issues that influence adjustment after adoptive placement. In addition, prior to the 
placement of any infant in an adoptive home, the adoptive parents must be trained in infant care and safety 
techniques.

The physical requirements for adoptive homes include, but are not limited to, the following:
 � The home must be clean, safe, free of obvious fire and other hazards, and of sufficient size to accommodate 

comfortably and appropriately all members of the household and the approved number of adopted children.
 � The home shall have adequate lighting and ventilation, a safe water supply, plumbing, electricity, and heat.
 � The home shall have sufficient furniture to allow each child to sleep in a separate bed and to have adequate 

storage space for his or her personal belongings.
 � The home shall be equipped with smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors in working order.
 � If the home uses well water, it shall be tested and determined safe.
 � Any firearms located in the home shall be registered and licensed in accordance with State law, trigger-

locked or fully inoperable, and stored without ammunition in a locked area. Ammunition shall be stored in a 
separate locked location.

 � A working telephone for both incoming and outgoing calls must be available in the home at all times.  
 � All pets must be appropriate for the children in care, free from disease and parasites, and licensed and/or 

vaccinated as prescribed by law.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 606, § 5.10; Tit. 110, §§ 18.05; 18.08

The assessment shall include at least three in-person interviews with the applicants, including at least two 
meetings in the applicant's home. The agency shall interview applicants individually at least once and as often 
as is necessary to determine the applicants' qualifications to adopt a child. The agency shall interview all other 
members of the applicants' household, as appropriate to the age of the member of the household.

The assessment shall be summarized in a written report and shall document the following regarding the 
applicants:
 � Motivation for adoption
 � Emotional stability and compatibility
 � Social, education, and health histories
 � Family composition, including pets
 � A description of the home, including sleeping areas
 � The family's attitude toward accepting an adopted child, including a child of a different ethnic background; 

a history/family history of substance abuse, mental health, or medical disabilities; or a different sexual 
orientation 

 � Parenting ability, including child rearing and discipline
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 � Attitude toward the birth parents of the child
 � Characteristics of the children desired, including age, sex, abilities or disabilities, behavior, and 

characteristics of children parents are not willing to adopt
 � At least three written references
 � A written statement from a licensed physician regarding the health of each member of the household
 � Evidence of birth certificates, marriage certificates, and/or divorce decrees
 � Financial ability to care for an adopted child
 � Ability to meet the physical, developmental, emotional, and educational needs of a child

Prospective preadoptive parents will be required to disclose whether they have a criminal record, including the 
crimes charged and the disposition of the charge. The department shall conduct a Criminal Offenders Record 
Information (CORI) investigation of any household member age 14 or older during the initial home study of the 
preadoptive home. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 606, § 5.10; Tit. 110, § 18.10

The agency shall determine that each applicant and each household member age 15 or older has a background 
free of conduct that could bear adversely upon his or her ability to provide for the safety and well-being of any 
children. In making this determination, the agency shall consider the following regarding the applicant:  
 � Any conduct that results in his or her child being adjudicated in need of care and protection  
 � Use of alcohol or drugs to an extent or in a manner that impairs his or her ability to care for children 

properly  
 � Conduct that results in a CORI report or in any other conduct, criminal or otherwise, that could impair the 

individual's ability to care for children  
 � Allegations of abuse or neglect 
 � Adjudication by the Sex Offender Registry Board as a registered sex offender 
 � Criminal record information from a fingerprint-based check  

A CORI report shall consist of arrests, pending criminal charges, or criminal charges that have been finally 
disposed of for any offense involving sexual or physical abuse, any offense involving children, and violent or 
drug-related crimes, including driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A CORI report shall also consist 
of the report of a restraining order, violations of such restraining orders and other arrests, pending charges, or 
findings relative to abuse of adult or child family members.

An applicant shall not be approved for an adoptive placement when, after a review of the CORI record, the 
agency concludes that the applicant's home poses an unacceptable risk to the safety and well-being of the 
child. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 606, § 5.10

The licensed agency, consistent with its current needs, shall evaluate adoptive parent applicants promptly.

Home study assessments for prospective adoptive parents shall be valid for a maximum of 18 months from the 
date of completion.  
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In place of the complete home study assessment, the agency may perform a limited assessment or home study 
assessment update in the following circumstances:  
 � If the agency receives an adoptive parent assessment from another licensed agency completed no more than 

18 months prior to the current application for approval 
 � If the agency receives an adoptive parent assessment performed in another State in accordance with the laws 

of such State that was completed no more than 18 months prior to the current application for approval  
 � If a placement does not occur within 18 months of approval of the adoptive parent by the agency  

A limited adoptive parent assessment or home study assessment shall be a review of the previous adoptive 
parent assessment that must include the following:  
 � The completion of new background record checks for all household members  
 � A visit to the prospective adoptive parents' home 
 � Interviews conducted in person with the prospective adoptive parents to determine if there have been any 

changes since the last home study assessment, including changes in financial status that are supported with 
current documentation  

 � A current statement from a medical professional about the health of all household members

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 606, § 5.10

The agency shall assign a social worker who will be responsible for providing direct services to the adoptive 
family until the adoption is finalized. The social worker shall assist the adoptive parents and the child with any 
adoption-related matters and shall do the following:  
 � Following placement, make monthly supervisory contacts with the adoptive parents, beginning no later than 

2 weeks after placement and continuing until the adoption decree is entered
 � Beginning no later than 6 weeks after placement, make face-to-face contact at least every other month, with 

at least two contacts in the adoptive parents' home with the child and parents  
 � Following placement, and as appropriate to the age of the child, talk privately with the child to explore the 

child's safety, well-being, feelings, and concerns about the placement  
 � Inform the adoptive parents in writing of any postponement of the legalization of the adoption, the reasons 

for such postponement, the actions that the agency determines are needed to remedy such postponement, 
and the timeframes within which such actions must be taken  

 � Provide updated medical and/or psychological information regarding the birth family to the adoptive family, 
including relevant information about siblings 

 � Assist the adoptive parents and the child in obtaining any needed services  
 � Inform the adoptive parents of their right to update the information in their case record at the agency at any 

time  
 � Document in adoptive family records all contacts with children and adoptive families, including 

postplacement supervision, if applicable  
 � Assist the adoptive parents in maintaining contact with siblings, when appropriate 
 � Provide support services for older sibling groups  

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 110, § 18.10

In the case of an individual seeking to serve as a preadoptive kinship placement for a child in the care or 
custody of the Department of Social Services, the department shall not be precluded from placing the child 
in a kinship home if the commissioner, deputy commissioner for field operations, and general counsel have 
conducted a review of the CORI record pursuant to 110 CMR 18.11(9) and determined the placement is in the 
best interests of the child. 
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Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 110, § 7.509 

An 'identified adoption' means an adoption in which the parent executes a written surrender of his or her child 
directly to a particular person or agency.  

Identified adoptions of children brought into the Commonwealth are permitted provided that the placement 
is made by the Department of Children and Families or by an adoption or child-placing agency licensed or 
approved by the Office for Children and is approved by the administrator of the Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children (ICPC) for the Commonwealth.  

Identified adoptions of Massachusetts children in another State are permitted provided that a home study 
is prepared in accordance with the laws of the receiving State and is submitted for approval to the ICPC 
administrator for the Commonwealth, prior to the placement.  

Any licensed or approved adoption or child-placing agency that agrees to accept a child from another State and 
to place that child in a particular identified home in the Commonwealth can thereafter refuse to place the child 
in that particular home based on the results of a completed home study.  

The ICPC shall apply to all identified adoptions of children born to mothers who are out-of-State residents, 
regardless of whether the surrender was executed in the sending State or in Massachusetts, unless the child is 
surrendered directly to an exempt relative or guardian, as enumerated in 110 CMR 7.503(3).

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 110, § 7.200 

Any foster parent may seek to become the preadoptive placement for a child for whom the department's long-
term goal is adoption. A foster parent may be approved as the preadoptive placement for a particular child if the 
department determines, after assessment, that adoption by the foster parent will further the best interests of 
that child.  

Although all foster preadoptive parents who seek to become a preadoptive placement will be considered 
and assessed, priority will be given to those who are interested in the kinds of children currently waiting for 
and in need of homes. This includes, but is not limited to, the following types of children: school age, special 
needs, legal risk, siblings, Black, Hispanic, and mixed racial. Special needs include a wide variety of emotional 
problems, behavioral disorders, learning disabilities, and other handicapping medical conditions. Applicants 
interested only in healthy infants will be considered as the need for such homes presents itself.  

All preadoptive parents who have a child in preadoptive placement shall have a full or abbreviated reevaluation, 
as appropriate:  

 � Whenever the department learns of factors affecting the suitability of the placement  
 � Within 30 days prior to an adoption, if the adoption occurs more than 1 year after approval of the 

preadoptive placement  
 � Annually in accordance with 110 CMR 7.113  

Links to Resources

State regulations:
 � Standards for the Licensure or Approval of Agencies Offering Child Placement and Adoption Services (title 

606, chapter 5) 
 � Criminal Offender Record Checks (title 110, chapter 18)

https://www.mass.gov/doc/606-cmr-5-standards-for-the-licensure-or-approval-of-agencies-offering-child-placement-and-1/download
http://www.mass.gov/courts/docs/lawlib/106-110cmr/110cmr18.pdf
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MICHIGAN

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Comp. Laws § 710.23f

In a direct placement, an individual seeking to adopt must undergo a preplacement assessment. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Comp. Laws § 710.23f

The preplacement assessment shall be prepared by a child-placing agency. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Comp. Laws § 710.22

An individual is considered to be suitable to be a parent of an adoptee when there is no specific concern that 
placement of any child, or a particular child, in the home of the individual would pose a risk of harm to the 
physical or psychological well-being of the child. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Comp. Laws § 710.23f

A preplacement assessment is based upon personal interviews and visits at the residence of the individual 
being assessed, interviews of others who know the individual, and reports received under this subsection. The 
assessment shall contain all the following information about the individual being assessed:
 � Age, nationality, race, ethnicity, and any religious preference
 � Marital and family status and history
 � Physical and mental health, including any history of substance abuse
 � Education and employment history and any special skills and interests
 � Property and income, including outstanding financial obligations
 � Reason for wanting to adopt
 � Whether the individual has ever been the respondent in a domestic violence proceeding or a proceeding 

concerning a child who was allegedly abused, dependent, deprived, neglected, abandoned, or delinquent, and 
the outcome of the proceeding 

 � Whether the individual has ever been convicted of a crime
 � Any fact or circumstance that raises a specific concern about the suitability of the individual as an adoptive 

parent

The applicant must submit the following:
 � A document from the Michigan State police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation describing all the 

individual's criminal convictions or stating that the agency's records indicate that the individual has not been 
convicted of a crime

 � The results of a physical examination that indicates that the individual is free from any known condition that 
would affect his or her ability to care for an adoptee

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Comp. Laws §§ 710.23f; 710.22a 

If the child-placing agency determines that the information in the preplacement assessment raises a specific 
concern, the child-placing agency shall find that the individual is not suitable to be an adoptive parent. The 
conclusion shall be supported by a written account of how one or more specific concerns pose a risk to the 
physical or psychological well-being of any child or a particular child.
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A child shall not be placed with a prospective adoptive parent and an adoption order shall not be issued if a 
person authorized to place the child, or the court authorized to issue the order, has reliable information that 
the prospective adoptive parent has been convicted of any of the following:
 � Soliciting a child for an immoral purpose or child sexual exploitation
 � Criminal sexual conduct
 � A law of another State substantially similar to any of the above

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Admin. Code R 400.12708

An agency shall have on file a written adoption evaluation and agency recommendation before approving the 
adoptive parents for each adoptive placement and before referring a child to, or placing a child in, the home for 
purposes of adoption. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Comp. Laws §§ 710.46; 710.52; Admin. Code R 400.12711

Upon the filing of an adoption petition, the court shall direct a full investigation by an employee or agent of the 
court, a child-placing agency, or the department. The court may use the preplacement assessment and may 
order an additional investigation by an employee or agent of the court or a child-placing agency. The following 
shall be considered in the investigation:
 � The best interests of the adoptee
 � The adoptee's family background, including names and identifying data regarding the parent or parents, if 

obtainable
 � The reasons for the adoptee's placement away from his or her parent or parents

A written report of the investigation shall be filed within 3 months after the order for investigation.

During the period before entry of the order of adoption, the child shall be supervised at the direction of the 
court by an employee or agent of the court, a child-placing agency, or the department, which shall make 
reports regarding the adjustment of the child in the home. The investigations shall be made under reasonable 
circumstances and at reasonable intervals.

In a direct placement, the child shall be supervised during the period before entry of the order of adoption by 
the child-placing agency that investigated the placement or, in the court's discretion, by another child-placing 
agency.

In regulation: An agency shall provide postplacement supervision for the adoptive family at the adoptive 
parent(s)' home as needed, but not less than once every 3 months, after the placement of a child and until the 
final order of adoption. The agency shall do the following:
 � Assess and record the child's and adoptive family's adjustment and, where needed, include plans to assist the 

child or adoptive family
 � Keep the adoptive parents informed of the results of the agency's continuing assessment of the placement at 

the conclusion of each visit

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 
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Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Comp. Laws § 3.711

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Comp. Laws § 710.46

If the adoptee has been placed for foster care with the petitioner for 12 months or longer and the foster family 
study was completed or updated not more than 12 months before the petition was filed, the court, upon 
motion by the petitioner, may waive the full investigation required by this section. The foster family study, with 
information added as necessary to update or supplement the original study, may be substituted for the written 
report. 

Links to Resources

Adoption Services Manual (Michigan Department of Health and Human Services)

"Adoption Program Statement" (Michigan Department of Human Services)

Adopting a Child in Michigan (Michigan Department of Human Services)

MINNESOTA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 259.41

The background study must be completed on each person older than age 13 living in the home. The required 
background study must be completed as part of the home study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 259.41

The study and report shall be completed by a licensed child-placing agency and must be thorough and 
comprehensive. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code R. 9560.0140 

When determining the suitability of prospective adoptive parents, the child-placing agency shall consider, at a 
minimum, the following:
 � The applicant shall be primarily motivated to meet the child's needs, emotionally mature with healthy 

interpersonal relationships, in good physical and mental health, and able to adequately support and parent a 
child in a healthy and emotionally secure environment.

 � The applicant shall have the capacity to accept and incorporate into the family a child born to other parents 
and to assist the child in understanding the child's genetic background and adoption.

 � The applicant must not be delayed or denied the opportunity to adopt based on the race, color, or national 
origin of the applicant or the child involved.

http://www.mfia.state.mi.us/olmweb/ex/AD/Public/ADM/000.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dhs/DHS-PUB-0255_284892_7.pdf?20151007155717
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dhs/DHS-PUB-0823_221566_7.pdf?20151007155717
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Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 259.41; 245C.33

The adoption study must include at least one in-home visit with the prospective adoptive parent. At a 
minimum, the study must document the following information about the prospective adoptive parent:
 � A background study that includes the following:

 – An assessment of the data and information obtained through criminal records checks to determine if 
the prospective adoptive parent and any other person older than age 13 living in the home have a felony 
conviction consistent with 42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(2)

 – An assessment of the effect of any conviction or finding of substantiated maltreatment on the capacity of 
the prospective adoptive parent to safely care for and parent a child

 � A medical and social history and assessment of current health
 � An assessment of potential parenting skills
 � An assessment of the ability to provide adequate financial support for a child
 � An assessment of the level of knowledge and awareness of adoption issues including, where appropriate, 

matters relating to interracial, cross-cultural, and special needs adoptions

The adoption study is the basis for the completion of a written report. The report must be in a format specified 
by the commissioner and must contain recommendations regarding the suitability of the subject of the study to 
be an adoptive parent.

The commissioner of the Department of Human Services shall review the following information regarding the 
background study subject:
 � Information from the child abuse and neglect registry for any State in which the subject has resided for the 

past 5 years
 � Information from State and national crime information databases

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 259.41

A home study must not be approved if a background study reveals a felony conviction at any time for any of the 
following:
 � Child abuse or neglect
 � Spousal abuse
 � A crime against children, including child pornography
 � A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including other physical 

assault or battery

A home study must not be approved if a background study reveals a felony conviction within the past 5 years 
for physical assault or battery or a drug-related offense. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 259.41

An approved adoption study, completed background study, and written report must be completed before the 
child is placed in a prospective adoptive home. In an agency placement, the report must be filed with the court 
at the time the adoption petition is filed. In a direct adoptive placement, the report must be filed with the court 
in support of a motion for temporary preadoptive custody.
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An agency may update an adoption study and report as needed, regardless of when the original study and 
report—or most recent update—was completed. An adoption study is valid if the report has been completed or 
updated within the previous 12 months. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 259.53 

Upon the filing of a petition for adoption, the court shall immediately refer the petition to an agency for 
completion of a postplacement assessment and report.

The agency to which the petition has been referred shall conduct a postplacement assessment and file a report 
with the court within 90 days of receipt of a copy of the adoption petition. The assessment and report must 
evaluate the environment and antecedents of the child to be adopted, the home of the petitioners, and whether 
placement with the petitioners meets the needs of the child. The report must include a recommendation to the 
court as to whether the petition should or should not be granted.

In making evaluations and recommendations, the postplacement assessment and report must at least address 
the following:
 � The level of adaptation by the prospective adoptive parents to parenting the child
 � The health and well-being of the child in the prospective adoptive parents' home
 � The level of incorporation by the child into the prospective adoptive parents' home, extended family, and 

community
 � The level of inclusion of the child's previous history into the prospective adoptive home, such as cultural or 

ethnic practices or contact with former foster parents or birth relatives

No petition shall be granted until the child has lived for 3 months in the proposed home, subject to a right of 
visitation by the commissioner or an agency or their authorized representatives. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 259.41; 259.53

Placement for adoption with an individual who is related to the child is subject to a background study. In the 
case of a stepparent adoption, a background study must be completed on the stepparent and any children, 
except that a child of the stepparent does not need to have a background study completed if he or she is a 
sibling through birth or adoption of the person being adopted.

The required investigation and period of residence may be waived by the court when the petition for adoption 
is submitted by a stepparent. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 260.851; Admin. Code R. 9560.0150

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child.
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In regulation: No child may be brought into or sent out of Minnesota for adoptive placement into a nonrelative's 
home unless one of the following conditions is met:
 � The commissioner, as State administrator of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, issues 

written approval for the importation or exportation pursuant to the requirements of that compact.
 � The commissioner has, in situations that do not involve the compact, issued a written consent to importation 

or exportation of the child, pursuant to applicable State law.

The commissioner shall not issue consent or approval for the movement of a child across State lines if the 
proposed placement is planned or made by an unlicensed third party.

The commissioner, upon receipt of all required documentation, shall issue consent or approval for importation 
when one of the following conditions is satisfied:
 � An authorized child-placing agency in the sending State has adoptive planning rights to the child and 

requests the importation into Minnesota.
 � A family plans to move to Minnesota and has a child placed with them according to the laws of the other 

State.

The following documents are required for the commissioner's consent and approval:
 � An authorized child-placing agency's written confirmation that the family is approved for adoptive placement
 � A document that identifies the child and the child's birth date, birthplace, and parentage
 � Legal documents that demonstrate that the child has been properly released for adoption

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 259.41

In the case of a licensed foster parent seeking to adopt a child who is in the foster parent(s)' care, any portions 
of the foster care licensing process that duplicate requirements of the adoption home study may be submitted 
in satisfaction of the relevant requirements of this section. 

Links to Resources

State regulations 

MISSISSIPPI

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Code of Rules § 18-006-106

A resource home is a single-family home licensed to provide care for a child in the custody of the Division of 
Family and Children's Services (DFCS) when that child cannot return safely to his or her own home for a period 
of time, temporarily or permanently. A resource home may be a foster, adoptive, or kinship care home.

All adults residing in the home who will participate in the care of the child must participate in all aspects of the 
licensing process. When a married couple applies, both spouses must participate in all aspects of the process. 

Background checks, through law enforcement and DFCS records, will be conducted on all persons age 14 and 
older who reside in the home.

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/9560/
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Code of Rules §§ 18-006-107; 18-006-106

When a child in the custody of DFCS is being placed for adoption, an adoption specialist with the DFCS 
Adoption Unit is responsible for making an adoptive home study under the supervision of the adoption 
administrator. For all other types of resource home licensure, the home study will be completed by a resource 
specialist. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Code of Rules § 18-006-106

Applicants must be residents of the state of Mississippi. A legal alien may obtain a resource home license if all 
adult household members are legally in the United States.

The applicants must be at least age 21 and be financially self-sufficient. Married applicants must verify they are 
legally married.

The applicant must be able to protect children from harm and give and receive appropriate affection. The 
applicant also must have the willingness and ability to commit the time necessary to provide supervision and 
guidance. At least one parent in the home must be able to assist a child with checking homework assignments 
and giving help as needed.

The applicant(s) shall possess competent physical, cognitive, mental, and emotional capacities with reasonable 
life expectancy that is anticipated to continue through the minority of the child.

The resource home must meet the following criteria: 
 � Be well-heated or well-cooled
 � Be well-ventilated
 � Have a working telephone
 � Provide safe storage of hazardous chemicals, cleaning materials, medications, and firearms
 � Ensure that outside play areas are clean and free of hazards
 � Have a continuous supply of clean drinking water and interior plumbing
 � Have at least one operable smoke detector in each living area and near sleeping areas
 � Have an operable fire extinguisher

The interior home environment shall be safe and sanitary, with adequate facilities. All household pets must have 
current vaccinations.

No more than four same-sex children shall share a bedroom. Each foster child shall have a standard bed 
appropriate to the child's age and needs. Children under age 18 months shall sleep in a crib. Children over age 
18 months shall not sleep in the same room with an adult who is older than age 21. Children over age 3 shall not 
share a room with a child of the opposite sex.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Code of Rules § 18-006-106

Following orientation and receipt of a home study application, the licensure specialist must complete the 
screening process, which includes the following:
 � Fingerprinting the applicant
 � Local criminal background checks on all household members age 14 and older
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 � Central registry checks
 � A record check evaluation
 � A sex offender registry check

The applicant shall supply four character references, only one of which may be a close relative. Adult children 
who do not live in the home should be contacted as additional references. The licensure specialist also must 
seek at least two additional references not named by the applicant. These references may be school personnel, 
law enforcement staff, clergy, other licensed resource parents, neighbors, or other DFCS staff.

The home environment must be assessed using the home environment checklist.

The licensure specialist shall conduct a minimum of three home visits and a minimum of four home study 
interviews with the applicants as follows: 
 � The first home visit includes interview one, a joint interview that is conducted after the applicants have 

completed the home study application and SAFE Questionnaire 1. This interview is used to 'get to know the 
applicants.'

 � The second home visit includes interviews two and three, conducted separately and scheduled back-to-back, 
with each applicant after administering SAFE Questionnaire 2.

 � The third home visit includes interview four, a joint interview that should focus on the marriage, or the 
support system for a single applicant, and their parenting plan. This is also where questions that still need 
answering are addressed.

Each home visit should be conducted approximately 1 week apart. All household members shall be interviewed 
privately, and these interviews can be completed during one of the home visits above. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Code of Rules § 18-006-106

Any applicant or person residing in the home who has been convicted of a crime or who has a pending 
indictment of a crime, whether a misdemeanor or felony, that bears negatively upon the individual's fitness to 
have responsibility for the safety and well-being of children will be evaluated as to their fitness to provide child 
care or be licensed as a resource parent. If one of the following felony offenses has been committed, a license 
shall not be granted:
 � A felony offense against a spouse or former spouse
 � A felony offense against children, including child pornography, child abuse, or neglect
 � A crime involving violence, including sexual assault, rape, or homicide, but not including other physical 

assault or battery
 � A felony physical assault, battery, or drug-related offense within the last 5 years

Grounds for denial may include, but are not limited to, the following:
 � The following is true for any person residing in the home:

 – Has been convicted of a crime that would prevent licensure
 – Has a record of evidenced child maltreatment
 – Refuses to submit to background checks

 � The minimum standards are not met.
 � The conditions in the home would or could be physically, mentally, or emotionally harmful to a child placed 

in the home.
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 � The following applies to the applicant:
 – Has a history of alcohol or drug use without documentation of successful treatment and aftercare
 – Has been involved in illegal activity
 – Makes ethnic or racial slurs about certain groups of people or expresses other extremist views during the 

home study process
 – Shows an inability to work with DFCS

 � A person, residing in the home or not residing in the home, with responsibility of transporting children has 
been determined to be a high-risk driver.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Code of Rules § 18-006-106 

All persons who contact DFCS and are interested in becoming a licensed resource parent will be considered. 
The inquiry may be screened out on initial contact if the very basic requirements are not met and the potential 
applicant is not a kinship care placement. These basic requirements include the following:
 � The applicant is at least age 21.
 � The number of children in the home is fewer than 5.
 � The applicant(s) are a legally married couple (not separated) or is legally single (not cohabitating).
 � The applicant has a Mississippi Automated Child Welfare System clearance.
 � The applicant has no known criminal history.
 � The applicant is a legal Mississippi resident.

The applicant also must attend an orientation meeting within the first month of inquiry.

Within 120 days of the date the applicant completed the orientation and screening or within 90 days for 
expedited relative placements, all screened-in applications must be processed, and a written decision must be 
given to the applicant. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Code of Rules § 18-006-107 

A major role of the adoption specialist during the supervisory period is to provide support, including assistance 
with parenting skills, to the adoptive family. The adoption specialist supervising an adoptive placement shall be 
notified of any request for services received in the county during the placement of a child in an adoptive home.

A minimum of 6 months supervision is required for each adoptive placement. This may be all the time that is 
necessary for an infant placement. The 6 months may be extended if needed to stabilize the placement. The 
adoptive family also will be encouraged to attend the adoption support group meetings before placement and 
after for continued postadoptive support.

During the supervisory period, the adoption specialist will make a minimum of two visits each month to the 
home of the adoptive family. The first visit will occur within 2 weeks of placement. The adoption specialist will 
speak to the child in private in the home during the supervisory visits. One visit may occur in a setting other 
than the home. The number of contacts with the adoptive family may vary greatly, depending on the individual 
situation.

At the end of the supervisory period, the adoption specialist supervising the placement will prepare a family 
file, with a memo summarizing the placement and recommending that the family be allowed to finalize the 
adoption. 
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Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code § 93-17-13; Code of Rules § 18-006-106 

The 6-month period of postplacement supervision is not required when a child is a stepchild of a petitioner or 
is related by blood to the petitioner within the third degree.

In regulation: For a child in need of out-of-home care, DFCS will give first priority for placement to a relative 
when it is suitable and appropriate to do so. If a child is in the custody of DFCS and placed with a relative, the 
relative must be licensed as a resource family within 90 days of placement.

DFCS shall maintain an expedited process for licensing screened relative and fictive kin caregivers to enable a 
child to be placed quickly with relatives or fictive kin upon entering foster care. The licensing process for these 
placements shall take place in two steps:
 � An emergency process that enables a child to be placed with the relative as soon as the child enters 

placement, following an initial screen of the relative's home
 � A full licensing process, to be completed no later than 90 calendar days after the child has entered placement

DFCS may waive nonsafety licensing requirements for relative or fictive kin placements in individual cases in 
accordance with Federal regulations. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 43-18-1

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Code of Rules § 18-006-107 

A resource parent who has been providing foster care for a child for 6 months or more shall be given preference 
as an adoptive parent for that child once the child becomes legally available for adoption, unless there is 
documentation as to why the placement is unsuitable for adoption.

Every adoption of a foster child initially placed in a licensed resource home must have a completed child-
specific adoptive home study, known as the adoption addendum. The adoption specialist shall submit the 
adoption addendum and all necessary documentation within 60 days of a child being freed for adoption unless 
there are documented reasons for delay that are in the best interests of the child. The adoption specialist will 
review and provide a written approval or denial within 10 days of receipt of the documentation.

Written instructions to the resource parent on how to proceed with the adoption will be provided when the 
adoption specialist approves the family to adopt the child through an adoption approval letter. If the resource 
family does not follow through with the finalization within 6 months of receiving the adoption approval letter, 
the adoption unit will notify the resource family that recruitment efforts for an adoptive home for the child 
must be initiated. 

Links to Resources

Policy Manual, Section G: Adoption Policy (Mississippi Department of Human Services, Division of Family and 
Children's Services)

https://www.mdcps.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/MDCPS-Policy-Section-G-Effective-06-23-16.pdf
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MISSOURI

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 453.070; Code of Regs. Tit. 13, § 35-73.080 

An assessment must be made of the adoptive parents.

In regulation: The adoption home study must include all members of the applicants' household. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 453.070 

The investigation, as directed by the court having jurisdiction, may be made by any of the following:
 � The Children's Division of the Department of Social Services
 � A juvenile court officer
 � A licensed child-placing agency 
 � A social worker
 � A professional counselor
 � A licensed psychologist who is associated with a licensed child-placing agency
 � Another suitable person appointed by the court

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 453.070 

The assessment and investigation will determine whether the child is suitable for adoption by the petitioner 
and whether the petitioner is suitable as a parent for the child. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Code of Regs. Tit. 13, § 35-73.080 

The family assessment process shall include the following:
 � Confidential interviews with the applicants and all members of the applicants' household, as age appropriate
 � A visit to the residence of the applicants that includes a complete inspection of the home
 � A minimum of at least two separate visits on nonconsecutive days

A social history on each applicant shall include the following:
 � A description of the applicant's family of origin, including the type of family structure, values, child rearing, 

relationships past and present, and discipline methods
 � Education and occupational history, including current employment
 � Marital history and current relationships
 � Interests and hobbies
 � Physical and mental health history, including psychiatric treatment, if any, and the extent of alcohol and drug 

use
 � The applicant's emotional stability and maturity
 � Religious beliefs and practices
 � Parenting background, including the motivation to adopt
 � Location and description of physical residence, including the type of community and school district available
 � Financial status and management
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Supplemental documentation shall include the following:
 � At least four reference letters, including one employment-related reference per applicant from one who has 

worked with the person within the past 5 years, one relative, and one nonrelated personal reference
 � A child abuse and neglect background screening check that is no more than 6 months old
 � Criminal arrest records from a State law enforcement agency that are no more than 6 months old
 � Fingerprint-based criminal conviction records from a State law enforcement agency 
 � Written medical reports on all adult members of the household that are no more than 12 months old
 � Written documentation of income and financial resources

Grounds for Withholding Approval

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 453.070; Code of Regs. Tit. 13, § 35-73.080 

The results of the investigation shall be incorporated in a written report that shall be submitted to the court 
within 90 days of the request for the investigation. The assessment of the petitioner or petitioners shall be 
submitted to the petitioner and to the court prior to the scheduled hearing of the adoptive petition.

In regulation: Adoptive family assessments shall be updated annually. An update also shall be completed if there 
is a significant change in the family situation. Updates shall include the following:
 � One or more interviews with all members of the family
 � Medical reports on all household members biennially, unless otherwise indicated
 � Child abuse and neglect reports on all adults completed within the past 30 days
 � Arrest record check completed within the past 30 days
 � Evaluation of any previous placements
 � A summary of additional children to be adopted

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 453.077; Code of Regs. Tit. 13, § 35-73.080 

When a child has been placed with the petitioner for the required 6-month placement period, the investigator 
shall provide the court with a postplacement assessment. The postplacement assessment shall include an 
update of the preplacement assessment that was submitted to the court and a report on the emotional, 
physical, and psychological status of the child.

In regulation: A child-placing agency shall maintain contact with the family during the supervision period. For 
children younger than age 3, the agency shall do the following:
 � Conduct quarterly home visits until the adoption is final
 � Conduct monthly telephone contacts between home visits
 � Receive regular written reports from the child's pediatrician

For children age 3 or older or children with special needs, the agency shall do the following:
 � Conduct one home visit within the first 10 days of placement and then, at a minimum, quarterly until the 

adoption is finalized
 � Conduct monthly telephone contacts between home visits
 � Receive regular written reports from the child's pediatrician
 � If the child is in school, receive one report from school personnel every school quarter regarding the child's 

progress 
 � Interview the child privately to discuss the child's feelings about the adoption during each supervisory visit
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The agency shall document in the child's record that all members of the adoptive family's household were 
interviewed during supervision and that the following issues were discussed:
 � How the addition of this child into the family has changed family relationships 
 � What role each family member has assumed in child care
 � How parents have coped with adjustments; additional responsibilities; discipline; and physical, psychological, 

emotional, and financial stresses
 � How the family is imparting knowledge of the child's history, as age appropriate
 � The child's adjustment, including regarding health, school, and family

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 453.070

In cases where the adoption involves a child younger than age 18 who is the natural child of one of the 
petitioners, the court may waive the investigation and report, except the criminal background check. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 210.620; 210.622

Prior to sending a child to a receiving State, the public child-placing agency shall submit a written request 
for assessment to the receiving State. The assessment shall evaluate the prospective placement to determine 
whether the placement meets the individualized needs of the child, including, but not limited to, the child's 
safety and stability; health and well-being; and mental, emotional, and physical development.

Upon receipt of a request from the public child welfare agency of the sending State, the receiving State shall 
initiate an assessment of the proposed placement to determine its safety and suitability. If the proposed 
placement is a placement with a relative, the public child-placing agency of the sending State may request a 
determination of whether the placement qualifies as a provisional placement.

The public child-placing agency in the receiving State may request and shall be entitled to receive from the 
public or private child-placing agency in the sending State supporting or additional information necessary to 
complete the assessment.

The public child-placing agency in the receiving State shall complete or arrange for the completion of the 
assessment within the timeframes established by the rules of the Interstate Commission.

Notwithstanding the provisions above, the division may enter into an agreement with a similar agency in any 
State adjoining Missouri that provides for the emergency placement of abused or neglected children across 
State lines without the prior approval required by the interstate compact. A request for approval shall be 
initiated if the placement extends beyond 30 days. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 210.566; 453.070

If a child becomes free for adoption while in foster care, the child's foster family shall be given preferential 
consideration as adoptive parents.

Any adult person or persons age 18 or older who, as foster parent or parents, have cared for a foster child 
continuously for a period of 9 months or more and for whom bonding has occurred as evidenced by the positive 
emotional and physical interaction between the foster parent and child may apply for the placement of the 
child with them for the purpose of adoption if the child is eligible for adoption. The agency and court shall give 
preference and first consideration for adoptive placements to foster parents. However, the final determination 
of the propriety of the adoption of such foster child shall be within the sole discretion of the court. 
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Links to Resources

State regulations 

MONTANA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Code § 42-3-202 

The prospective adoptive parent and the home of the prospective adoptive parent must be studied and 
evaluated. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 42-3-202 

A prospective adoptive parent may request a preplacement evaluation from the Department of Public Health 
and Human Services, a licensed social worker, or a licensed child-placing agency. In a direct parental placement 
adoption, the preplacement evaluation must be conducted by either a licensed social worker or a licensed 
child-placing agency. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Code § 42-1-106; Admin. Rules R. 37.52.104 

A husband and wife jointly or an unmarried individual who is at least age 18 may be eligible to adopt a child.

In regulation: The department will not accept adoptive applicants who have current applications before any 
other licensed adoption agency. The department decides whether applicants will be studied and whether 
children will be placed. The department may limit adoptive intake according to the number and type of children 
available for adoption.

Adoptive applicants must meet the following requirements:
 � Submit to the department a physical examination report as part of the adoption application 
 � Have sufficient income to provide for an additional child or children

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 42-3-203; 42-3-204 

A preplacement evaluation must include a review of the following:
 � A check of criminal conviction data, data on the substantiated abuse or neglect of a child, and data pertaining 

to any involvement in incidents of domestic violence
 � Medical and social history and current health
 � An assessment of potential parenting skills
 � Ability to provide adequate financial support for a child
 � Level of knowledge and awareness of adoption issues, including, when appropriate, matters relating to open, 

interracial, cross-cultural, and special needs adoptions
 � A check of the youth court records of any person living in the prospective home

The preplacement evaluation must include at least one in-home visit with the prospective adoptive parent and 
at least one interview with each family member.

https://www.sos.mo.gov/CMSImages/AdRules/csr/current/13csr/13c35-73.pdf
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The preplacement evaluation report must contain the following information, if available:
 � Age, nationality, racial or ethnic background, and any religious affiliation
 � Marital status and family history
 � Physical and mental health history and any history of abuse of alcohol or drugs
 � Education and employment history and any special skills
 � Property and income, including outstanding financial obligations
 � Whether the individual has been charged with or convicted of domestic violence or has been involved in a 

substantiated charge of child abuse or neglect or elder abuse or neglect and the disposition of the charges
 � Whether the individual is subject to a court order restricting the individual's right to custody or visitation 

with a child
 � Whether the individual has been convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation
 � The quality of the environment in the individual's home and the functioning of other children in the 

individual's household

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Code § 42-3-205 

An evaluator shall assess the information required for the home study to determine if it raises a specific 
concern that placement of any child or a particular child in the home of the individual would pose a significant 
risk of harm to the physical or psychological well-being of the child. If an evaluator determines that the 
information raises a specific concern, the evaluator, based on the original or any further investigation, shall find 
that the individual is or is not suited to be an adoptive parent. The evaluator shall support the finding with a 
written explanation. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 42-3-201; 42-3-204 

A child may not be placed for the purposes of adoption unless the person with whom a child is proposed to be 
placed has had a preplacement evaluation completed to determine fitness and readiness as an adoptive parent.

A preplacement evaluation is valid for 1 year following its date of completion and must be updated if there is a 
significant change in circumstances. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 42-4-112; 42-4-113; 42-4-205; 42-4-209 

In a direct parental placement adoption, the court shall order a 6-month postplacement supervision and a 
postplacement evaluation. The postplacement evaluation period must be supervised and evaluated by a licensed 
social worker or other qualified person.

An evaluation must be based on a personal interview with the prospective adoptive parent in his or her home 
and an observation of the relationship between the child and the adoptive parent. At a minimum, the evaluation 
must include the following information:
 � An assessment of adaptation by the adoptive parent to parenting the child
 � An assessment of the health and well-being of the child
 � The level of incorporation by the child into the adoptive parent(s)' home
 � An account of any change in the adoptive parent(s)' marital status or family history, physical or mental health, 

home environment, property, income, or financial obligations since the filing of the preplacement evaluation

The evaluation must contain a definite recommendation stating the reasons for or against the proposed 
adoption.
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For a department or agency placement, the department or agency shall supervise and evaluate the placement 
during a 6-month postplacement evaluation period. The evaluation must include the following information:
 � Whether the child is legally free for adoption
 � Whether the proposed home is suitable for the child
 � A statement that the medical and social histories of the birth parents and child have been provided to the 

adoptive parent
 � An assessment of adaptation by the adoptive parent to parenting the child

The evaluation must contain a definite recommendation stating the reasons for or against the proposed 
adoption. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 42-3-212; 42-4-309

In a direct parental placement adoption, if the court is satisfied that adoption is in the best interests of the 
child, the court may waive the requirement of a preplacement and postplacement evaluation when a parent or 
guardian places a child for adoption directly with an extended family member of the child.

In a stepparent adoption, if the court is satisfied that the adoption is in the best interests of the child, the court 
may waive the requirement of a preplacement evaluation and the 6-month postplacement evaluation and report 
and grant a decree of adoption. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 41-4-101

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 42-4-113

The department or an agency may recommend the waiver of the 6-month postplacement evaluation period 
and the postplacement evaluation if the adoptee has been in the petitioner's home as a foster child for at least 1 
year. 

Links to Resources

Adoption in Montana [webpage] (Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Child and Family 
Services Division)

State regulations 

http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/cfsd/adoption/adoptioninmontana.shtml
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=37%2E52
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NEBRASKA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 390, § 7-001.06 

The applicants, their children, and other persons living in the home shall be included in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 43-107

The study must be completed by the Department of Health and Human Services or a licensed child-placing 
agency. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 390, § 7-001.06 

Applicants for providing adoptive care must meet at least the following requirements:
 � The applicant must be at least age 19. Generally, at least one parent should be within the normal childbearing 

age for the child to be placed. 
 � An applicant must be in such physical and mental condition that it is reasonable to expect him or her to be 

able to fulfill parenting responsibilities. If there appears to be a health condition that might affect parenting 
ability, a medical report may be requested.

 � The application of all persons will be considered regardless of race, gender, ethnic group, or religion.
 � The applicant must be able to budget his or her financial resources in such a way that a child placed can be 

reasonably assured of minimum standards of nutrition, health, shelter, clothing, and other essentials.
 � Applicants must be willing to consider accepting children in the department's custody or likely to enter the 

department's custody.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 43-107; Admin. Code Tit. 390, § 7-001.06 

The preplacement or postplacement adoptive home study shall be performed as prescribed in rules and 
regulations of the department and shall include at a minimum an examination into the facts relating to the 
petitioner or petitioners as may be relevant to the propriety of such adoption. The rules and regulations shall 
require an adoptive home study to include a national criminal history records check and a check of the central 
registry for any history of the petitioner or petitioners of behavior injurious to or that may endanger the health 
or morals of a child.

In regulation: The department will assess all persons who are interested in becoming adoptive parents. This 
process includes the following: 
 � Home visits
 � Interviews with all the applicants, their children, and other persons living in the home
 � A written home study, using the department's format
 � A self-study completed by the applicants
 � References from three persons
 � Background checks with the Adult Protective Services Central Registry and the Central Registry of Child 

Protection Cases
 � A criminal records check
 � A medical summary for each family member
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Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 390, § 7-001.06 

A negative medical report may be the basis for denial of an application at any point in the home study process. 

The department will consider all the information and take into consideration the needs of the children in the 
department's custody to determine whether a family should become an adoptive family. The home study will 
include the recommendation. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 43-107

For adoption placements occurring on or after January 1, 1994, a preplacement adoptive home study shall be 
filed with the court prior to the hearing on the adoption petition. The study must have been completed within 1 
year before the date on which the adoptee is placed with the petitioner. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 390, § 6-002.08 

Postplacement services are provided before the finalization of adoption. Supervision is provided by having 
regular family contact, home visits with both parents, visits alone with the child, and contact with other 
persons living in the home. A minimum of 6 months of postplacement supervision is provided. For a child with 
special needs, supervision for 1 year is recommended.

The department also will provide family-centered support services to do the following:
 � Assist the family with the integration of the child into the family and the creation of a new family unit
 � Provide assessment of the progress and the need for other services
 � Help the family plan for services the family will desire after finalization

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 43-107

An adoptive home study shall not be required when the petitioner is a stepparent of the adoptee, unless 
required by the court. An adoptive home study may be waived by the court upon a showing of good cause by 
the petitioner when the petitioner is a birth grandparent or a stepgrandparent who is married to the birth 
grandparent at the time of the adoption, if both are adopting the child. For all petitions filed on or after January 
1, 1994, the judge shall order the petitioner to request the Nebraska State Patrol to file a national criminal 
history record information check and to request the department to conduct a check of the central registry for 
any history of the petitioner of behavior injurious to or that may endanger the health or morals of a child. An 
adoption decree shall not be issued until such records are on file with the court. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 43-1103; Admin. Code Tit. 390, § 9-001A

Prior to sending a child to a receiving State, the public child-placing agency shall submit a written request for 
assessment to the receiving State. The sending State and the receiving State may request additional information 
or documents prior to finalization of an approved placement.

Upon receipt of a request from the public child-placing agency of the sending State, the receiving State shall 
initiate an assessment of the proposed placement to determine its safety and suitability. If the proposed 
placement is a placement with a relative, the public child-placing agency of the sending State may request a 
determination for a provisional placement.
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The public child-placing agency in the receiving State shall approve a provisional placement and complete or 
arrange for the completion of the assessment within the timeframes established by the rules of the Interstate 
Commission.

In regulation: No child will be placed from Nebraska into another State or from another State into Nebraska 
until both of the following occur:
 � A home study or adoptive study is completed.
 � Approval to place is granted from the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children administrators in 

each State.

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 43-107

A foster parent who later petitions the court to adopt his or her foster child shall be exempt from the 
requirements of a preplacement adoptive home study. The petitioner or petitioners shall have a postplacement 
adoptive home study completed by the department or a licensed child-placing agency and filed with the court 
at least 1 week prior to the hearing for adoption. 

Links to Resources

Home Study Guidebook (Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services)

State regulations, see chapters 6 and 7 

NEVADA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 127.235; 127.395

The applicants for adoption and any member of the applicants' household who is age 18 and older must be 
included in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 127.235; 127.395

The study may be conducted by either a child-placing agency or an agency that provides child welfare services. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 127.239; 127.240; 127.415; 127.420

The agency shall select an adoptive home for a child based on the ability of the members of that home to meet 
the needs of that child. To be approved as a prospective adoptive parent, the applicant must demonstrate his 
or her capacity to be a parent and to meet the needs of an adopted child, including his or her ability to do the 
following:
 � Provide the child with conditions and opportunities to promote his or her healthy personality growth and 

development of his or her potential 
 � Assume responsibility for the safety, care, support, education, and character development of the child
 � Offer a reasonably happy and secure family life with love, understanding, guidance, and companionship

http://dhhs.ne.gov/Chapter%20Policy%20Memos/8.14.1%20Home%20Study%20Guidebook.pdf#search=a%20guide%20for%20nebraska%20foster%20and%20adoptive%20families
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Title-390.aspx
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Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 127.235; 127.395

A person who wishes to have his or her home studied for the purpose of adoption must do the following:
 � Make a written application
 � Submit a copy of his or her fingerprints
 � Sign a release of information
 � Cooperate with the agency by providing other information as necessary to evaluate the home

Upon receiving an application, the agency shall evaluate the applicant to determine his or her suitability for 
becoming an adoptive parent. Such an evaluation must include the following:
 � An interview and assessment of the applicant(s)
 � An assessment that must include, without limitation, an inquiry into any factor that the caseworker 

determines is necessary to assess the ability of the applicant to meet the needs of the adoptee
 � A visit to and assessment of the home of the applicant, including a fire and safety inspection
 � A request for and review of any reports and investigations regarding the abuse or neglect of a child by the 

applicant or any member of the applicant's household who is age 18 or older
 � A request for and review of any information concerning the applicant and any member of the applicant's 

household who is age 18 or older maintained by local law enforcement agencies
 � A request for and review of any State and Federal records of criminal history regarding the applicant and any 

member of the applicant's household who is age 18 or older
 � The receipt and review of at least five satisfactory references from persons who have known the applicant for 

no less than 2 years, with no more than two of the references being from family members
 � A medical examination of the applicant and each member of his or her household
 � Verification of the marital status of the applicant, including the review of any applicable records regarding 

marriage, divorce, and the death of a spouse

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 127.240; 127.420 

An application to adopt must be denied if any of the following apply:
 � The applicant has submitted false information or has withheld relevant information.
 � The applicant refuses or fails to provide information requested by the agency.
 � Two persons who are applying to adopt a child jointly are not legally married to each other.
 � The marriage of two persons legally married to each other who are applying to adopt a child jointly is 

determined by the agency to be unstable.
 � The applicant is married and his or her spouse has not joined in the application.
 � The applicant's housing is inadequate to accommodate an additional child.
 � The applicant has not demonstrated financial responsibility.
 � The applicant has not adequately prepared to provide ongoing physical and emotional care to the child.
 � The agency has, based on its evaluation of the applicant, concerns relating to the applicant's moral character, 

mental stability, or motivation for adopting a child.
 � The applicant or a member of the applicant's household who is age 18 or older has been convicted, arrested, 

or has charges pending for a crime involving harm to a child.
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 � The applicant or a member of the applicant's household who is age 18 or older has charges pending for 
a felony conviction or has been arrested and is awaiting final disposition of possible or pending charges 
involving the following:

 – Child abuse or neglect
 – Spousal abuse 
 – Any crime against children, including child pornography
 – Any crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including other physical 

assault or battery
 – Physical assault, battery, or a drug-related offense that was committed within the past 5 years

 � The agency has concerns and reasonable doubts, based on any other relevant information, about the safety 
or well-being of the child, if the child is placed with the applicant. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 127.280; Admin. Code §§ 127.238; 127.410

A child may not be placed in the home of prospective adoptive parents before the home study investigation has 
been completed.

In regulation: The home study must be updated annually until a child has been placed with the applicant or the 
applicant requests removal of his or her name from the waiting list.

An updated study of a prospective adoptive home must include the following:
 � All the changes that have occurred since the previous study
 � A request for and review of any reports and investigations regarding the abuse or neglect of a child by the 

applicant or any member of the applicant's household who is age 18 or older
 � A request for and review of any information concerning the applicant or any member of the applicant's 

household who is age 18 or older maintained by local law enforcement agencies

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 127.120; Admin. Code §§ 127.256; 127.455

After an adoption petition is filed, the agency shall make an investigation and report to the court. The report 
must contain a specific recommendation for or against approval of the petition, a statement of whether the 
child is known to be an Indian child, and any other information regarding the child or proposed home that the 
court requires.

In regulation: After the placement of the child in an adoptive home, the agency shall do the following:
 � In the case of a child with special needs, make at least one supervisory visit to the adoptive home as follows:

 – Per week during the month following the initial placement
 – Per month until the adoption becomes final

 � For a child with no special needs, make at least one supervisory visit per month until the adoption becomes 
final

 � Document all contacts with the prospective adoptive family, child, and other persons who know or have 
contact with the child

 � Provide consultation with or referral to such community resources as necessary to meet the child's needs
 � Assist the prospective adoptive parent(s) to develop any skills related to parenting that may be needed to 

meet the specific needs of the adoptee
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If the agency has concerns regarding the placement of a child, the agency may contact teachers, babysitters, 
counselors, providers of medical care, government agencies, and any other persons who know or have contact 
with the child for the purpose of ensuring that the specific needs of the child are being met. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 127.120

If one petitioner or the spouse of a petitioner is related to the child within the third degree of consanguinity, 
the court may, in its discretion, waive the investigation by the agency. A copy of the order waiving the 
investigation must be sent to the nearest office of the agency by the petitioners within 7 days after the order is 
issued. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 127.330

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Code § 127.450

If the foster parent of a child who is currently living with that foster parent is chosen as the adoptive parent of 
that child, the agency that provides child welfare services shall do the following before the child's permanent 
placement in that home and in addition to meeting the applicable requirements of this chapter and any other 
applicable laws:
 � Review the licensing records of the foster parents
 � Update the study of the prospective adoptive home
 � Request and review any reports and investigations regarding the abuse or neglect of a child by the applicant 

or any member of the prospective adoptive family and household who is age 18 or older and any records of 
criminal history of such persons 

 � Determine whether the adoptive family is eligible for financial or other assistance

Links to Resources

Guide to Adoption in Nevada (Nevada Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Child & Family Services) 

State regulations 

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code, HE-C 6448.16

The family assessment involves all adults and children of sufficient understanding in the household.  

http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Programs/CWS/Adoption/Guide/GuideToAdoptionInNevada.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-127.html
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Admin. Code, HE-C 6448.16

The child-placing agency shall conduct the assessment. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code, HE-C 6448.16; 6448.17

The minimum requirements for acceptance of the adoptive parent applicants shall be as follows:
 � Each adoptive parent applicant shall be at least age 18.
 � Each prospective adoptive parent shall confirm their commitment to adopt.
 � Adoptive parent applicants, whether married or single, shall have established a stable and consistent home 

life in that the applicant has remained in the same home with the same household members for at least 2 
years with adequate support systems, such as extended family and friends in the community who are able to 
assist the family.

 � The applicants shall demonstrate good physical and emotional health, with a reasonable expectation that the 
good health will continue throughout the minority of the child. 

 � Sufficient physical space and accommodations in the home shall exist for the adoptive child.
 � The applicants shall have sufficient income to support the family and the child they wish to adopt.

Preadoptive training shall be completed in its entirety during the family assessment process and prior to 
approving a family for adoption. Preadoptive training shall consist of at least 8 hours of training that covers the 
following:   
 � The adoption process
 � The impact of early and prenatal trauma on child development  
 � Understanding a child's behavior
 � Grief and loss 
 � Developmental stages
 � The family unit from which the child entered the adoptive process
 � The impact of adoption on the family and community
 � Race and culture

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 170-B:18; Admin. Code HE-C 6448.16

The court shall require a background check in all adoption proceedings. The background check shall consist of 
a fingerprint-based criminal record check of national crime information databases and a central registry check 
for all prospective adoptive parents and any other adults living in the home.

In regulation: During the application process, the agency shall obtain the following:
 � A signed application
 � A signed medical statement from a licensed physician on each applicant based on an examination given 

within 1 year of the application
 � A financial statement that includes monthly income, monthly expenses, and assets
 � Information on the applicants' religious preferences, if any
 � A minimum of five personal references provided by persons who have known the applicants for at least 2 

years, one of whom is a relative and the remaining four being unrelated to the applicant
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The assessment shall include the following:
 � At least three meetings, with at least one meeting in the home 
 � Individual and joint meetings, when applicable, with the couple
 � Consideration of the following factors to assess the adoptive parent applicants' compatibility with a child 

and any problems the adoptive parent applicants might encounter following the adoption, including the 
following:

 – The applicants' motivation to adopt
 – If applicable, how the applicants have dealt with issues of their infertility
 – The applicants' expectations of the child and preferred child characteristics
 – The applicants' feelings about adoption and how adoption will be explained to the child

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code, HE-C 6448.16

The adoptive parent applicant shall not have been convicted of child abuse or neglect or any other serious 
crime that would affect the ability to care for children.  

If a founded child abuse or neglect report is on file for any member of the adoptive parent applicant's 
household, staff of the Department of Children, Youth and Families (DCYF), in cooperation with staff from 
the child-placing agency, shall conduct a complete review of the circumstances surrounding the report. After 
review, if DCYF determines that the household member poses no further threat to any child, the child-placing 
agency shall proceed with the application process. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Admin. Rules, HE-C 6448.16  

The family assessment shall be completed within 120 days of the date that the application and all required 
documents were received, unless the applicants agree in writing that the child-placing agency may extend the 
time allowed to complete the family assessment. The caseworker will provide written results to the applicant 
within 30 days after completing the family assessment.  

Approved adoptive families who have waited a year for a placement shall have an annual home visit and family 
assessment update that includes the following:  
 � Any changes to the original family assessment  
 � An update of the household members' medical health 
 � Updated criminal records checks for all household members 
 � Updated child protective services records checks for child abuse or neglect  

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Rules, HE-C 6448.18

Following placement of the child, the caseworker shall do the following:
 � Contact the adoptive family, by phone or in person, within 3 weeks of placement
 � Meet in person with the adoptive family and the child(ren) at least 1 month after placement and once every 2 

months until the adoption is finalized or until at least three visits have been completed
 � Conduct at least two of the required meetings in the home of the adoptive family
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For foreign adoptions, the caseworker shall do the following:  
 � Meet in person with the adoptive family and the child(ren) within 1 month of the placement  
 � Complete at least three postplacement visits in total  
 � Make additional visits with the family and the child(ren) if required by the foreign country or the child-

placing agency responsible for the child

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 170-B:18; Admin. Rules, HE-C 6448.17 

Effective January 1, 2021: The court may order an adoption decree without an assessment when one of the 
adoptee's parent will remain a parent. 

In regulation: Preadoptive training shall not be required when the adoptive parent applicant is the stepparent of 
the child who has lived with the child for at least 6 months. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 170-A:1; Admin. Rules, He-C 6448.18

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children (ICPC).

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

In regulation: The caseworker shall submit postplacement supervisory reports to the DCYF ICPC office for all 
interstate adoption placements. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Rules, HE-C 6448.18

The following shall be required in preparation of the child for adoptive placement:  
 � A child shall not be placed for adoption until all legal impediments have been removed.  
 � A child may be placed in a legal risk adoption home that has been approved for preadoptive placement when 

the child's permanent plan is adoption but the child has not been surrendered for adoption or has not been 
the subject of a completed petition.  

 � The child-placing agency shall formally advise preadoptive parents in writing of the nature and extent of any 
legal or medical risks.  

 � A child shall not be placed in an adoptive home until the home has been approved by a licensed child-placing 
agency or the department.  

Links to Resources

State regulations (see Part He-C 6448)

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/he-c6400.html
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NEW JERSEY

Current Through September 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code § 3A:50-5.6

The applicants and household members age 18 and older must be included in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 3A:50-1.6; 3A:22-3.1 

An adoption agency that is certified by the Department of Children and Families shall provide adoption services, 
including conducting home studies of adoptive applicants. The department shall accept an application from and 
provide home study services to an adult New Jersey resident interested in becoming an adoptive parent, only if 
the adult is interested in adopting a special needs child.

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code § 3A:50-5.6  

The agency shall ensure that the adoptive applicants meet the following criteria:
 � Are at least age 18 and at least 10 years older than the child being adopted
 � Have the capacity to meet the child's physical and emotional needs

The agency also shall ask applicants to disclose any history of child abuse or neglect or any criminal record, 
excluding minor traffic violations. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Admin. Code § 3A:50-5.6  

The home study process shall include the following:
 � At least three in-person joint and individual interviews with married applicants
 � At least one in-person joint and one individual interview with each member of the applicant's household
 � At least one visit to the residence of the applicants
 � A review of the applicants' current job references
 � A review of three personal references from persons unrelated to the applicants

The agency shall obtain information on the applicants, including, but not limited to, the following:
 � The applicants' interests, hobbies, child caring skills, strengths, and weaknesses and how they see themselves 

and each other
 � Philosophies on child rearing, discipline, and parental roles 
 � Experience with children
 � Emotional stability and maturity
 � The state of their marital relationship
 � The attitudes of other members of the family
 � Each parent's family life history
 � Each parent's agreement not to use excessive corporal punishment as a means of discipline or otherwise 

engage in abusive or neglectful behavior 
 � Written medical reports on each applicant and all other persons living in the home 
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 � Verifications of present or previous marriage(s) and divorce(s) of each adoptive applicant, including deaths of 
former spouses when there was no divorce

 � Location and description of physical environment of the residence and neighborhood
 � A statement of income and financial resources and a description of the applicant's capacity to manage 

finances

The agency shall obtain fingerprint-based criminal history background checks and child abuse records checks 
on each adoptive applicant and all persons age 18 and older residing in the adoptive applicant's home. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code § 3A:50-5.6  

An adoption agency shall disqualify an adoptive applicant if the applicant or any adult residing in the household 
was convicted of one of the following crimes or offenses:  
 � A crime against a child, including endangering the welfare of a child; child pornography; or child abuse, 

neglect, or abandonment 
 � Murder or manslaughter  
 � Aggravated assault 
 � Stalking
 � Kidnapping and related offenses, including criminal restraint; false imprisonment; interference with custody; 

criminal coercion; or enticing a child into a motor vehicle, structure, or isolated area 
 � Sexual assault, criminal sexual contact, or lewdness  
 � First-degree robbery or second-degree burglary 
 � Domestic violence 
 � Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person or an elderly or disabled person 
 � Terrorist threats 
 � Arson 

An adoptive applicant may be disqualified if he or she or an adult residing in the household was convicted of 
one of the following crimes or offenses within the preceding 5 years:  
 � Simple assault or fourth-degree aggravated assault 
 � A drug-related crime 
 � Second-degree robbery or third-degree burglary 

When the child abuse record background check reveals that the adoptive applicant or an adult residing in the 
home has a record of a substantiated incident of child abuse and/or neglect, the agency shall examine the 
nature and seriousness of the abuse and/or neglect incidents and determine if the perpetrator has completed 
a rehabilitation program or counseling program. If such evidence exists, the agency shall assess whether the 
perpetrator can provide an appropriate home for the child. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Admin. Code § 3A:50-5.6  

The agency shall not place a child in the adoptive applicant's home for the purpose of adoption without a 
completed home study.

For applicants who have been studied, approved, and placed on a waiting list for longer than 12 months from the 
time their home study was approved, the agency shall ensure that the home study is current within 12 months 
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of the child's placement into the home, except for home studies for foreign adoption, which may be current for 
18 months of the child's being placed in the home. The updated home study shall include the following:
 � One or more interviews with all members of the applicants' household
 � Medical reports within the past year for all members of the applicants' household
 � A visit to the residence of the applicants
 � Updated financial information

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Code § 3A:50-5.8 

The agency shall visit the home within 14 calendar days of the adoptive placement and document the following 
in the child's record:
 � The child's background information was reviewed with the adoptive parents.
 � The adoptive parent(s) and child were given reassurance that their feelings, worries, and joys are natural and 

understandable.
 � School-age children are in compliance with compulsory education requirements.
 � Working parents have made child care arrangements.

For children younger than age 5, the agency shall do the following:
 � Conduct bimonthly home visits for at least 6 months
 � Document that all members of the household were interviewed 
 � Document that the following issues were discussed:

 – How the presence of the child changed family relationships
 – What role each family member has assumed regarding child care and discipline 
 – How parents cope with the demands of a crying infant and/or a child who 'tests' the placement and how 

the family reacts to these episodes, including any feelings of insecurity about doing the 'right' thing

For children age 5 or older, the agency shall do the following:
 � Conduct monthly home visits during the minimum supervisory 6-month period and then bimonthly home or 

office visits until the adoption is finalized
 � Document that the child was interviewed privately about his or her feelings about the adoption at each 

supervisory visit
 � Document that the following issues were discussed:

 – How the presence of the child changed family relationships 
 – What role each family member has assumed regarding child care and discipline
 – How the child 'tests' the placement and how the family reacts to these episodes, including any feelings of 

insecurity about doing the 'right' thing
 – How the family perceives the child's sense of identity and the need to fill in gaps in the child's history
 – How the child has adjusted to the school environment

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Admin. Code § 3A:50-5.6   

For a stepparent adoption, a criminal history record check shall not be required for household members age 18 
and older who are related to the birth parent. 
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Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 9:23-5

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 30:4C-26.7

Any person who as a resource family parent has cared for a child continuously for a period of 15 months or 
more may apply to the division for the placement of the child with them for the purpose of adoption, and if the 
child is eligible for adoption, the division shall give preference and first consideration to their application over 
all other applications for adoption placement. 

Links to Resources

Path to Adoption [webpage] (New Jersey Department of Children and Families)

Licensing Information [webpage] (New Jersey Department of Children and Families)

NEW MEXICO

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 32A-5-14

The petitioner, the petitioner's children, and any other permanent residents of the petitioner's home shall be 
included in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 32A-5-13; Admin. Code § 8.26.3.17

The preplacement study shall be conducted by an agency or a person certified by the Children, Youth and 
Families Department (CYFD) to conduct the study. 

In regulation: For an independent adoption, only persons certified by CYFD shall be permitted to conduct 
adoptive counseling, studies, and reports. Adoptive counseling narratives, preplacement studies, and 
postplacement reports will not be accepted if the persons conducting these services are not certified by CYFD.   

To qualify as an investigator, the applicant shall meet both of the following:   
 � Hold a master's of social work degree from a school of social work accredited by the Council of Social Work 

Education and be licensed by the New Mexico board of social work examiners; hold a master's degree from 
an accredited degree-granting institution in sociology, psychology, guidance and counseling, or counseling; 
or be licensed at the licensed professional clinical counsel level (L.P.C.C.) by the Counseling and Therapy 
Practice Board   

 � Have 2 years paid, full-time experience in family evaluation and child development and behavior   

If the adoptee is an Indian child, the investigator may be a person authorized by an Indian Tribe to conduct 
adoptive studies or counseling by an Indian Tribe.   

http://www.nj.gov/njfosteradopt/adoption/path/
http://www.nj.gov/njfosteradopt/services/licensing/
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The individual shall be certified by CYFD and appear on CYFD's current list prior to conducting adoptive 
services. If the person preparing the adoptive services is out-of-State, such person shall attach a statement 
setting forth qualifications that are equivalent to those required of an investigator or counselor pursuant to 
New Mexico law and regulations.   

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 8.26.4.7; 8.26.4.8 

An 'applicant' is any person who applies to be considered as a potential foster care provider, treatment foster 
care provider, or an adoptive parent. Applicants must meet the following qualifications:
 � Applicants must be age 18 or older. 
 � Applicants must be residents of New Mexico.  
 � Applicants must be able to communicate with the child in the child's own language or through translation 

services or other resources.  
 � Applicants must be able to communicate with the Protective Services Division (PSD), licensing agents, 

health-care providers, and other service providers, including through translation services or other resources.  
 � At least one applicant in the home must have functional literacy or have access to resources to read (e.g., 

have the ability to read medication labels in order to properly administer them).  
 � Applicants must have income or resources necessary to make timely payments for shelter, food, utility costs, 

clothing, and other household expenses prior to the addition of an adoptive or foster child.  

Tribal agencies also may be involved in conducting home studies for American Indian and Alaska Native 
children. Federal law provides that any receiving State must treat any Tribal home study report as meeting the 
requirements imposed by the State for the completion of a home study.  

Citizenship or immigration status shall not prevent eligibility for licensure. State regulation provides guidance 
on licensing non-U.S. citizens without legal permanent residency.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 32A-5-14; 32A-5-14.1

The preplacement study shall include, at a minimum, the following:
 � An individual interview with each petitioner
 � A joint interview with both petitioners
 � A home visit that includes an interview with the petitioner's children and any other permanent residents of 

the home
 � An interview with the adoptee if age appropriate
 � An individual interview with each of the adoptee's parents
 � Full disclosure to the petitioner
 � An exploration of the petitioners' philosophy concerning discussion of adoption issues with the adoptee
 � The initiation of a criminal records check of each petitioner
 � A medical certificate dated no more than 1 year prior to any adoptive placement assessing the petitioner's 

health as it relates to the petitioner's ability to care for the adoptee
 � A minimum of three letters of reference from individuals named by the petitioner
 � A statement of the capacity and readiness of the petitioner for parenthood and the petitioner's emotional 

and physical health and ability to shelter, feed, clothe, and educate the adoptee 
 � Verification of the petitioner's employment, financial resources, and marital status
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 � A report of a medical examination performed on the adoptee within 1 year prior to the proposed adoptive 
placement

 � A statement of the results of any prior preplacement study

A fingerprint-based nationwide criminal history records check shall be conducted on a person who files a 
petition to adopt a child. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 8.26.4.20: 8.8.3.13

An applicant's request for licensure may be denied based on a documented professional assessment that the 
applicant cannot adequately provide safety, permanency, and well-being for children. 

For the purpose of these regulations, any of the following shall result in a conclusion that the applicant is an 
unreasonable risk:
 � A conviction for a felony or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude that directly relates to whether the 

applicant can provide a safe, responsible, and morally positive setting for care recipients
 � A conviction for a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude that does not directly relate to 

whether the applicant can provide a safe, responsible, and morally positive setting for care recipients if the 
department determines that the applicant has not been sufficiently rehabilitated

 � A conviction, regardless of the degree of the crime or the date of the conviction, of trafficking in controlled 
substances, criminal sexual penetration, related sexual offenses, or child abuse

 � A substantiated referral, regardless of the date, for sexual abuse or for neglect characterized by a failure to 
protect against sexual abuse

 � The placement of the applicant's child in CYFD's or another State's custody
 � A registration or a requirement to be registered on a State sex offender registry

There shall be a determination of unreasonable risk if a background check shows any of the following:
 � Pending charges for a felony offense; any misdemeanor offense involving domestic violence, child abuse, 

any other misdemeanor offense of moral turpitude; or an arrest but no disposition for any such crime if a 
conviction as charged would result in a determination of unreasonable risk  

 � A pending child protective services referral or any other CYFD investigation of abuse or neglect  
 � An outstanding warrant issued for an applicant

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 32A-5-13

A preplacement study that has been prepared or updated within 1 year immediately prior to the date of 
placement that approves the petitioner as an appropriate adoptive parent shall be filed with the court prior to 
issuance of a placement order. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 32A-5-31; Admin. Code § 8.26.3.32

A postplacement report shall include the following:
 � The interaction between the adoptee and petitioner
 � The adjustment of the adoptee since placement
 � The integration and acceptance of the adoptee in the petitioner's family
 � The petitioner's ability to meet the physical and emotional needs of the adoptee
 � Whether the adoptive home is a suitable home for the adoptee
 � Whether the adoption is in the best interests of the adoptee
 � The type and frequency of postplacement services given to the petitioner
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The postplacement report shall contain an evaluation of the proposed adoption with a recommendation as to 
the granting of the petition for adoption.

The investigation for the postplacement report shall be conducted by the department, an agency, or an 
investigator. The department, agency, or investigator shall observe the adoptee and interview the petitioner in 
the petitioner's home as soon as possible after the receipt of notice of the action, but in any event within 30 
days. For an adoptee who is younger than age 1 at the time of placement, a written report shall be filed with the 
court within 60 days from receipt of notice of the proceeding. For an adoptee who is age 1 or older at the time 
of placement, the written report shall be filed within 120 days.

In regulation: Appropriate postplacement services shall be provided to the adoptee and the prospective 
adoptive family from the time of the child's placement until the postplacement report is filed. At a minimum, 
the following services shall be provided:
 � Contact shall be made with the prospective adoptive family personally or by telephone within 48 hours after 

placement.
 � A home visit shall be made within 3 working days of placement.
 � Additional visits shall be made every other month thereafter until the postplacement report is filed.

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 32A-5-32; Admin. Code § 8.26.3.33

Any person may adopt his or her spouse's child in accordance with the provisions of the Adoption Act. When 
the adoptee has lived with his or her stepparent for at least 1 year following the stepparent's marriage to the 
custodial parent, the following provisions apply:
 � Placement shall not be required pursuant to § 32A-5-12.
 � A preplacement study or postplacement report shall not be required, unless ordered by the court.
 � When the stepparent and the custodial parent have been married for less than 2 years, counseling shall be 

required for the stepparent and the custodial parent.
 � The noncustodial parent shall receive counseling unless counseling is waived.
 � The adoptee, if age 10 or older, shall receive counseling.
 � A criminal records check shall be conducted on a stepparent.
 � A report of fees and charges shall not be prepared, unless ordered by the court.
 � The court may waive the 90-day period between the filing of the petition for adoption and issuance of the 

decree of adoption.
 � When adopted, the adoptee shall take the name designated in the adoption petition, so long as the 

petitioner’s spouse and the adoptee, if age 10 or older, consent to the name.

When an adoptee has not lived with the stepparent for more than 1 year following the stepparent's marriage to 
the custodial parent, the adoption shall proceed as an independent adoption.

In regulation: The petition to adopt shall be filed by the stepparent with whom the adoptee has resided for at 
least 1 year since the stepparent's marriage to the adoptee's custodial parent. The consent of the noncustodial 
parent, the custodial parent, and the adoptee who is age 10 or older are required in all stepparent adoptions, 
except in those cases where the noncustodial parent's parental rights have been terminated involuntarily.   

In all stepparent adoptions, the stepparent shall obtain a criminal records check. 
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Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 32A-11-1

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Code § 8.26.2.24 

PSD shall attempt to place foster children with concurrent plans of adoption in foster homes that have 
been identified as concurrent families. PSD completes the preplacement home study for foster parents and 
treatment foster parents who have been selected as adoptive parents for children in PSD custody. 

Links to Resources

State regulations 

NEW YORK

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Code of Rules & Regs. Tit. 18, § 421.27 

The applicant and any person older than age 18 residing in the applicant's household must be included in the 
study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Dom. Rel. Law § 115-d

A preplacement investigation conducted pursuant to the provisions of this section shall be made by a 
disinterested person who in the opinion of the court is qualified by training and experience to examine 
the allegations set forth in the application and any other factors that may be relevant to the suitability 
of the applicant or applicants as a qualified adoptive parent or parents. For the purposes of this section, 
a disinterested person shall include a licensed master social worker, licensed clinical social worker, the 
probation service of the family court, or an authorized agency specifically designated by the court to conduct 
preplacement investigations. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Code of Rules & Regs. Tit. 18, § 421.16 

Applicants shall be at least age 18. The agency shall not establish any other minimum or maximum age for 
acceptance. An applicant shall healthy enough to have the energy and other abilities needed to fulfill the 
parental responsibilities.

Agencies must not consider marital status in their acceptance of applicants. Married applicants must have been 
married for at least 1 year. An adoptive applicant may not be rejected for adoption because of his or her fertility. 
The significance of fertility and/or infertility as it relates to the desire to adopt shall always be explored in the 
adoption process, but applicants shall not be required to provide proof of infertility.

http://164.64.110.239/nmac/_title08/T08C026.htm
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The agency may study family size as it relates to the ability of a family to care for another child and the quality 
of life that will be offered to an adoptive child. 

Employment, education, or volunteer activities of the applicants may not be a basis for rejection. Race, ethnic 
group, and religion shall not be a basis for rejecting an adoption applicant. 

No applicant shall be rejected based on low income or because of receipt of income maintenance payments. 
The adoption study process shall evaluate an applicant's ability to budget his or her resources in such a way 
that a child can be reasonably assured of minimum standards of nutrition, health, shelter, clothing, and other 
essentials.

Changes in employment and residences may be examined to determine the significance of such changes for the 
functioning and well-being of the family and any child to be placed in the home. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Code of Rules & Regs. Tit. 18, §§ 421.16; 421.27 

An adoption study shall explore the following attributes of the applicants:
 � Capacity to give and receive affection
 � Ability to provide for a child's physical and emotional needs
 � Ability to accept the intrinsic worth of a child, to respect and share his or her past, and to have realistic 

expectations and goals
 � Flexibility and ability to change
 � Ability to cope with problems, stress, and frustration 
 � Feelings about parenting an adopted child and the ability to make a commitment to a child placed in the 

home
 � Ability to use community resources to strengthen and enrich family functioning

A report of a physical examination conducted not more than 1 year preceding the date of the adoption 
application regarding the family's general health; the absence of communicable disease, infection, or illness; or 
any physical condition that might affect the proper care of an adopted child is required.

An adoption study shall inquire into an applicant's experience with children and offer him or her, if feasible, the 
opportunity to increase his or her experience, knowledge, and skills in this area. 

An adoption study shall include a check with the State child maltreatment central registry as to whether the 
subject has an indicated maltreatment report on file. If the applicant or other household member age 18 or 
older has resided out-of-State at any time during the previous 5 years, a check of out-of-State registries must 
be made. The study also must include a check of whether the applicant or an adult household member is listed 
on the vulnerable persons' central register.

An authorized agency must perform fingerprint-based State and Federal criminal history record checks 
regarding any prospective adoptive parent and each person older than age 18 who is currently residing in the 
home of the prospective adoptive parent before the adoptive parent is finally approved for the placement of a 
child. 
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Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Code of Rules & Regs. Tit. 18, §§ 421.16; 421.27 

If the applicant is the subject of an indicated report of child abuse or maltreatment, the agency must determine 
on the basis of the information it has available and in accordance with guidelines developed by the Office of 
Children and Family Services whether to approve the application. If the applicant or other household member 
older than age 18 is listed on the vulnerable persons' central register, the agency must determine whether to 
approve the application.

Current abuse of alcohol or other drugs requires the rejection of an application. The record must clearly show 
how the finding of such abuse was made.

The authorized agency must deny an adoption application when a criminal history record of the prospective or 
approved adoptive parent reveals any of the following:
 � A felony conviction at any time involving any of the following:

 – Child abuse or neglect
 – Spousal abuse
 – A crime against a child, including child pornography
 – A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, other than a crime involving 

physical assault or battery
 � A felony conviction within 5 years for physical assault, battery, or a drug-related offense

The authorized agency may deny an application for approval of a prospective adoptive parent when any of the 
following applies:
 � A criminal history record of the prospective or approved adoptive parent reveals a charge or a conviction of a 

crime other than one set forth above
 � A criminal history record of any other person older than age 18 who resides in the home of the prospective or 

approved adoptive parent reveals a charge or a conviction of any crime

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Dom. Rel. Law § 115

A person seeking to commence a private-placement adoption shall be certified as a qualified adoptive parent by 
a court of competent jurisdiction prior to the placement of a child in his or her home. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Dom. Rel. Law § 116

When the adoptive child is younger than age 18, no order of adoption shall be made until 3 months after the 
petition to adopt has been filed.

A postplacement investigation shall be made by a disinterested person who has no interest in the outcome of 
petitioner's application. The disinterested person shall make a written report of his or her investigation that 
shall include, but not be limited to, the following information:
 � The marital and family status and history of the adoptive parents and adoptive child
 � The physical and mental health of the adoptive parents and adoptive child
 � The property owned by and the income of the adoptive parents
 � The compensation paid or agreed upon with respect to the placement of the child for adoption
 � Whether either adoptive parent has ever been a respondent in any proceeding concerning allegedly abused, 

neglected, abandoned, or delinquent children
 � Any other facts relating to the familial, social, religious, emotional, and financial circumstances of the 

adoptive parents that may be relevant to a determination of adoption
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The written report of investigation shall be submitted to the court within 30 days unless the court grants an 
extension for good cause shown. The report shall be filed, in any event, before the final order of adoption is 
granted. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Dom. Rel. Law §§ 115-d; 116 

A preplacement investigation is not required when the petition to adopt is filed by a stepparent for the adoption 
of a stepchild when the stepchild has resided with the birth parent and the stepparent for a continuous period 
of at least 1 year.

When the spouse of the adoptive parent is the birth parent of the child and the child has resided with the birth 
parent and adoptive parent for more than 3 months before the adoption petition was filed, a waiting period 
shall not be required. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Code of Rules & Regs. Tit. 18, § 421.14 

When the Office of Children and Family Services, through the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, 
receives a request to conduct a home study for the approval of persons in New York as adoptive parents 
for a child from another State, the office will forward the request to the social services district in which the 
prospective adoptive parent resides for the purpose of conducting a home study and approving the prospective 
adoptive parent in accordance with these regulations. The social services district may conduct the study 
directly or may use a voluntary authorized agency to conduct the home study. The study must be completed 
and simultaneously returned within 60 days to the Office of Children and Family Services and the State or local 
agency that submitted the request.

The prospective adoptive parent need not complete the education or training requirements of this part for the 
completion of the home study.

The term 'home study' means an assessment of the safety and suitability of placing the child in the home of the 
prospective adoptive parent based on an evaluation of a home environment.

When a social services district proposes to place a foster child or children with prospective adoptive parent(s) 
in another State, the social services district must treat a home study received from the other State, an Indian 
Tribe, or a private agency under contract with the other State as meeting the requirements imposed by New 
York for the completion of a home study before placing the child or children in the home, unless within 14 days 
of the receipt of the home study, the social services district determines, based on the content of the home 
study, that making a decision in reliance on the home study would be contrary to the welfare of the child or 
children. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Code of Rules & Regs. Tit. 18, § 421.19 

Authorized agencies shall offer an adoption application to foster parents or refer them to an authorized agency 
that operates an adoption program when a child in their care for 12 continuous months has been freed for 
adoption. An agency shall accept an adoption application from a foster parent seeking to adopt a child who 
has been in his home for less than 12 continuous months. The agency must assess and prepare foster parent 
adoptive applicants as rapidly as possible, as follows:

 � Review the information about the family that was obtained in the original foster home study and annual 
recertification

 � Identify information needed in an adoption study that was lacking or insufficiently current
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 � Identify those areas of family functioning that may need further exploration or strengthening
 � Conduct an adoption study process with the following attributes:

 – Does not repeat information-gathering activities
 – Obtains additional or updated information as rapidly as possible, including obtaining criminal history 

record checks 
 – Focuses on areas identified as needing further exploration or strengthening
 – Clarifies for the applicant the difference between foster care and adoption and the issues involved in 

obtaining an adoption subsidy
 – Includes checking whether an applicant or other person older than age 18 who resides in the home is the 

subject of an indicated report of child abuse or maltreatment on file with the State child maltreatment 
central registry, is listed on the child abuse registry of another State, or is listed on the register of 
substantiated cases of abuse or neglect maintained by the Justice Center for the Protection of People With 
Special Needs

Links to Resources

New York City Foster Parent's Guide to Adoption (New York State Office of Children & Family Services) 

New York State Foster Parent's Guide to Adoption (New York State Office of Children & Family Services) 

State regulations 

NORTH CAROLINA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 48-3-309

The prospective adoptive parents and all individuals age 18 or older residing in the prospective adoptive home 
shall be included in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 48-1-109 

Only a county department of social services in this State or an agency licensed by the State Department of 
Social Services may prepare preplacement assessments. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 48-3-301 

An individual seeking to adopt a child must be found to be suitable to be an adoptive parent, either in general or 
for a specific minor. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Gen. Stat. §§ 48-3-303; 48-3-309

The preplacement assessment must include at least one personal interview with each individual being assessed. 
The preplacement assessment shall report on the following: 
 � Nationality, race or ethnicity, and any religious preference
 � Marital and family status and history, including the presence of any children born to or adopted by the 

individual and any other children in the household
 � Date of birth

http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/publications/Pub5022.pdf
http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/publications/Pub5033.pdf
https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Browse/Home/NewYork/NewYorkCodesRulesandRegulations?guid=I750f2550b80f11dd9190c387f1d75965&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default)
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 � Physical and mental health, including any addiction to alcohol or drugs
 � Education and employment history and any special skills
 � Property, income, and current financial information
 � Reason for wanting to adopt
 � Whether the individual has ever been a respondent in a domestic violence proceeding or a proceeding 

concerning a minor who was allegedly abused, dependent, neglected, abandoned, or delinquent and the 
outcome of the proceeding 

 � Whether the individual has ever been convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation
 � The quality of the environment in the home and the functioning of any children in the household

The department shall ensure that fingerprint-based criminal histories of all prospective adoptive parents and 
all individuals age 18 or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home are checked prior to placement and, 
based on the criminal history, a determination is made as to the prospective adoptive parent(s)' fitness to have 
responsibility for the safety and well-being of children and whether other individuals required to be checked 
are fit for an adoptive child to reside with them in the home. The department shall ensure that all individuals 
required to be checked are checked prior to placement for county, State, and Federal criminal histories. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 48-3-309

A county department of social services shall issue an unfavorable preplacement assessment to a prospective 
adoptive parent if any person residing in the home has a criminal history. An unfavorable preplacement 
assessment shall be issued when the county department of social services determines that, based on other 
criminal convictions, whether felony or misdemeanor, the prospective adoptive parent is unfit to have 
responsibility for the safety and well-being of children or other individuals required to be checked are found 
unfit for an adoptive child to reside with them in the home.

For purposes of this section, the term 'criminal history' means the following: 
 � A county, State, or Federal conviction of a felony or a pending felony indictment for any of the following: 

 – A crime for child abuse or neglect
 – Spousal abuse
 – A crime against a child, including child pornography
 – A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, other than physical assault or 

battery
 � A county, State, or Federal conviction of a felony or a pending felony indictment for physical assault, battery, 

or a drug-related offense, if the offense was committed within the past 5 years

Refusal to consent to a criminal history check by any individual required to be checked is grounds for the 
issuance of an unfavorable preplacement assessment. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 48-3-301

A preplacement assessment must be completed or updated within 18 months immediately preceding a 
placement of a child for adoption. 
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Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Gen. Stat. §§ 48-2-501; 48-2-502

Whenever a petition for adoption of a minor is filed, the court shall order a report to the court made to assist 
the court in determining if the proposed adoption of the minor by the petitioner is in the minor's best interests.

In preparing the report, the agency shall conduct a personal interview with each petitioner in the petitioner's 
residence and at least one additional interview with each petitioner and the adoptee. The agency shall observe 
the relationship between the adoptee and the petitioners.

The report must contain the following:
 � An account of the petitioner's marital or family status, physical and mental health, home environment, 

property, income, and financial obligations
 � All reasonably available nonidentifying information concerning the physical, mental, and emotional condition 

of the adoptee
 � Copies of any court order, judgment, decree, or pending legal proceeding affecting the adoptee, the 

petitioner, or any child of the petitioner relevant to the welfare of the adoptee
 � A list of the expenses, fees, or other charges incurred, paid, or to be paid in connection with the adoption
 � Any fact or circumstance known to the agency that raises a specific concern about whether the proposed 

adoption is contrary to the best interests of the adoptee because it poses a significant risk of harm to the 
well-being of the adoptee

 � A finding by the agency concerning the suitability of the petitioner and the petitioner's home for the adoptee
 � A recommendation concerning the granting of the petition

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Gen. Stat. §§ 48-3-301; 48-2-501 

A preplacement assessment is not required in an independent adoption when a prospective adoptive parent is 
a grandparent, full or half sibling, first cousin, aunt, uncle, great-aunt, great-uncle, or great-grandparent of the 
minor.

The following exceptions for the requirement for a postpetition report apply:
 � In any stepparent adoption in which the minor has lived with the stepparent for at least the 2 consecutive 

years immediately preceding the filing of the petition, the court may order a report. However, the court is 
not required to order a report unless the minor's consent is to be waived, the minor has revoked consent, or 
both of the minor's parents are dead.

 � In any adoption of a minor by the minor's grandparent in which the minor has lived with the grandparent 
for at least the 2 consecutive years immediately preceding the filing of the petition, the court may order a 
report. However, the court is not required to order a report unless the minor's consent is to be waived, the 
minor has revoked consent, or the minor is eligible for adoption assistance.

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Gen. Stat. §§ 48-3-207; 48-1-109 

An interstate placement of a minor for purposes of adoption shall comply with the Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children.

A preplacement assessment prepared in another State may be used in this State only if the following conditions 
are met:
 � The prospective adoptive parent resided in the State where it was prepared.
 � The person or entity that prepared it was authorized by the law of that State to gather the necessary 

information.



Children’s Bureau/ACYF/ACF/HHS | 800.394.3366  |  Email: info@childwelfare.gov  |  https://www.childwelfare.gov 114

An assessment prepared in another State that does not meet the requirements of this section and § 48-3-303 
must be updated by a county department, a licensed agency, or a person or entity authorized to gather the 
necessary information pursuant to the laws of the State where the prospective adoptive parent resides before 
being used in this State. 

An order for a report to the court must be sent to a county department, a licensed agency, or a person or entity 
authorized to prepare adoption home assessments under the laws of the petitioner's State of residence. If the 
petitioner moves to a different State before the agency completes the report, the agency shall request a report 
from a person or entity authorized to prepare home assessments under the laws of the petitioner's new State of 
residence. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

Child Welfare Manual, Adoption Services Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (North Carolina Department of Health 
and Human Services) 

State regulations 

NORTH DAKOTA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code § 75-03-36-28 

An adoption assessment must be completed on any prospective adoptive parent. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Admin. Code § 75-03-36-28 

A child-placing agency shall conduct the adoption assessment. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 14-15-03

The following individuals may adopt:
 � A husband and wife together, although one or both are minors
 � An unmarried adult
 � The unmarried father or mother of the adoptee

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Cent. Code §§ 14-15-11; 14-15.1-04; Admin. Code § 75-03-36-31 

An investigation must be made by a licensed child-placing agency to inquire into the conditions and 
antecedents of a child sought to be adopted and of the petitioner for the purpose of ascertaining whether the 
adoptive home is a suitable home for the child and whether the proposed adoption is in the best interests of the 
child. The report of the investigation must contain a review of the child’s history and a preplacement adoption 
assessment of the petitioner, including a criminal history record investigation.

https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/modified-manual-1/adoptions-1.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20h/subchapter%20h%20rules.pdf
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An 'identified adoptive parent' is the person who has been selected by a birth parent to adopt a specific child. 
Before an adoption hearing under this chapter, the report of a child-placing agency must be filed with the 
court. The report must include the following:
 � A recommendation as to whether the home of the adoptive parent is a suitable home for the child
 � A preplacement adoption assessment indicating how the adoptive parent's emotional maturity, finances, 

health, relationships, criminal history record, and any other relevant factors may affect the parent's ability to 
accept, care for, and provide the child with an adequate environment in which to mature

In regulation: The adoption assessment shall include the following:
 � Evidence of stability of the adoptive parents' marital or other significant relationships
 � The applicant's emotional stability and maturity, including a history of treatment for substance abuse, mental 

health concerns, or abuse or neglect issues
 � The applicant's parenting skills
 � Reports of the physical examination of the applicant, current within the past 12 months
 � The applicant's ability to provide financially for the adoptee 
 � Results of fingerprint-based criminal history records and child abuse and neglect index checks

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code § 75-03-36-31 

When an applicant is denied a positive recommendation for adoption, the child-placing agency shall inform the 
applicant, in writing, of the reasons the child cannot be placed in the applicant's home. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 14-15-11; Admin. Code §§ 75-03-36-28; 75-03-36-31

A written report of the investigation must be filed with the court by the investigator before the adoption 
petition is heard.

In regulation: A child-placing agency may not place a child into an adoptive home without a full adoption 
assessment being completed on the prospective adoptive parents, including required fingerprint-based criminal 
history record investigations and child abuse and neglect index investigations.

The child-placing agency shall require an adoptive family assessment be updated at least every 2 years from the 
date of completion of the original assessment until a child is placed into the home for the purpose of adoption. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Gen. Stat. § 14-15-11; Admin. Code § 75-03-36-30

The report of the investigation must contain a postplacement evaluation of the placement with a 
recommendation as to the granting of the petition for adoption and any other information the court requires 
regarding the petitioner or the child.

In regulation: The child-placing agency shall do the following:
 � Make continuing supportive services available for children and families following adoptive placement
 � Interview all members of the adoptive family in the family home 
 � Have face-to-face visits with the child on a monthly basis, primarily in the child's residence
 � Provide assistance to the adoptive family in completing the legal adoption of the child



Children’s Bureau/ACYF/ACF/HHS | 800.394.3366  |  Email: info@childwelfare.gov  |  https://www.childwelfare.gov 116

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Gen. Stat. §§ 14-15-11; 14-15.1-04

An investigation and report are not required in cases in which a stepparent is the petitioner. If the petitioner 
is a relative other than a stepparent of the child, the child has lived with the petitioner for at least 9 months, 
no allegations of abuse or neglect have been filed against the petitioner or any member of the petitioner's 
household, and the court is satisfied that the proposed adoptive home is appropriate for the child, the court 
may waive the investigation and report. 

If the identified adoptive parent is a relative of the child, the report of a child-placing agency must include the 
following:
 � An assessment and recommendation of the criminal history record of the identified adoptive parent and any 

adult living in the home of the adoptive parent
 � Written credible character statements from three adult witnesses that include the following: 

 – The relationship of the witness to the adoptive parent
 – The relationship, love, and other emotional ties existing between the child and the adoptive parent
 – The emotional maturity and moral character of the adoptive parent
 – The sufficiency and stability of the adoptive parent's home environment
 – The ability of the adoptive parent to provide food, clothing, shelter, and medical care for the child
 – The mental and physical health of the adoptive parent, if known

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Cent. Code § 14-13-01

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

Adoption Program [web section] (North Dakota Department of Human Services)

State regulations 

NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS

Current Through August 2020   

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Commonwealth Code Tit. 8, § 1410

The petitioner(s) may be the subject of an investigation. 

http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/childfamily/adoption/
http://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-03-36.pdf
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Commonwealth Code Tit. 8, § 1410

The investigation shall be made by the Division of Youth Services, its designee, or another qualified person or 
agency designated by the court. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Commonwealth Code Tit. 8, § 1403

An adult person who is a resident of the Commonwealth may petition to adopt. The person may be single, 
married to the legal mother or father of the child, or married and petitioning jointly with his or her spouse. The 
petitioner must be at least 10 years older than the child to be adopted. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Commonwealth Code Tit. 8, § 1410

If so ordered by the court, an investigation ('home study') shall be of the petitioner for the purpose of 
determining whether the adoptive home is suitable for the child and whether the proposed adoption is in the 
best interests of the child. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Commonwealth Code Tit. 8, § 1410

A written report of the home study must be filed with the court before the petition for adoption can be heard. 

Postplacement Study Requirements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Links to Resources

None are available online. 

OHIO

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code § 5101:2-48-09

Each adoptive applicant and each adult household member of the applicant's home shall be included in the 
study. 
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 3107.031; 3107.014 

An assessor shall conduct a home study for the purpose of determining whether a person seeking to adopt a 
child is suitable to adopt.

Except as provided below, only an individual who meets all of the following requirements may perform the 
duties of an assessor:
 � The individual must be in the employ of, appointed by, or under contract with a court, public children's 

services agency, private child-placing agency, or private noncustodial agency.
 � The individual must be one of the following:

 – A licensed professional clinical counselor, professional counselor, social worker, or marriage and family 
therapist

 – A licensed psychologist
 – A student working to earn a 4-year, postsecondary degree or higher in a social or behavior science who 

conducts assessor's duties under the supervision of a licensed professional clinical counselor, social 
worker, or marriage and family therapist

 – A civil service employee engaging in social work without a license, as permitted by § 4757.41(A)(5)
 – A former employee of a public children services agency who, while so employed, conducted the duties of 

an assessor

The individual must complete training in accordance with rules adopted under § 3107.015.

An individual in the employ of, appointed by, or under contract with a court prior to September 18, 1996, to 
conduct adoption investigations of prospective adoptive parents may perform the duties of an assessor under 
§§ 3107.031, 3107.032, 3107.082, 3107.09, 3107.101, 3107.12, 5103.0324, and 5103.152 if the individual complies 
with the training requirements of this section regardless of whether the individual meets the professional 
requirements listed above. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 3107.03; 3107.031; Admin. Code § 5101:2-48-09

The following persons may adopt:
 � A husband and wife together, at least one of whom is an adult
 � An unmarried adult
 � The unmarried minor parent of the adoptee

The assessor shall not consider the person's age when determining whether the person is suitable to adopt if 
the person is old enough to adopt.

In regulation: The child-placing agency shall provide preservice training to all adoptive applicants prior to 
approval of the home study. Preservice training shall include the following: 
 � The legal rights and responsibilities of adoptive parents
 � The child-placing agency's policies and procedures
 � The Department of Job and Family Services requirements for approving adoptive applicants 
 � The effects placement, separation, and attachment issues have on children and their families
 � Caregivers' involvement in permanency planning for children and their families and postadoptive issues for 

children and families, including the availability of adoption subsidies
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 � The dynamics of physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional abuse, neglect, and substance abuse on human 
growth and development 

 � Behavior management techniques
 � The effects of caregiving on children's families
 � Prevention, recognition, and management of communicable diseases
 � Community health and social services available to children and their families
 � Cultural issues, including cultural diversity training
 � The substance of § 2152.72 of the Revised Code that deals with the information required to be shared with a 

prospective adoptive parent before a child who has been adjudicated a delinquent child for the commission 
of certain violent crimes is placed with a prospective adoptive parent

The agency may waive components of the requirement for education and training if the assessor determines 
that the family has received training previously or the family has the skills to care for the needs of the child who 
will be placed in the home. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 3107.033; 3107.034; 3107.035; Admin. Code §§ 5101:2-48-09; 5101:2-48-12

A home study shall include a search of the statewide automated child welfare information system and a check 
of a central registry of another State if a prospective adoptive parent or a person age 18 or older who resides 
with a prospective adoptive parent has resided in another State within the 5-year period immediately prior to 
the date on which a criminal records check is requested.

At the time of the initial home study and every 2 years thereafter, if the home study is updated, the agency 
that arranges an adoption shall conduct a search of the U.S. Department of Justice national sex offender 
public website regarding the prospective adoptive parent and all persons age 18 or older who reside with the 
prospective adoptive parent.

In regulation: The home study shall include the following:
 � Documentation of current marital status, if applicable
 � A financial statement that shows the household has an income sufficient to meet the basic needs of the 

household 
 � The report of State and Federal criminal records checks
 � The results of a central registry of abuse and neglect for each adoptive applicant and each adult household 

member in every State in which the person has resided in the past 5 years
 � Face-to-face interviews with all members of the household older than age 4
 � Interviews with any adult children of the applicants
 � A medical statement that documents that the applicant and all members of the household are free from any 

physical, emotional, or mental condition that would endanger children or seriously impair the ability of the 
household members to care for the adoptee

 � The names of three people unrelated to the applicant who do not reside with the applicant to serve as 
references

 � Documentation of the successful completion of required preservice training
 � A favorable local or State fire safety inspection
 � Documentation that the residence meets all safety standards
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Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 3107.034; 3107.035; Admin. Code § 5101:2-48-10

The summary report of a search of the statewide automated child welfare information system shall contain, if 
applicable, a chronological list of abuse and neglect determinations or allegations of which the person seeking 
to adopt is subject and in regards to which a public children services agency has done one of the following:
 � Determined that abuse or neglect occurred
 � Initiated an investigation, which is ongoing
 � Initiated an investigation for which the agency was unable to determine whether abuse or neglect occurred

An application for adoption may be denied based on a summary report containing the information described 
above, when considered within the totality of the circumstances. 

A petition for adoption may be denied based solely on the results of the search of the national sex offender 
public website.

In regulation: The agency shall not approve an adoptive placement if the results of the criminal records check 
indicate that a prospective adoptive parent or, when applicable, any adult who resides with the prospective 
adoptive parent, has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to any offense listed this rule, including any of the 
following:
 � Cruelty to animals
 � Murder, manslaughter, or assault 
 � Permitting child abuse
 � Aggravated menacing, menacing by stalking, or menacing
 � Patient abuse or neglect
 � Kidnapping or abduction
 � Criminal child enticement
 � A sexual offense, including rape, sexual battery, unlawful sexual conduct with a minor, voyeurism, public 

indecency, or prostitution
 � Arson or terrorism
 � Robbery, burglary, or identity fraud
 � Rioting or disturbing a lawful meeting
 � Endangering children
 � Contributing to the unruliness or delinquency of a child
 � Domestic violence
 � Weapons-related offenses
 � Drug-related offenses
 � Ethnic intimidation

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 5101:2-48-12; 5101:2-48-12.1

The required assessment of an adoptive applicant shall commence within 30 days after the agency receives a 
fully completed application. The agency shall complete the home study assessment within 180 days of the date 
the agency received the application.
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All adoption home studies shall be updated every 2 years from the date of approval of the initial home study 
or the date of approval of the most current update, whichever is more recent. The update shall include the 
following:
 � The most recent medical statement completed for the applicant and all household members by a licensed 

physician, physician assistant, clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse practitioner, or certified nurse-
midwife

 � A report of a physical, psychiatric, or psychological examination or treatment of the adoptive parent(s) or 
other household member to ensure the safety, health, or care of an adoptive child

 � The most recent fire inspection by a State certified fire safety inspector or the State fire marshal's office 
 � The most recent financial statement
 � A check of the abuse and neglect report history of each adoptive parent and adult household member
 � A safety audit to be completed within 6 months prior to the approval of the adoption home study update, 

that documents that the residence continues to meet all safety standards
 � The most recent criminal records check for the adoptive parents and adult household members
 � A minimum of one written reference from a professional who is knowledgeable of the family dynamics and 

family functioning
 � At least one home visit and one interview with each member of the household (except foster children) over 

age 4 currently residing in the home

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 3107.101; 3107.12; 3107.13 

No later than 7 days after an adoptee is placed in a prospective adoptive home, the assessor shall begin monthly 
home visits in that home until the court issues a final decree of adoption. During the home visits, the assessor 
shall evaluate the progress of the placement in the prospective adoptive home and also shall make face-to-face 
contact with the prospective adoptive parent, the adoptee, and all other children or adults residing in the home.

An assessor shall conduct a prefinalization assessment of the child and petitioner before a court issues a final 
decree of adoption. On completion of the assessment, the assessor shall prepare a written report that includes 
the following:
 � The adjustment of the child and the petitioner to the adoptive placement
 � The present and anticipated needs of the child and the petitioner for adoption-related services 
 � The physical, mental, and developmental condition of the child
 � If known, the child's birth family background
 � The reasons for the child's placement with the petitioner, the petitioner's attitude toward the proposed 

adoption, and the circumstances under which the child was placed in the home of the petitioner
 � The attitude of the child toward the proposed adoption, if the child's age makes this feasible
 � If the child is an Indian child, how the placement complies with the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978
 � If known, the child's psychological background, including prior abuse of the child and behavioral problems of 

the child

A final decree of adoption shall not be issued until the adoptee has lived in the adoptive home for at least 6 
months after placement and the department or court has had an opportunity to observe or investigate the 
adoptive home. 
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Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 3107.101; 3107.12; 3107.13 

The requirement for monthly home visits does not apply to an adoption by a stepparent whose spouse is a 
birth or adoptive parent of the adoptee. The requirement for a prefinalization assessment does not apply to a 
stepparent adoption unless a court, after determining a prefinalization assessment is in the best interests of the 
child, orders that an assessor conduct a prefinalization assessment.

In the case of adoption by a stepparent, the final order of adoption shall not be issued until at least 6 months 
after the filing of the petition or until the child has lived in the home for at least 6 months. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Code § 5103.23

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Rev. Code § 3107.012 

A foster caregiver may apply to obtain the services of an agency to arrange an adoption for the foster caregiver 
if he or she seeks to adopt the foster child who has resided in the foster caregiver's home for at least 6 months. 

The department shall prescribe an application for a foster caregiver to use. The application shall not require 
that the foster caregiver provide any information the foster caregiver already provided the department or 
undergo an inspection the foster caregiver already underwent to obtain a foster home certificate.

An agency that receives an application for adoption from a foster caregiver shall not require, as a condition 
for accepting or approving the application, that the foster caregiver undergo a criminal records check as 
a prospective adoptive parent. The agency shall inform the foster caregiver that the foster caregiver must 
undergo the criminal records check before a court may issue a final decree of adoption or interlocutory order 
of adoption. 

Links to Resources

Ohio Adoption Guide: A Handbook for Prospective Adoptive Families (Ohio Department of Job and Family 
Services) 

State regulations 

OKLAHOMA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10, § 7505-5.3

The study must include the prospective adoptive parents and all other household members who are age 18 and 
older. 

http://www.odjfs.state.oh.us/forms/file.asp?id=521&type=application/pdf
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/5101%3A2-48
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10, § 7505-5.4

Home studies must be conducted only by the following persons or agencies:
 � The agency having custody or legal guardianship of the child
 � The Department of Human Services (DHS)
 � A licensed child-placing agency
 � A person designated by the court who meets one of the following qualifications:

 – A master's degree in social work and 1 year of experience in children's services
 – A member of the Academy of Certified Social Workers and 1 year of experience in children's services
 – A master's degree in a behavioral or social science and 2 years' experience in children's services
 – A doctorate in a behavioral or social science and 1 year of experience in children's services
 – A member of the clergy with 2 years of experience in family counseling

 � A person who is supervised by a person described above who meets one of the following qualifications:
 – A bachelor's degree in social work
 – A bachelor's degree in behavioral or social science and 1 year of experience in children's or family services

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10, § 7503-1.1; Admin. Code § 340:75-15-41.1 

The following persons are eligible to adopt a child:
 � A husband and wife jointly if both spouses are at least age 21
 � Either the husband or wife if the other spouse is a parent or a relative of the child
 � An unmarried person who is at least age 21
 � A married person who is at least age 21 who is legally separated 

In regulation: If a prospective placement provider meets the minimum age required by statute, DHS may not use 
the age of an otherwise eligible individual as a reason for denial of placement. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10, § 7505-5.3

A home study must include at a minimum the following:
 � An appropriate inquiry to determine whether the proposed home is a suitable one for the child
 � At least one individual interview with each parent, each school-age child, and any other household member; 

one joint interview; a home visit; and three written references
 � Verification that the home is a healthy, safe environment in which to raise a child
 � Verification of marital status, employment, income, access to medical care, and physical health and history
 � When the child is in the legal custody of DHS, a Department of Public Safety motor vehicle report for the 

adoptive parents and all other adult household members
 � A review of a criminal background check and a child abuse and neglect information system check that 

includes the following:
 – A national fingerprint-based criminal background check, a search of the Department of Corrections' sex 

offenders registry, and a search of the child abuse and neglect information system
 – For each adoptive parent or other household member age 18 and older who has not maintained 

continuous residency in the State for 5 years prior to the home study or home study update, a child abuse 
registry check from every other State in which the person has resided during the 5-year period
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Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10, § 7505-5.1; Admin. Code § 340:75-15-88 

A prospective adoptive parent shall not be approved for placement of a child if the petitioners or any other 
person residing in the home of the petitioners has been convicted of any of the following felony offenses:
 � Within the 5-year period preceding the date of the petition, physical assault, domestic abuse, battery, or a 

drug-related offense
 � Child abuse or neglect
 � A crime against a child, including child pornography
 � A crime involving violence, including, but not limited to, rape, sexual assault, or homicide

Under no circumstances shall a child be placed with an individual subject to the Oklahoma Sex Offenders 
Registration Act or an individual who is married to or living with an individual subject to the Oklahoma Sex 
Offenders Registration Act. 

In regulation: Other reasons for denial may include any of the following:
 � The applicant lacks a stable, adequate income.
 � The home is inadequate to accommodate the addition of children or presents health or safety concerns.
 � The applicant or any person residing in the home has a history of arrests, convictions, or alleged or 

confirmed child abuse or neglect.
 � The health or any other condition of the applicant would impede his or her ability to parent and provide age-

appropriate activities and care for a child on a permanent basis into adult years.
 � Relationships in the household are unstable and unsatisfactory.
 � The behavioral health of the applicant or other household member would impede the applicant's ability to 

provide care for a child.
 � References are guarded or have reservations in recommending the applicant.
 � The applicant does not complete the required preservice training within 1 year of application.
 � The applicant has applied to adopt a child of a certain age, race, or other characteristic that DHS reasonably 

believes may not be available for adoption in the foreseeable future.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10, § 7505-5.1

A person must have a favorable written preplacement home study before a child may be placed in his or her 
custody for purposes of adoption. A preplacement home study is favorable if it contains a finding that the 
person is suited to be an adoptive parent, either in general or for a particular child, and it is completed or 
brought current within 12 months of the placement of a child. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10, § 7505-5.3

Prior to issuance of a final decree, the investigator shall observe the minor in the proposed adoptive home and 
report in writing to the court on any circumstances or conditions that may have a bearing on the granting of a 
final adoption decree. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10, §§ 7505-5.1; 7505-5.2

A preplacement home study is not required if a parent or guardian places a minor directly with a relative of the 
child for purposes of adoption or if the minor has been residing with a birth parent's spouse for at least 1 year 
when the petition for adoption is filed, but a home study of the relative or stepparent is required during the 
pendency of a proceeding for adoption.
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If a preplacement home study has not been done, the court shall order that a home study be made upon the 
filing of a petition for adoption. If the adoptee is the biological or adopted child of either of the petitioners or 
of the spouse of the petitioner, then the court may waive the requirement for a home study report if the court 
makes the following findings:
 � Waiver of the home study requirement is in the best interests of the child.
 � The parent of the child and the stepparent of the child who are petitioning for adoption have been married 

for at least 1 year with the adoptee living in their home.
 � The stepparent has no record of conviction of a felony or conviction or adjudication in juvenile court for child 

abuse or neglect or domestic violence, and there is no record of a protective order or orders issued against 
the stepparent

In all other adoptions, including foster, relative, and stepparent adoptions, a home study and report shall be 
made. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 10, § 571

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Code § 340:75-15-41.1

During any permanency hearing, if the court determines the child is to be placed for adoption and the child 
has resided with the foster parent for at least 1 year, the court will consider the foster parent eligible to adopt 
and give great weight to the foster parent in the adoption consideration unless there is an existing, loving, 
emotional bond with a relative of the child, by blood or marriage, who is willing, able, and eligible to adopt the 
child. The court must take into account the statutory factors to make the determination, including, but not 
limited to, the age and preference of the child and the long-term best interests of the child. 

Links to Resources

State regulations (select 'View Code,' title 340, chapter 75, subchapter 15)

OREGON

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Rules § 413-120-0450

The adoptive applicant and other persons in the household who are age 18 and older will be included in the 
investigation and study. 

http://www.oar.state.ok.us/oar/codedoc02.nsf/frmMain?OpenFrameSet&Frame=Main&Src=_75tnm2shfcdnm8pb4dthj0chedppmcbq8dtmmak31ctijujrgcln50ob7ckj42tbkdt374obdcli00_
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 109.304 

The home study and placement report are completed by the Department of Human Services, a licensed 
adoption agency, or other public agency. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Rules §§ 413-120-0220; 413-120-0246

The adoptive applicant must be at least age 21, unless one of the following applies:
 � The child welfare program manager or a designee has approved a relative adoptive applicant between age 18 

through 20.
 � The child is an Indian child, and the adoptive applicant is a member of the child's extended family, another 

member of the Indian child's Tribe, or another Indian family.

To be approved to adopt a child in the legal custody of the department, an individual must complete the 
following:
 � Have an adoption home study recommending the applicant as a potential adoptive resource
 � Meet the department's standards for adoptive homes by demonstrating the knowledge, skills, and ability to 

meet, without agency oversight, the current and lifelong needs of the child for all the following:
 – Physical and emotional safety and well-being
 – Developing and maintaining connections to the child's family
 – Continuity and familiarity
 – Appropriate social, educational, developmental, emotional, and physical support
 – Integration into the family
 – Stability and permanency
 – Maintaining his or her identity, cultural, religious, and spiritual heritage 

 � Provide evidence of successful completion of a training program approved by the department, unless the 
adoption program manager has approved an alternate training program

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 109.309; Admin. Rules § 413-200-0314 

In a proceeding for the adoption of a minor child, a current home study must be approved by either the 
department or a licensed adoption agency for the purpose of demonstrating that the petitioner meets the 
minimum standards for adoptive homes as set forth in the department's administrative rules. 

In regulation: To become a certified adoptive resource, the applicant must do the following:
 � Allow the department to conduct an in-home safety assessment of the applicant's home 
 � Allow the department to have face-to-face contact with all members of the applicant's household
 � Provide personal, family, and social history information 
 � Provide information about any current or previous licenses, certifications, or applications for relative care, 

foster care, child care, or adoption
 � Allow the department, at its discretion, to gather information regarding the criminal offender information 

records of any child not in the care or custody of the department who lives in the household if there is 
reason to believe that child may pose a risk to children placed in the home
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In addition, the applicant and each adult member of the applicant's household must have face-to-face contact 
with a department certifier and must provide the following:
 � Information regarding criminal involvement, including arrests and convictions regarding any member of the 

household
 � Information regarding any previous allegations of child abuse and neglect
 � Consent to criminal records and child abuse and neglect background checks

Upon request, the applicant must authorize the department to contact and obtain information from an 
individual or organization in order to complete a thorough background check of the applicant and, if applicable, 
authorize the department to disclose that information as necessary during the certification process.

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Rules §§ 413-120-0225; 413-120-0450 

The department may deny an application at any time when one or more of the following applies: 
 � Information regarding the applicant is sufficient to determine the applicant cannot meet adoption home 

standards.
 � An applicant's license or certificate to provide services to children, the elderly, or individuals with disabilities 

has previously been or is currently being denied, revoked, or suspended.
 � The applicant falsifies or omits information.
 � The applicant does not respond to requests for information within the timelines established by the 

department.
 � The applicant does not submit the required application information.

A conviction for any crime or a false statement about a conviction for any crime may disqualify an applicant 
from being approved as an adoptive parent.

The department may not approve an adoption application, and no exception may be granted, if the applicant 
has been convicted in Oregon or any other jurisdiction of a felony that involves the following:
 � Violence, including rape, sexual assault, and homicide, but not including other physical assault or battery
 � Intentional starvation or torture
 � Abuse or neglect of a child
 � Spousal abuse
 � Aiding, abetting, attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to cause the death of a child
 � Sodomy or sexual abuse
 � A child as the victim, including child pornography
 � Other crimes listed in regulation, including the following:

 – Murder or manslaughter
 – Felony assault if the victim is a child or spouse
 – Kidnapping
 – Rape, incest, sodomy, or sexual abuse
 – Child neglect or abandonment
 – Criminal nonsupport
 – Burglary or robbery if the crime involves violence

The department may not approve an adoption application, and no exception may be granted, if the applicant 
has been convicted of a felony within the preceding 5 years that involves physical assault or battery or a drug-
related offense. 
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When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Admin. Rules § 413-120-0246 

The adoption home study recommending the applicant as a potential adoptive resource must have been 
written, amended, or updated within the 12 months prior to the adoption placement selection. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 109.304; Admin. Rules § 413-120-0860 

A placement report is a written report created after the petition for adoption has been filed that includes the 
department's or the agency's recommendation to the court concerning whether the court should grant the 
petition for adoption based upon the department's or the agency's evaluation of the following:
 � The status and adjustment of the child
 � The status and adjustment of the child's prospective adoptive parent

In regulation: Postplacement supervision must include the following:
 � Monthly face-to-face contact with the child
 � Assessment of the child's safety and well-being
 � Providing services and support to assist the adoptive parent in meeting the requirements described in 

regulation
 � Providing support to the adoptive parent in the process of the completion and submission of the adoption 

assistance application, when applicable
 � Documentation from the supervising worker that includes the supervision reports and a recommendation 

regarding finalization of the adoption

When it becomes known to the department that there are significant changes to the adoptive parent's situation, 
including changes in the family structure, the department may require an updated adoption home study prior 
to making a determination to proceed with finalization of the adoption. 

The standard supervision period for an adoptive placement is a minimum of 6 consecutive months and can 
include the time the adoptive parent was the child's substitute caregiver. When the child's caseworker and the 
adoption worker agree that it is in the child's best interests to proceed with finalization before the standard 
6-month period, the child's caseworker or adoption worker must request approval from their supervisor and 
the adoption program manager.

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 109.309 

The department, upon request by the petitioner, may waive the home study requirement in an adoption 
proceeding in which one of the child's biological parents or adoptive parents retains parental rights or when a 
relative who qualifies under the department's administrative rules for a waiver of the home study requirement 
is the prospective adoptive parent. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 417.200

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 
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Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Rules § 413-120-0541 

A foster parent may request consideration as a current caregiver for a child in the legal custody of the 
department when the requirements of all the following sections are met:
 � Adoption is the child's identified permanency or concurrent permanency plan, and the department 

determines it is in the best interests of the child to proceed with identifying potential adoptive resources.
 � The child has been in the physical custody of the foster parent for the most recent 12 consecutive months.
 � The foster parent is willing to be considered as the adoptive resource for the child's siblings currently in 

substitute care who also have adoption as an identified permanency or concurrent permanency plan.
 � The caseworker and the caseworker's supervisor have complied with the requirements of both of the 

following:
 – Reviewed the department's diligent efforts to identify, contact, and place a child with relatives and to 

place siblings together
 – Have confirmed there are no pending department actions regarding the following:

 � Identifying a child's relatives or a sibling's current guardian, relative, current caregiver, or adoptive 
resource with whom the sibling is currently living

 � Assessing a relative who has expressed an interest in caring for the child and needs to be or is 
currently being assessed as a permanency resource

Links to Resources

State regulations (select chapter 413, division 120) 

PENNSYLVANIA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 23, § 6344

The study investigation shall include the prospective adoptive parents and any individual over age 18 residing in 
the home. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 23, § 2530

The home study shall be conducted by a local public child care agency, an adoption agency, or a licensed social 
worker designated by the court to perform such study. A preplacement report shall be prepared by the agency 
or person conducting the home study. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 23, § 2312

Any individual may become an adopting parent. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 23, §§ 2530; 6344

The preplacement report shall set forth all pertinent information relating to the fitness of the adoptive parents 
as parents. The report shall be based upon a study of the home environment; family life; parenting skills; age; 
physical and mental health; social, cultural, and religious background; facilities and resources of the adoptive 
parents; and their ability to manage their resources.

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/ruleSearch.action
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In the course of an investigation, the prospective adoptive parents and any individual older than age 18 residing 
in the home must submit the following information: 
 � A report of criminal history record information from the State police
 � A certification from the department as to whether the applicant is named in the central register as the 

perpetrator of a founded or indicated report of child abuse
 � A fingerprint-based check of Federal criminal history record information 

If a prospective adoptive parent or any individual over age 18 years has resided outside the State at any time 
within the previous 5 years, the person must submit a certification as to whether the person is named as a 
perpetrator of child abuse obtained within the past year from the Statewide central registry in each State in 
which the person has resided within the previous 5-year period. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 23, § 6344

A prospective adoptive parent may not be approved if any of the following apply to the prospective adoptive 
parent or an individual age 14 or older who resides for at least 30 days in a calendar year with the prospective 
adoptive parent:
 � The person is named in the central register as the perpetrator of a founded report of child abuse committed 

within the 5-year period immediately preceding verification or is named in the central register as the 
perpetrator of a founded report for a school employee committed within the 5-year period immediately 
preceding verification.

 � The person has been found guilty at any time of an offense listed in § 6344(c)(2), including criminal homicide, 
aggravated assault, kidnapping, rape, sexual assault, incest, endangering the welfare of children, prostitution, 
or sexual abuse of children.

 � The person has been found guilty of a drug-related offense within the past 5 years.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 23, §§ 2530; 2531

Before a child may be placed with a prospective adoptive parent, a home study containing a favorable 
recommendation must have been completed within 3 years and been supplemented within 1 year prior to 
placement. 

The preplacement report must be included with a report of intention to adopt that must be filed with the court. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 23, §§ 2533; 2535

Within 6 months after filing the report of intention to adopt, the intermediary that arranged the adoption 
placement of the child shall make a written report to the court in which the petition for adoption will be filed. 
The report shall include the following:
 � The name and address of the intermediary
 � The name, sex, racial background, age, date and place of birth, and religious affiliation of the child
 � The date of the placement of the child with the adoptive parents
 � A statement that medical history information was obtained and, if not obtained, a statement of the reason

When a report of intention to adopt has been filed, the court shall order an investigation to be made and 
a report filed by a local public child care agency, a voluntary child care agency, or an appropriate person 
designated by the court. In lieu of the investigation, the court may accept an investigation made by the agency 
that placed the child, and the report of investigation in such cases may be incorporated into the report of the 
intermediary.
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The investigation shall cover all pertinent information regarding the child's eligibility for adoption and the 
suitability of the placement, including the physical, mental, and emotional needs and welfare of the child and 
the child's and adoptive parents' age; sex; health; and racial, ethnic, and religious background. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Cons. Stat. Tit. 23, § 2531

The report of intention to adopt shall not be required when the child is the child, grandchild, stepchild, brother 
or sister of the whole or half blood, or niece or nephew by blood, marriage, or adoption of the person receiving 
or retaining custody or physical care. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 62, § 761

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 11, § 2624

A resource family parent or parents shall be given an interview with the appropriate county or private agency 
when all the following occur:
 � The county or private agency that placed the child with that resource family has changed the child's goal 

from foster care to adoption.
 � The resource family parent is interested in becoming an adoptive resource for that child.
 � The child has resided with that resource family for 6 months or more.

In addition to information obtained from interviews of other prospective adoptive families, the interviewing 
agency shall convey information obtained from the interview with the resource family parent to the county 
agency responsible for making the determination as to adoptive placement of the child. When more than one 
adoptive resource is available for the placement of a child, the county agency shall document its reasons for 
placing the child with the selected adoptive parents in the child's case record.

No resource parent who meets the conditions set forth above shall be denied consideration as an adoptive 
parent solely because of the inability to access that individual as a resource family parent in the future. 

Links to Resources

State regulations 

PUERTO RICO

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Laws Tit. 8, § 1086d 

A study shall be made of the adoption petitioner. 

http://www.pacodeandbulletin.gov/Display/pacode?file=/secure/pacode/data/055/chapter3350/chap3350toc.html&d=
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Laws Tit. 8, § 1086d 

The Department of the Family or any licensed private adoption agency shall file a report on the home study 
with the court for the adjudication of any petition for the adoption of a minor.  

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Laws Tit. 8, § 1086d 

The home study or report shall include the family background of the petitioners, the adoptee, and his parent or 
parents, as well as any other material circumstances of the case, such as the following:
 � Interviews with the parents, the adoptive parties, and the adoptee, as well as the matters discussed
 � Home visits with the parents and adoptive parents
 � A physical description of the residence and the child safety measures inside and outside of the residence
 � A health certificate of the adoptive party
 � The health condition of the adoptee
 � A certification of income and the management thereof
 � The criminal history and history of child abuse
 � A family history, including a description of the adoptive parties, their interpersonal and family relations, and 

significant events in their lives
 � The past and present education and employment
 � A description of the family dynamic in terms of the decision-making process, social life, life changes resulting 

from having an adoptee in their home, and dealing with this situation
 � A description of the family's daily routine, child care, hobbies, and interests
 � The experience raising and caring for children
 � A description of the neighborhood where the adoptive parties lives and references from neighbors
 � The system of values to be instilled in the minor
 � The motivations for choosing adoption
 � The support system, whether from the extended family or external
 � Any other aspect or criteria to be adopted by the department for the preparation of home studies in 

accordance with its regulations and the guidelines adopted by the Federal Government

Grounds for Withholding Approval

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed.

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Laws Tit. 8, § 1086d

The home study shall be filed within a maximum term of 30 days from the date of notice of the petition. If the 
home study is intended for use in the adoption hearing, the study shall not be older than 1 year.
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Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Laws Tit. 8, § 1086d 

The home study shall include the recommendations of the agency on whether it is in the best interests of the 
minor to remain in custody of the petitioners and under the supervision of the agency or whether the adoption 
should proceed.

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed.

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Laws Tit. 8, § 549

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes reviewed. 

Links to Resources

None are available online.

RHODE ISLAND

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Gen. Laws § 15-7-11 

The prospective adoptive parents, all prospective siblings, and any other household members shall be included 
in the home study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Gen. Laws § 15-7-11 

The Department of Children, Youth and Families (DCYF) shall have the duty to verify the allegations of an 
adoption petition and to make an appropriate investigation to determine whether the proposed adoptive home 
is a suitable home for the child. When a child has been placed for adoption by a duly licensed child-placing 
agency, the court may accept the home study report of the child-placing agency in lieu of the investigation and 
recommendation of DCYF. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Gen. Laws § 15-7-4; Code of Rules § 214-40-00-5

Any person residing in Rhode Island may petition the family court to adopt as his or her child any person 
younger than him or herself and under age 18. 
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In regulation: The child-placing agency shall establish physical requirements for adoptive homes, including, but 
not limited to, the following:  
 � The adoptive home shall be clean, safe, free of obvious hazards, and of sufficient size to accommodate 

comfortably all members of the household.  
 � The adoptive home shall have adequate lighting and ventilation, hot and cold water supply, plumbing, 

electricity, and heat.  
 � Reports by the Health Department must be in the adoptive home file as to the following: 

 – A finding of safety when well water is used by the adoptive family  
 – A finding of approval when septic tanks and leach-fields are used by the adoptive family

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Gen. Laws § 15-7-11 

All home studies shall be based on a minimum of two home visits by the agency conducting the home study. All 
prospective siblings and any other household members shall be interviewed during a home visit. The following 
information shall be included in all home studies:
 � Identifying information on all household members, including minor children and the current needs of each 

child
 � Information regarding the prospective adoptive parent(s)' motivation and reasons for the adoption
 � Current background information on the prospective adoptive parents, including a written self-assessment
 � Child care experience and parenting philosophy
 � Information regarding past and present marriage and/or partnership relationships
 � Current medical and psychological conditions, including addiction to drugs or alcohol, that may be seriously 

detrimental to the health and welfare of children
 � A description of the home and local community, including any health and safety concerns regarding the 

home
 � Information regarding finances and employment
 � Reference letters from at least three individuals, at least two of whom are nonrelatives
 � Results of background checks with DCYF and clearance checks regarding State and Federal criminal records, 

without disclosing the nature of the disqualifying information, conducted on the prospective adoptive 
parents and any household member age 18 and older

 � Information related to the prospective adoptive parent's willingness and ability to accept and cooperate with 
adoption support services, including their level of understanding regarding openness with the birth family

 � Information related to the match between prospective adoptive parents and the child, including attitudes 
and capabilities of prospective adoptive parents and the child's characteristics and background

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Gen. Laws § 15-7-11; Code of Rules § 214-40-00-5 

The director of DCYF will determine by rules and regulations those items of information appearing on a 
criminal-records check that constitute disqualifying information because that information would indicate 
the prospective adoptive parent could endanger the health or welfare of a child. Upon the discovery of any 
disqualifying information with respect to a proposed prospective adoptive parent, the director shall inform the 
agency that disqualifying information has been discovered, without disclosing the nature of the disqualifying 
information.
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In regulation: The agency shall deny approval of an adoption application if any of the following apply to the 
applicant:
 � Has been convicted of, or is serving an active probationary sentence for, a disqualifying criminal offense
 � Falsifies or omits facts on an application form or during an adoptive home study
 � Impedes an adoptive study
 � Has a documented history of substantiated child abuse or neglect
 � Has a past or current history of agency or departmental intervention deemed detrimental to the care of a 

child
 � Has a documented history of chemical- or alcohol-related problems
 � Would not provide satisfactory parenting for a child

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Gen. Laws § 15-7-11 

The report of the investigation shall be submitted within 60 days. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Code of Rules § 214-40-00-5 

The social service worker shall visit the adoptive family at least twice after the placement of a child and prior 
to the final decree. A summary of the observations made during the visits shall be recorded and used in making 
final recommendations as to the finalization of the adoption. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Gen. Laws § 15-7-11 

Provisions of this section requiring a home study may, in the discretion of the court, be waived in the case of a 
petition for the adoption of a child where the child is the natural child of one of the parties petitioning for the 
adoption and resides with the petitioning parties. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Gen. Laws § 40-15-1

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Gen. Laws § 42-72-5.1 

The foster parents of a child who have had the physical custody of the child for a period of 2 years or more may 
petition the family court for the adoption of the child. The court shall give notice of the petition to the natural 
parents and, after a hearing thereon, the court may grant the petition, if it finds that the following apply:
 � DCYF has made every effort to involve the natural parents in planning for the child.
 � The natural parents did not exercise reasonable visitation rights with the child.
 � Termination of the rights of the natural parents and adoption by the foster parents is in the best interests of 

the child.
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Links to Resources

Policy Manual 2020 (select 'Adoption' from the menu) (Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth and 
Families)

State regulations 

SOUTH CAROLINA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Code § 63-9-520; Code of Regs. § 114-4980

An investigation must be made of the prospective adoptive parent(s).

In regulation: Each member of the household must be included in the adoption study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Code of Regs. § 114-4980

The child-placing agency shall conduct the adoptive study. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Code § 63-9-60

Any South Carolina resident may petition the court to adopt a child. Any nonresident of South Carolina may 
petition the court to adopt a child in the following circumstances only:
 � The child is a special needs child.
 � The child is to be placed for adoption with a relative related biologically or by marriage.
 � At least one of the adoptive parents is in the military service stationed in South Carolina.
 � There are unusual or exceptional circumstances such that the best interests of the child would be served by 

placement with or adoption by nonresidents of this State.
 � The child has been in foster care for at least 6 months after having been legally freed for adoption, and no 

South Carolina resident has been identified as a prospective adoptive home.
 � All persons required to give consent to the adoption have specifically consented to the adoption by the 

nonresident.
 � The Department of Social Services or any agency under contract with the department has placed the child 

with the nonresident for purposes of adoption.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 63-9-520; Code of Regs. § 114-4980

Preplacement investigations must answer all the following:
 � Whether the home of the prospective adoptive parents is suitable
 � How the emotional maturity, finances, health, relationships, and any other relevant characteristics of the 

prospective adoptive parents affect their ability to provide a child with an adequate environment 
 � Whether a prospective parent has ever been involved in any proceeding concerning allegedly neglected, 

abandoned, abused, or delinquent children
 � Whether the prospective parent has completed a course or counseling in preparation for adoption
 � Whether the prospective parent is approved for placement of a child for the purposes of adoption

http://www.dcyf.ri.gov/policies/
https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/214-40-00-5
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In regulation: The child-placing agency should include in any home study at least two face-to-face interviews. 
Separate face-to-face interviews with each member of the household must be conducted. 

The child-placing agency also shall study the following areas:
 � Motivation for adoption
 � Strengths and weaknesses of each household member
 � Attitudes and feelings of the family toward accepting adoptive children
 � The applicant's plan for discussing adoption with the child
 � Record of arrests and criminal convictions and checks with the child abuse central registry
 � Adjustment of birth children, foster children, or previously adopted children
 � A report of a physical examination for household members within 6 months of the study that verifies that 

each person suffers no communicable disease, specific illness, or disabilities that would interfere with the 
family's ability to parent a child

 � Ability to provide financially for the adoptee with or without agency financial assistance through an adoption 
subsidy

 � Personal and community character references
 � Religious orientation, if any
 � Location and physical environment of the home
 � Plan for child care, if the parent(s) work

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Code of Regs. § 114-4980

The child-placing agency shall notify applicant(s) in writing within 30 days of completion of the adoption 
investigation of the acceptance or denial of their application. When applicant(s) are not accepted, the child-
placing agency shall inform them of the reasons why the application is denied. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Code § 63-9-520

Before the placement of any child by any agency or by any person with a prospective adoptive parent, a 
preplacement investigation, a background investigation, and reports of these investigations must be completed.

If the waiting period for an adoptive placement exceeds 1 year from the date the preplacement investigation 
report is completed, the report must be updated before the placement of a child to determine any change in 
circumstances. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Code § 63-9-520; Code of Regs. § 114-4980

A postplacement investigation and report of this investigation must be completed after the filing of the 
adoption petition. Copies of this report must be provided to the adoption petitioner and must be filed with the 
court at the final hearing on the adoption. A postplacement investigation and report of this investigation must 
achieve the following:
 � Answer all the following:

 – The race, sex, and age of the adoptee and whether the child is a suitable child for adoption by the 
prospective adoptive parent

 – The reason for the adoptee's placement away from the biological parents
 – Whether the adoptee, if of appropriate age and mental capacity, desires to be adopted
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 � Review and, where indicated, investigate the allegations of the adoption petition and its attachments and of 
the accounting of disbursements required under § 63-9-740

 � Evaluate the progress of the placement of the adoptee
 � Determine whether adoption by the petitioner is in the best interests of the adoptee

In regulation: The caseworker shall be in contact with the adoptive family at least monthly after the 
placement of a child prior to the final decree. Information obtained from the contact shall be used in making 
recommendations for the finalization of the adoption. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code § 63-9-1110

Any person may adopt his or her spouse's child, and any person may adopt a child to whom he or she is related 
by blood or marriage. In the adoption of these children, the following provisions apply:
 � No investigation or report is required, unless otherwise directed by the court.
 � No accounting by the petitioner of all disbursements is required unless the accounting is ordered by the 

court.
 � Upon good cause shown, the court may waive the requirement that the final hearing must not be held before 

90 days after the filing of the adoption petition.
 � Upon good cause shown, the court may waive the requirement of the appointment of independent counsel 

for an indigent parent.
 � Upon good cause shown, the court may waive the requirement that the adoption proceeding must be 

finalized in this State.

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 63-9-60; 63-9-2200

Before a child is placed within or outside the boundaries of this State for adoption with nonresidents of this 
State, compliance with the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) is required, and a judicial 
determination must be made in this State that one of the circumstances in § 63-9-60(B)(1)(a)-(g) applies, 
whether or not the adoption proceedings are instituted in this State. 

Neither the department nor its contractors may delay or deny the placement of a child for adoption by a 
nonresident if that nonresident has been approved for adoption of the child by another State authorized to 
approve such placements pursuant to the ICPC. The department shall provide an opportunity for a hearing, in 
accordance with the department’s fair hearing procedures, to a nonresident who believes that the department, 
in violation of this section, has delayed or denied placement of a child for adoption.

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the ICPC. The child shall 
not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving State notify the 
sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the interests of the 
child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Code of Regs. § 114-550

Foster parents may apply to adopt a foster child. Foster families who have been approved for adoption will be 
given first consideration for the adoption of a foster child under the following conditions:
 � The child has been in the same foster home for a consecutive 6 months or more.
 � The child is legally free for adoption. 
 � Placement for adoption with the foster family is deemed to be in the best interests of the child by the 

department or the child-placing agency.
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Links to Resources

Adoption [webpage] (South Carolina Department of Social Services)

State regulations 

SOUTH DAKOTA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code § 67:14:32:05.03 

The study shall include the applicants and family and other household members who are at least age 10. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 25-6-9.1 

The home study shall be completed by a licensed child-placing agency, the Department of Social Services (DSS), 
or a certified social worker eligible to engage in private independent practice. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code § 67:14:32:08 

The general qualifications for an adoptive applicant are as follows:
 � The applicant is at least age 21 and resides in South Dakota. Verification of age is required.
 � No member of the applicant's household age 10 or older, other than a child placed in the home for foster 

care, has on record a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect. 
 � No member of the applicant's household has had a conviction for any of the crimes specified in § 

67:14:32:05.05. 
 � The applicant is capable of providing good care for children.
 � The applicant has income to meet the needs of the applicant's existing family and to support, care, and 

educate an adopted child.
 � The applicant's children, if any, are willing to accept an adopted child as a member of the family.
 � The applicant's family composition, needs, and relationships may not adversely affect an adopted child.
 � The applicant has the ability to parent a child, including a basic understanding of the child's physical and 

mental or emotional development and the ability to fulfill the child's needs. An applicant must have the 
ability to offer continuing care and guidance to a child throughout the stages of the child's development in 
a manner consistent with the social and cultural heritage norms of the child. The applicant must be able to 
continue meeting the needs of the applicant's own children, if any. The applicant must display the capacity to 
provide good care for children.

DSS may require a psychological evaluation and the submission of medical records if questions arise during the 
application process regarding the applicant's emotional stability or the emotional stability of another household 
member. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 25-6-9.1; Admin. Code §§ 67:14:32:05.03; :09; :11.01 

A home study shall include a fingerprint-based criminal record check completed by the Division of Criminal 
Investigation and a central registry screening completed by DSS. In addition, no child who is in the custody of 
DSS may be placed in a home for adoption until a fingerprint-based criminal record check has been completed 
by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for each adopting parent.

https://dss.sc.gov/adoption/
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/coderegs/Chapter%20114.pdf
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In regulation: DSS shall screen an applicant and family and other household members who are at least age 10 
to determine if the individual has been involved in any substantiated incidents of child abuse or neglect. The 
individual may not have a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect.

A physical examination is required for each applicant. A physical examination completed within the 12 months 
preceding the application is acceptable. The applicant shall also present evidence to DSS that each household 
member under age 18 meets the immunization requirements of the Department of Health. The minimum 
immunization requirements for a child age 4 months through 6 years include diphtheria, tetanus, and acellular 
pertussis (DTaP); poliovirus; measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR); and varicella. The minimum immunization 
requirements for a child age 7 through 18 include tetanus, diphtheria, and acellular pertussis (Tdap) and 
meningococcal ACYW (MCV4). 

An adoptive study includes an evaluation of the applicant based on references, personal interviews, screenings 
against the central registry for abuse or neglect, a criminal record check, information obtained from at least 
three character references, and home consultations. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 67:14:32:05.05; 67:14:32:10 

DSS shall deny an application and shall notify the applicant of the denial if the criminal record check detects a 
conviction for any of the following:
 � A crime that would indicate harmful behavior toward children
 � A crime of violence
 � A sex crime
 � Within the preceding 5 years, a conviction for any other felony 

DSS may deny an adoption application based on its evaluation, substantiated by facts, showing that the 
applicant does not meet the requirements of this chapter. Within 120 days after application, DSS shall notify the 
applicant in writing of the application status. If the application is denied, DSS shall inform the applicant of the 
reasons for the denial. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 25-6-9.1; Admin. Code § 67:14:32:11.01

No person may place a child in a home for adoption until a home study has been completed. 

In regulation: An adoptive study may not be used if more than 3 years have elapsed between the date the study 
was completed and the date of placement. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 25-6-11; Admin. Code §§ 67:14:11:01; :02; :03 

For a child in the custody of DSS, the petitioner shall notify DSS when the adoption petition has been filed with 
the court. DSS shall make a recommendation as to the desirability of the adoption. 

In regulation: Upon receipt of a copy of the adoption petition, DSS shall conduct an investigation as to the 
desirability for the adoption. The investigation shall include the following:
 � Personal interviews with the petitioners, the child who is older than age 6, the natural parents or the legal 

guardian, if parental rights have been terminated 
 � Inspection of information from DSS case records 
 � Inspection of information obtained from medical, financial, or other references
 � Inspection of information provided by other social agencies
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Following the investigation, DSS shall submit its recommendations to the judge of the court in which the 
adoption petition was filed. The recommendation shall be in writing and shall be signed by the secretary of DSS 
or a designee. DSS' recommendations as to the desirability of adoption shall be based on investigations of the 
adoptive parents, the natural parents, and the adoptee. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 25-6-10 

In the case of a stepparent adopting a stepchild, an investigation is not required unless ordered by the court. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 26-13-1; Admin. Code § 67:14:24:09.01

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child.

In regulation: A study and evaluation of an out-of-State placement facility shall be made by an agency licensed 
or authorized for child placement. The study and evaluation shall be based on the other State's child placement 
standards and shall be submitted by the out-of-State agency to DSS prior to placement of a child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Admin. Code § 67:42:05:01 

A 'fost/adopt' family is an approved adoptive home that has agreed to accept the placement of a child who 
is not yet legally free for adoption. The family is committed, as is the placing agency, to make the placement 
permanent when legal termination of parental rights is completed. 

Links to Resources

State regulations

TENNESSEE

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Rules & Regs. R. 0250-4-9-.09 

The agency shall make a thorough study of the applicants before the home is approved. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 36-1-116

The study may be conducted by a licensed child-placing agency, a licensed clinical social worker, or the 
Department of Children's Services if the parents are indigent under Federal poverty guidelines. 

https://sdlegislature.gov/#/Rules/Administrative/23314
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Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Code § 36-1-115

Any person older than age 18 may petition to adopt a child. The petitioners must have physical custody or must 
demonstrate to the court that they have the right to receive custody of the child.

The petitioner shall live and maintain their regular place of abode in this State when the adoption petition is 
filed. Nonresidents may also file a petition to adopt a child in this State if they file such petition in the county 
where a court granted the nonresidents partial or complete guardianship of the child.

If the petitioner is an active duty service member in the U.S. military, the service member and any copetitioner 
with the service member may file a petition for adoption in this State without actual residency in this State if 
the service member has lived or maintained a regular place of abode within this State for 6 consecutive months 
immediately prior to entering military service or if this State is the service member's State of legal residence as 
identified to the U.S. military.

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rules & Regs. R. 0250-4-9-.09 

The adoptive home study shall be based on consideration of the following points:
 � Information obtained through interviews with all members of the family living in the home
 � At least one visit to the home
 � The applicants' motivation to adopt a child
 � The applicants' ability to provide for the child
 � Information obtained through contacts with references that shall include members of the extended family as 

well as individuals who are not related to the applicants
 � The character, values, and ethical standards of the applicants
 � The physical and mental health of the applicants
 � Health and fire safety conditions within the home

The agency shall ascertain that the applicants have reasonably good health and average life expectancy so that 
the security of having parents is unlikely to be cut short before the child matures. Except for the placement of 
special needs children, the agency shall require that the cause of childlessness be evaluated by a physician. This 
medical evaluation shall be included in the agency assessment of the motivation to adopt a child.

The adoptive home study shall include the caseworkers' evaluation of the applicants' suitability as adoptive 
parents and recommendations as to approval of the home. The home study shall also include a face sheet, study 
references, health examinations, and verification of marital status. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Rules & Regs. R. 0250-4-9-.09 

When the adoptive home study is completed, the applicants shall be informed in writing as to the disposition of 
their application. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Code § 36-1-116; Rules & Regs. R. 0250-4-9-.09 

Prior to filing a petition for the adoption, the prospective adoptive parents shall request a home study or a 
preliminary home study concerning the suitability of their home and themselves as adoptive parents. To be 
valid, the home study must have been completed or updated within 1 year prior to filing of the petition. The 
preliminary home study must have been completed within 30 days prior to the filing of the petition.
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Upon filing the adoption petition, the prospective adoptive parents shall notify the court if they have requested 
a home study or preliminary home study and shall file or cause to be filed a copy of the court report based upon 
the home study or preliminary home study with the court. 

In regulation: For a public agency adoption, the adoptive home study shall be completed before the placement 
of a child in the home. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Code § 36-1-116; Rules & Regs. R. 0250-4-9-.09 

The court shall order a licensed child-placing agency, licensed clinical social worker, or the department if the 
parents are indigent under Federal poverty guidelines or if the child was placed with the prospective adoptive 
parents by the department, to provide supervision for the child who is in the home of prospective adoptive 
parents and to make any necessary reports that the court should have concerning the welfare of the child 
pending entry of the final order in the case.

In regulation: After placement, the caseworker shall visit in the home at least quarterly until the adoption is 
finalized. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 36-1-115; 36-1-116

The requirement for State residency for a period of 6 months shall not apply when the petitioner is seeking to 
adopt a child who is related as long as the petitioner is an actual resident of the State at the time the petition is 
filed.

The court may waive the requirement for a home study and postplacement supervision when the child is to be 
adopted by related persons. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 36-1-116; 37-4-201

The petition to adopt must indicate whether the child was brought into Tennessee for adoption and, if so, 
that there has been full compliance with the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) or, if 
compliance has not occurred, a statement alleging good cause for such noncompliance.

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the ICPC. The child shall 
not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving State notify the 
sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the interests of the 
child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 36-1-115

When a child is placed in a foster home and becomes available for adoption due to the termination or surrender 
of all parental or guardianship rights to the child, those foster parents shall be given first preference to adopt 
the child if the child has resided in the foster home for 12 or more consecutive months immediately preceding 
the filing of an adoption petition.

In becoming adoptive parents, the foster parents shall meet all requirements otherwise imposed on persons 
seeking to adopt children in the custody of the department and shall be subject to all other provisions of this 
part. 
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Links to Resources

Adoption Best Practices Manual (Tennessee Department of Children's Services)

State regulations 

TEXAS

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 40, § 745.9057

The applicants, their families, and any persons, including children, residing in the applicants' home shall be 
included in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Fam. Code §§ 107.152; 107.153; 107.154

The court may appoint the Department of Family and Protective Services to conduct the adoption evaluation 
only if the department is the managing conservator of the child who is the subject of the adoption petition. 
Otherwise, the court may appoint a qualified individual, a qualified private entity, or a domestic relations office 
to conduct the adoption evaluation. 

To be qualified to conduct an adoption evaluation, a person must meet the following requirements:
 � Have a degree from an accredited college or university in a human services field of study and a license 

to practice in this State as a social worker, professional counselor, marriage and family therapist, or 
psychologist and have either of the following qualifications:

 – Have 1 year of full-time experience working at a child-placing agency conducting child-placing activities 
 – Be practicing under the direct supervision of a person qualified to conduct adoption evaluations

 � Be employed by a domestic relations office, provided that the person conducts adoption evaluations relating 
only to families ordered to participate in adoption evaluations conducted by the domestic relations office

 � Be qualified as a child custody evaluator under § 107.104

In addition to the other qualifications prescribed above, an individual must complete at least 8 hours of family 
violence dynamics training provided by a family violence service provider to be qualified to conduct an adoption 
evaluation under this subchapter. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 40, § 745.9057 

All adoptive applicants must meet the following qualifications:
 � Be age 21 or older
 � Be financially able to provide for their family and the adoptee
 � Be healthy enough to assume parenting responsibilities
 � Be able to accept and parent an adopted child
 � Be willing to respect and encourage the adoptee's religious affiliation, if any

https://files.dcs.tn.gov/policies/chap15/AdoptionManual.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/0250/0250-04/0250-04-09.pdf
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Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 40, §§ 735.307; 735.311; 735.313; 735.325 

The preplacement evaluation must include at least the following:  
 � Individual interviews with each adoptive parent, each child age 4 or older who is living in the home, and any 

other person who is living in the home 
 � Joint interviews with the adoptive parents and family members who are living in the home  
 � Interviews with the following individuals: 

 – Every adult child or minor child age 12 or older of each adoptive parent not living in the home  
 – A family member not living in the home 
 – Neighbors, school personnel, clergy, or any community member unrelated to the adoptive parents 

The evaluator must visit the home at least once. All members of the household must be present for the visit.  

The evaluator must determine the following concerning the adoptive home:  
 � Whether there any potential safety or health issues
 � Whether the home is clean, safe, and free of obvious fire and other hazards
 � Whether the home is equipped with smoke detectors  
 � Whether the home has sufficient space to accommodate the members of the household and the adoptive 

child

The report must contain the following:  
 � Results of State and Federal criminal background checks and central registry check and an assessment of 

whether the results should bar placement of the child with the adoptive parents  
 � Assessments of the adoptive parents and their family's interaction with each other and the relationship 

between the child and each adoptive parent, if a relationship currently exists 
 � An assessment of the child's physical, intellectual, social, and psychological functioning  
 � An assessment of basic care and safety issues, including the safety of the physical environment of the 

adoptive home  
 � An assessment of the adoptive parents' individual strengths and weaknesses  
 � Conclusions and recommendations to the court as to whether the adoptive parents' home will meet the 

child's needs

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 40, §§ 745.661; 745.669; 745.671

Approval may be denied if the person has committed any of the misdemeanor or felony offenses listed on the 
chart Foster or Adoptive Homes: Criminal History Requirements, including the following: 
 � Offenses against the person or family, including the following:

 – Murder or manslaughter
 – Trafficking of persons
 – Severe sexual abuse of a minor
 – Family violence
 – Unregulated custody transfer of an adopted child

 � Indecency with a child
 � Stalking 
 � Criminal solicitation of a minor

https://hhs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/documents/doing-business-with-hhs/provider-portal/protective-services/ccl/criminal-history/fost-adopt-chart.pdf
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 � Any offense committed in the past 5 years, including the following:
 – Those under the Texas Controlled Substances Act
 – Intoxication and alcoholic beverage offenses

 � Any other felony under the Texas Penal Code or similar offense under the law of another State or Federal law 
committed within the past 10 years

 � Deferred adjudications covering an offense listed above if the person has not completed probation 
successfully

An applicant will not be approved if he or she is required to register as a sex offender in Texas or any other 
State or territory.

Approval also may be denied if a check of the child abuse central registry reveals that the person has any 
sustained finding of child sexual abuse, labor trafficking, sex trafficking, physical abuse, emotional abuse, 
physical neglect, neglectful supervision, or medical neglect. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 40, §§ 735.301; 735.319 

The preplacement portion of an adoption evaluation is usually conducted before the child begins living in the 
home of the adoptive parents. If the child that does not begin living with the adoptive parents within 6 months 
after the completion of the preplacement evaluation, the evaluation must be updated within 30 days before the 
child begins living in the home.

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 40, §§ 735.401; 735.403; 735.405; 735.409; 735.411 

The evaluator must conduct interviews for the postplacement evaluation after the child has resided in the 
adoptive parents' home for at least 5 months, unless otherwise directed by the court. The interviews must 
include at least one of the following:  
 � An individual interview with each adoptive parent; each child age 4 or older living full- or part-time in the 

home, including the child placed for adoption; or any other person living full- or part-time in the home  
 � A joint interview with the adoptive parents  
 � A family group interview with family members living in the home

Each interview must focus on the adjustment of the family and the adoptive child. In addition, the evaluator 
must visit the home at least once. All members of the household, including the child, must be present for at 
least one home visit. 

The postplacement evaluation report must contain the following:  
 � Any previously incomplete report regarding the adoptive parents and the child that was required for the 

preplacement evaluation, including any updates relating to the following:  
 – The child's current physical, mental, and emotional status, including any special needs  
 – The child's legal status  
 – Any new information regarding the adoptive parents 

 � A summary of the adjustment of the adoptive parents, other family members, other persons living in the 
home, and the child during the last 5 to 6 months 

 � An assessment of how the adoptive parents have responded to any special needs of the child  
 � An updated assessment of basic care and safety issues, including the physical safety of the environment of 

the adoptive home and how the child has responded to living in the adoptive home  
 � An updated assessment of the adoptive parents' individual strengths and weaknesses  
 � Conclusions and recommendations to the court as to whether the adoption should be finalized 
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Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Fam. Code § 162.102

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed.

Links to Resources

State regulations, title 40, chapter 735 

State regulations, title 40, § 745.9057(a)

State regulations, title 40, § 745.671(a)

UTAH

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Code § 78B-6-128

Each prospective adoptive parent and any other adult living in the home shall be included in the study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 78B-6-128

The preplacement evaluation may be conducted by any of the following:
 � An expert in family relations approved by the court
 � A certified social worker
 � A clinical social worker
 � A marriage and family therapist
 � A psychologist
 � A social service worker, if supervised by a certified or clinical social worker
 � A clinical mental health counselor
 � An Office of Licensing employee within the Department of Human Services who is trained to perform a home 

study
 � The department or a child-placing agency that has entered into a contract with the department for a child 

with special needs who is in the custody of any public child welfare agency

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=40&pt=19&ch=735
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/fids/201600603-1.html
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/fids/201805094-2.pdf
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Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 78B-6-117; 78B-6-118: Admin. Code R512-41-3 

A child may be adopted by adults who are legally married to each other, including adoption by a stepparent. A 
child may not be adopted by a person who is cohabiting in a relationship that is not a legally valid and binding 
marriage under the laws of this State, unless the individual is a relative of the child or a recognized placement 
under the Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 U.S.C. § 1901, et seq.

When a child in the custody of the Division of Child and Family Services is placed for adoption, the child shall be 
placed with a married couple unless the following apply:
 � There are no qualified married couples who have applied to adopt a child, are willing to adopt the child, and 

are an appropriate placement for the child.
 � The child is placed with a relative.
 � The child is placed with a person who has already developed a substantial relationship with the child. 
 � The child is placed with a person who was selected by a parent or former parent of the child.
 � It is in the best interests of the child to place the child with a single person.

A person adopting a child must be at least 10 years older than the child adopted. If the petitioners are a married 
couple, only one of them need be at least 10 years older than the child.

In regulation: Prospective adoptive parents who apply to adopt a child in the custody of division, including kin 
or division employees, must meet the following requirements:
 � Complete the adoption training program approved by the division
 � Be assessed and approved as adoptive parents following completion of a home study by a licensed child-

placing agency or by the division
 � Obtain a foster care license issued by the Office of Licensing within the Department of Human Services, meet 

the same standards, or receive a written waiver from the division standard
 � Receive a determination by the division that no conflict of interest exists in the adoption process

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 78B-6-128; Admin. Code R512-40-5 

The preplacement evaluation shall include the following:
 � A fingerprint-based State and national criminal history records check
 � A report containing all information regarding reports and investigations of child abuse, neglect, and 

dependency for each State the person has lived in for the previous 5 years

The home study shall include the following:
 � A recommendation to the court regarding the suitability of the prospective adoptive parent for placement of 

a child
 � A description of in-person interviews with the prospective adoptive parent, the parent's children, and other 

individuals living in the home
 � A description of character and suitability references from at least two individuals who are not related to 

the prospective adoptive parent and with at least one individual who is related to the prospective adoptive 
parent

 � A medical history, based upon a doctor’s physical examination of the prospective adoptive parent, made 
within 2 years before the date of the application

 � A description of an inspection of the home to determine whether sufficient space and facilities exist to meet 
the needs of the child and whether basic health and safety standards are maintained
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In regulation: The home study assessment also will include the following:   
 � Psychosocial information gathered from the prospective adoptive parent and family members   
 � Home visits and interviews to assess the prospective adoptive parent in the following areas:   

 – Marriage, relationship, and personal stability   
 – Ability to manage stress   
 – Capacity to parent a child who has experienced trauma and who may have other special needs   
 – How any children living in the home will be affected   

 � Verification of sufficient income to provide for a child's needs   

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 78-6-117; 62A-2-120 

An adult may not adopt a child if, before adoption is finalized, the adult has been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, 
or pleaded no contest to a felony or attempted felony involving conduct that constitutes any of the following:
 � Child abuse or child abuse homicide
 � Child kidnapping or human trafficking of a child
 � Sexual abuse, aggravated sexual abuse, or sexual exploitation of a minor

The office shall not approve a prospective adoptive parent if the applicant has been convicted of a felony 
involving any of the following:
 � Child abuse, domestic violence committed in the presence of a child, abuse or neglect of a child with a 

disability, or endangerment of a child or vulnerable adult 
 � Aggravated murder, murder, manslaughter, child abuse homicide, or homicide by assault
 � Kidnapping, child kidnapping, or aggravated kidnapping
 � Human trafficking of a child
 � Any sexual offense described in title 76, chapter 5, part 4
 � Sexual exploitation of a minor
 � Aggravated arson, aggravated burglary, or aggravated robbery
 � Domestic violence
 � An offense committed outside the State that, if committed in the State, would constitute a violation of an 

offense described above

The office shall deny approval of a prospective adoptive parent if, within the immediately preceding 5 years, the 
applicant was convicted of any of the following:
 � Aggravated assault, aggravated assault by a prisoner, or mayhem
 � A drug-related offense

In addition, the office shall conduct the comprehensive review of an applicant's background check if the child 
abuse registry check indicates that the individual is listed in a child abuse and neglect registry of another State 
as having a substantiated or supported finding of a severe type of child abuse or neglect. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Code § 78B-6-128; Admin. Code R512-40-3

A child may not be placed in an adoptive home until a preplacement adoptive evaluation assessing the 
prospective adoptive parent and the prospective adoptive home has been conducted in accordance with the 
requirements of this section.
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The preplacement evaluation shall be completed or updated within the 12-month period immediately preceding 
the placement of a child with the prospective adoptive parent.

In regulation: A record of the approved home study shall be maintained in the division's management 
information system. Any significant changes in the family's situation shall be documented by revisions or 
additions on an annual basis in the adoptive study, including revised medical reports, if needed.

At the end of a family's third year as an approved prospective adoptive home, the division shall notify the family 
that their home study will be closed unless the family reapplies for a new home study to be completed. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Code § 78B-6-129

A postplacement evaluation shall be conducted and submitted to the court prior to the final hearing in an 
adoption proceeding. The postplacement evaluation shall include the following: 
 � Verification of the allegations of fact contained in the adoption petition
 � An evaluation of the progress of the child's placement in the adoptive home
 � A recommendation regarding whether the adoption is in the best interests of the child

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 78B-6-128; 78B-6-129

Preplacement and postplacement evaluations are not required if a preexisting parent has legal custody of the 
adoptee and the prospective adoptive parent is related to that child or the preexisting parent as a stepparent, 
sibling, grandparent, aunt, uncle, or first cousin unless the court otherwise requests the preplacement 
evaluation. The prospective adoptive parent shall obtain criminal history record information and a report 
containing all information regarding reports and investigations of child abuse, neglect, and dependency and file 
that documentation with the court prior to finalization of the adoption. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 62A-4a-701; 62A-4a-710 

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The State of Utah may request a home study report from another State or an Indian Tribe for purposes of 
assessing 

the safety and suitability of placing a child in a home outside of the jurisdiction of the State of Utah.

The State of Utah may not impose any restriction on the ability of a State agency administering, or supervising 
the administration of, a State program operated under a State plan approved under 42 U.S.C. § 671 to contract 
with a private agency to conduct a home study.

When the State of Utah receives a home study report, the home study report shall be considered to meet all 
requirements imposed by the State of Utah for completion of a home study before a child is placed in a home, 
unless, within 14 days after the day on which the report is received, the State of Utah determines, based on 
grounds that are specific to the content of the report, that making a decision in reliance on the report would be 
contrary to the welfare of the child. 
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Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

Utah Guide to Adopting Children Who Live in Foster Care: A Handbook for Prospective Adoptive Parents (Utah 
Department of Human Services, Division of Child and Family Services) 

State regulations

VERMONT

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Code of Rules § 13-162-005 

The study must include all family members. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 15A, § 2-202 

A preplacement evaluation may be prepared only by a person who is qualified by the Department for Children 
and Families to make the evaluation or who meets the qualifications of an evaluator and is appointed by the 
court. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Code of Rules § 13-162-005 

The prospective adoptive family must be able to meet the child's needs. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 15A, § 2-203

A preplacement evaluation shall be based upon a personal interview and visit at the residence of the person 
being evaluated and personal interviews or correspondence with others who know the person and may have 
information relevant to the evaluation.

A preplacement evaluation shall contain the following information:
 � Age, nationality, racial or ethnic background, and any religious affiliation
 � Marital status and family history, including the age and location of any children and the identity of and 

relationship to anyone else living in the household
 � Parenting experience
 � Physical and mental health and any history of alcohol or drug abuse
 � Education and employment history 
 � Property, income, and outstanding financial obligations
 � Any previous requests for an evaluation or involvement in an adoptive placement and the outcome of the 

evaluation or placement
 � Whether the person has been subject to an abuse prevention order, charged with or convicted of domestic 

assault, the subject of a substantiated complaint filed with the department, or subject to a court order 
restricting the person's right to parental rights and responsibilities or parent-child contact with a child

https://www.utahadopt.org/uploads/How_to_Adopt_2019.pdf#:~:text=utah%20guide%20to%20adopting%20children%20who%20live%20in,self%20that%20connects%20children%20to%20their%20past%2C%20present
https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r512/r512-041.htm
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 � Whether the person has been convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation
 � Whether the person has located a parent interested in placing a child with the person for adoption and, if so, 

a brief description of the parent and the minor
 � The reason for and attitude about adoption
 � Whether the person is in noncompliance with a child support order
 � Any other fact or circumstance that may be relevant in determining whether the person is suited to be an 

adoptive parent, including the quality of the environment in the home and the functioning of other children 
in the household

The applicant shall submit to fingerprinting and sign a release permitting a criminal background check. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 15A, § 2-204

If an evaluator determines that the information assessed raises a concern that placement of any minor, or a 
particular minor, in the home of the person would pose a risk of harm to the physical or psychological well-
being of the minor, the evaluator, on the basis of the original or any further investigation, shall find that the 
person is or is not suited to be an adoptive parent. The evaluator shall support the finding with a written 
explanation. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 15A, § 2-201

Except for placements with a relative or a stepparent, a person must have a favorable written preplacement 
evaluation before receiving a child for adoption. An evaluation is valid if it was completed or updated within the 
12 months preceding the placement of the child with the person. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 15A, §§ 3-601; 3-602; 3-603

No later than 5 business days after an adoption petition is filed, the court shall order that an evaluation be 
made of the placement. The evaluation shall be based on a personal interview with the petitioner in his or her 
residence and observation of the relationship between the adoptee and the petitioner.

The evaluation shall be in writing and contain the following: 
 � An account of any change in the petitioner's marital status or family history, physical or mental health, home 

environment, property, income, or financial obligations since the filing of the preplacement evaluation
 � All reasonably available information concerning the physical, mental, and emotional condition of the adoptee 

that is not included in any report on the minor's health, genetic, and social history filed in the proceeding for 
adoption

 � Copies of any court order, judgment, decree, or pending legal proceeding affecting the adoptee, the 
petitioner, or any child of the petitioner 

 � Any behavior or characteristics of the petitioner that raise a concern
 � A recommendation concerning the granting of the petition for adoption

The evaluator shall complete a written evaluation and file it with the court within 60 days after receipt of the 
court's order unless the court for good cause allows a later filing. If an evaluation produces a concern, the 
evaluation shall be filed immediately and shall explain why the concern poses a risk of harm to the physical or 
psychological well-being of the child. 
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Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 15A, §§ 2-201; 4-110

A preplacement evaluation is not required if a parent or guardian places a child for adoption directly with 
a relative of the child, but an evaluation of the relative is required during the pendency of a proceeding for 
adoption.

After a petition for adoption of a minor stepchild is filed, the court may order that an evaluation be made by a 
qualified evaluator to assist the court in determining whether the proposed adoption is in the best interests of 
the child. Unless otherwise directed by the court, an evaluator shall base the evaluation on a personal interview 
with the petitioner and the petitioner's spouse in the petitioner's residence, observation of the relationship 
between the child and the petitioner, and personal interviews with others who know the petitioner and may 
have information relevant to the examination.

An evaluation shall be in writing and contain the following:
 � The information required by § 2-203(d) and (e) concerning any background of criminal conviction and/or 

child maltreatment
 � The information required by § 3-602(b)(2) through (5), including the child's health and social history

If the court does not order an evaluation, the preference of the minor who is younger than age 14 shall be taken 
into consideration, if the minor is mature enough to express a preference.

Whether or not an evaluation is ordered, the court shall obtain the petitioner's background information, as 
required by § 2-203(d)(7)-(9). 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. Tit. 15A, § 2-106 

An adoption in this State of a minor brought into this State from another State by a prospective adoptive parent, 
or by a person who places the minor for adoption in this State, is governed by the laws of this State, including 
this title and the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

Licensing Regulations for Child-Placing Agencies in Vermont (Vermont Department for Children and Families, 
Family Services Division) 

VIRGIN ISLANDS

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 145

The adoption petitioner must be studied as to his or her suitability to adopt a child. 

https://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/FSD/pubs/CPA-Regs.pdf
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Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 145

The commissioner of Public Welfare shall submit a report and recommendation with respect to the proposed 
adoption. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 16, § 145

The adoption petitioner must have sufficient ability and in all respects be a proper person to bring up the child 
and furnish suitable nurturing and education. 

Elements of a Home Study

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Grounds for Withholding Approval

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

When Studies Must Be Completed

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Postplacement Study Requirements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code Tit. 34, § 121

Any out-of-home placement of a child to a State outside the Virgin Islands is subject to the provisions of the 
Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

Court rules (click on 4. Virgin Islands Rules of Family Division Procedure; see part G – Rules for Adoption 
Proceedings)

https://www.vicourts.org/cms/One.aspx?portalId=9784302&pageId=15696789
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VIRGINIA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Admin. Code Tit. 22, § 40-211-30

The applicant and all members of the household shall be included in the home study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 63.2-1231

The home study may be conducted by the agency social worker, family services specialist, or other qualified 
equivalent worker. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Code § 63.2-1231; Admin. Code Tit. 22, §§ 40-211-20; 40-211-60; 40-211-70

The prospective adoptive parents must be financially able, morally suitable, and in satisfactory physical and 
mental health to care for the child.

In regulation: All resource, foster, adoptive, and respite providers seeking approval from the local Department of 
Social Services shall be at least age 18. The applicant must complete the preservice training that is provided by 
the local department.

The applicant's home shall have sufficient appropriate space and furnishings for each child receiving care in the 
home. The home shall be heated in winter, dry, well-ventilated, and have adequate lighting. The home shall have 
a working telephone and an operable smoke detector.

Multiple children sharing a bedroom shall each have adequate space, including closet and storage space. 
Bedrooms shall have adequate square footage for each child to have personal space. Children over the age 2 
shall not share a bed. Children over age 2 shall not share a bedroom with an adult unless the local department 
approves due to documented needs, disabilities, or other specified conditions. Children of any age cannot share 
a bed with an adult. Children of the opposite sex over age 3 shall not sleep in the same room.

The home and grounds shall be free from litter and debris and present no hazard to the safety of the child. The 
provider shall store any firearms and other weapons with the activated safety mechanisms in a locked closet or 
cabinet. Ammunition shall be stored in a separate and locked area. Providers shall ensure that household pets 
are not a health or safety hazard in accordance with State laws and local ordinances. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Code § 63.2-1721; Admin. Code Tit. 22, §§ 40-211-30; 40-211-40

All applicants shall undergo background checks that include a criminal history record check and a search of the 
central registry maintained for any founded complaint of child abuse and neglect.

In regulation: The applicant and all other household members shall submit to a tuberculosis screening and 
submit the results of a physical examination administered within the last 13 months from a licensed health-care 
professional.

The local department shall conduct at least three face-to-face interviews with each applicant, with at least 
one in the applicant's home. If two individuals are listed as applicants, at least one interview must be with both 
individuals. At least one interview shall be with all individuals who reside in the home.
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The local department shall obtain at least three references from persons who have knowledge of each 
applicant's character and experience with children. At least one reference per person shall be from a 
nonrelative.

The local department shall conduct a mutual family assessment (MFA). The MFA shall include the following:  
 � Demographic information, including age, marital status, and family history  
 � Financial information, including employment, assets, and debts  
 � Information from the interviews, references, and observations that shall be used to document that the 

applicant meets the following criteria:  
 – Is physically and mentally capable of providing the necessary care for children   
 – Can articulate a reasonable process for managing emergencies and ensuring the adequate care, safety, and 

protection of children  
 – Expresses attitudes that demonstrate the capacity to love and nurture a child born to someone else  
 – Expresses appropriate motivation to foster and adopt   
 – Shows stability in all household relationships   
 – Has the financial resources to provide for current and ongoing household needs  

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Code §§ 63.2-1205.1; 63.2-1719

No petition for adoption shall be granted if the person seeking to adopt has been convicted of a sexually violent 
offense or an offense requiring registration as a sex offender. 

In the case of adoptive homes approved by child-placing agencies, convictions for any crime that is defined as a 
barrier to approval shall include prior adult convictions and juvenile convictions or adjudications of delinquency 
based on a crime that would be a felony if committed by an adult within or outside the Commonwealth.

A barrier crime, as defined by § 19.2-392.02, includes, but is not limited to, the following:
 � Murder or manslaughter
 � Malicious wounding by mob
 � Abduction or abduction for immoral purposes
 � Assault and bodily wounding 
 � Robbery
 � Carjacking
 � Threats of death or bodily injury
 � Extortion by threat
 � Felony stalking or violation of a protective order
 � Sexual assault
 � Sex trafficking
 � Arson
 � Drive-by shooting
 � Use of a machine gun or a sawed-off shotgun in a crime of violence
 � Pandering
 � Crimes against nature involving children 
 � Taking indecent liberties with children
 � Abuse and neglect of children
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 � Failure to secure medical attention for an injured child
 � Obscenity offenses
 � Possession of child pornography
 � Electronic facilitation of pornography
 � Abuse and neglect of incapacitated adults
 � Delivery of drugs to prisoners
 � Escape from jail
 � Felonies by prisoners
 � Any offense for which the person is required to register as a sex offender 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Code § 63.2-1231

Any home study conducted for the purpose of parental placement or agency placement shall be valid for 
a period of 36 months from the date of completion. However, the State Board of Social Services may, by 
regulation, require an additional State criminal background check before finalizing an adoption if more than 18 
months have passed from the completion of the home study. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 63.2-1208 

After an adoption petition has been filed, the court shall refer the case to a child-placing agency to conduct an 
investigation and prepare a report. The investigation shall include inquiries as to the following:
 � Whether the petitioner is financially able, morally suitable, in satisfactory physical and mental health, and a 

proper person to care for and to train the child
 � The physical and mental condition of the child
 � Why the parents, if living, desire to be relieved of the responsibility for the custody, care, and maintenance of 

the child and what their attitude is toward the proposed adoption
 � Whether the parents have abandoned the child or are morally unfit to have custody over him or her
 � The circumstances under which the child came to live, and is living, in the physical custody of the petitioner
 � Whether the child is a suitable child for adoption by the petitioner
 � What fees have been paid by the petitioners or on their behalf to persons or agencies that have assisted them 

in obtaining the child
 � Whether the adoptive parents have received the report of the birth parents' physical and mental health and 

the background, medical, and psychological records of the child

The report shall include a recommendation as to the action to be taken by the court on the petition. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann Code §§ 63.2-1241 through 63.2-1242.3 

For a stepparent adoption, an investigation and report shall be undertaken only if the circuit court in its 
discretion determines that there should be an investigation before a final order of adoption is entered.

A close relative placement is an adoption by the child's grandparent, great-grandparent, adult nephew or niece, 
adult brother or sister, adult uncle or aunt, adult great-uncle or great-aunt, stepparent, adult stepbrother or 
stepsister, or other adult relative of the child by marriage or adoption.
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When the child continuously has lived with a close relative for less than 2 years, the adoption proceeding, 
including court approval of the home study, is subject to parental placement adoption provisions with the 
following exceptions:
 � The birth parent(s)' consent does not have to be executed in court in the presence of the prospective 

adoptive parents.
 � A simultaneous meeting of birth and adoptive parents is not required.
 � No hearing is required for this proceeding.
 � A postplacement investigation and a report shall not be made if the home study report is filed with the court, 

unless the court orders one.
 � The court may omit the probationary period and enter a final order of adoption.
 � The circuit court may waive appointment of a guardian ad litem for the child.

When the child continuously has lived with a close relative for 2 or more years, the parental placement 
provisions shall not apply. For adoptions under this section, the following apply:
 � A postplacement investigation and report shall not be made unless the court orders one.
 � The court may omit the probationary period and enter a final order of adoption.
 � The court may waive appointment of a guardian ad litem for the child.

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 63.2-1000

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 63.2-1229; Admin. Code Tit. 22 §§ 40-211-10; 40-211-20

A foster parent may petition to adopt the foster child that is placed in his or her home when the following apply: 
 � Either of the following applies:

 – The child-placing agency holding custody of the child consents to the adoption after the child has resided 
in the home of the foster parent continuously for at least 6 months. 

 – The child-placing agency does not consent to the adoption of the child, and the child has resided in the 
home of the foster parent continuously for at least 18 months.

 � The birth parents' rights to the child have been terminated.

The circuit court shall accept the petition filed by the foster parent and shall order a thorough investigation of 
the matter to be made pursuant to § 63.2-1208. The court may refer the matter for investigation to a licensed 
child-placing agency other than the agency holding custody of the child. Upon completion of the investigation 
and report and filing of the consent of the agency holding custody of the child, the circuit court may enter a 
final order of adoption waiving visitation requirements if the circuit court determines that the adoption is in the 
best interests of the child. 

In regulation: A resource parent is an approved provider who is committed to both supporting reunification 
and being prepared to adopt the child if the child and family do not reunify. When applicants are approved 
in accordance with regulations, they are approved as foster families, adoptive families, resource families, 
or respite families. The approved provider shall, however, be allowed to choose to provide only foster care, 
adoptive care, or respite care if they do not wish to serve as a resource family. 
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Links to Resources

"The Steps to Adoption" (Virginia Department of Social Services)

State regulations

WASHINGTON

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Rev. Code § 26.33.190 

The study shall include the prospective adoptive parents and any adults living in the home. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Rev. Code §§ 26.33.190; 26.33.210 

The preplacement report may be completed by an agency, the Department of Children, Youth, and Families, an 
individual approved by the court, or a qualified salaried court employee.

The department or an agency having the custody of a child may make the preplacement or postplacement 
report on a petitioner for the adoption of that child. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Rev. Code § 26.33.140 

Any person who is legally competent and age 18 or older may be an adoptive parent. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Rev. Code § 26.33.190 

The preplacement report shall be based on a study that includes an investigation of the home environment, 
family life, health, facilities, and resources of the applicant. The report shall include a recommendation as to 
the fitness of the applicant to be an adoptive parent. The report shall also verify that the following issues were 
discussed with the prospective adoptive parents:
 � The concept of adoption as a lifelong developmental process and commitment
 � The potential for the child to have feelings of identity confusion and loss regarding separation from the birth 

parents
 � If applicable, the relevance of the child's relationship with siblings and the potential benefit to the child of 

providing for a continuing relationship and contact between the child and known siblings
 � Disclosure of the fact of adoption to the child
 � The child's possible questions about birth parents and relatives
 � The relevance of the child's racial, ethnic, and cultural heritage

All preplacement reports shall include a background check of any conviction records, pending charges, or 
disciplinary board final decisions of prospective adoptive parents. The background check shall include an 
examination of State and national criminal identification data including, but not limited to, a fingerprint-based 
background check of national crime information databases for any person being investigated. It also shall 
include a review of any child abuse and neglect history of any adult living in the prospective adoptive parents' 
home. The background check of the child abuse and neglect history shall include a review of the child abuse 
and neglect registries of all States in which the prospective adoptive parents or any other adult living in the 
home have lived during the 5 years preceding the date of the preplacement report. 

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/dfs/ap/intro_page/publications/B032-01-0975-01-eng.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter211/
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Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Admin. Code §§ 110-04-0100; 110-04-0110; 110-04-0130 

An applicant will be permanently denied approval if he or she has a felony conviction for any of the following:
 � Child abuse and/or neglect
 � Spousal abuse
 � A crime against a child, including child pornography
 � A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including other physical 

assault or battery
 � Any Federal or out-of-State conviction for an offense that under the laws of this State would disqualify a 

person from having unsupervised access to children in any home or facility

An applicant will be disqualified if it has been less than 5 years from a conviction for the following crimes:
 � Any felony physical assault or battery offense not previously described
 � Any felony violation of a drug-related crime

The department will not license, contract, certify, or authorize a person to have unsupervised access to 
children if the person has a criminal charge pending for a disqualifying crime described in the Adoption and 
Safe Families Act of 1997 or a criminal charge pending for a disqualifying crime that relates directly to child 
safety, permanence, or well-being. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Rev. Code § 26.33.180 

Except as provided in § 26.33.220, a child shall not be placed with prospective adoptive parents until a 
preplacement report has been filed with the court. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Rev. Code § 26.33.200 

At the time the petition for adoption is filed, the court shall order a postplacement report made to determine 
the nature and adequacy of the placement and to determine if the placement is in the best interests of the child. 
The report shall be prepared by an agency, the department, an individual approved by the court, or a qualified 
salaried court employee appointed by the court.

The report shall be in writing and contain all reasonably available information concerning the physical and 
mental condition of the child; home environment, family life, health, facilities, and resources of the petitioners; 
and any other facts and circumstances relating to the propriety and advisability of the adoption. The report 
also shall include, if relevant, information on the child's special cultural heritage, including membership in any 
Indian Tribe or band.

The report shall be filed within 60 days of the date of appointment unless the time is extended by the court. 
The preplacement report shall be made available to the person appointed to make the postplacement report. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Rev. Code § 26.33.220; Admin. Code § 110-50-0180  

Unless otherwise ordered by the court, a preplacement report is not required if the petitioner seeks to adopt 
the child of the petitioner's spouse. 
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In regulation: The department may exclude relatives who have criminal histories, as included in the Adoption 
and Safe Families Act regulations. The department may not approve a relative placement if the department finds 
that, based on a criminal records check, a court of competent jurisdiction has determined that the relative or a 
member of the household has been convicted of a felony involving any of the following:
 � Child abuse or neglect 
 � Spousal abuse
 � A crime against a child or children, including child pornography
 � Crimes involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including other physical 

assault or battery

The department may not approve a relative placement if the department finds the relative, or a member of the 
household, has, within the last 5 years, been convicted of a felony involving any of the following:
 � Physical assault or battery
 � A drug-related offense 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Rev. Code § 26.34.010

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the 

Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

State regulations 

WEST VIRGINIA

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Code of State Rules § 78-2-13 

All adult family members shall be included in the adoption home study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Code of State Rules § 78-2-13 

The study shall be conducted by the child-placing agency. 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=110-60


Children’s Bureau/ACYF/ACF/HHS | 800.394.3366  |  Email: info@childwelfare.gov  |  https://www.childwelfare.gov 162

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Code of State Rules §§ 78-2-13; 78-2-20 

Adoptive parents shall be nurturing, responsible, patient, stable, flexible, mature, and healthy adults capable 
of meeting the individual and specific needs of children placed with them. Newly approved adoptive parents 
shall be no younger than age 21 and no older than age 65 unless a waiver is granted by the secretary of the 
Department of Health and Human Resources.

Adoptive parents must provide documentation of the following:
 � They are in good health, free of communicable diseases, and have had a tuberculin risk assessment or skin 

test. 
 � They have sufficient income and financial resources to meet their financial obligations.

As a condition of approval, an agency shall require that each adoptive parent participate in a specified training 
curriculum. An agency shall develop and implement a written plan for the training of adoptive parents, 
including preplacement training and child-specific training. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Code of State Rules §§ 78-2-13; 78-2-15; 78-2-16 

Adoptive parents shall provide the agency with the names of at least four references from persons who are 
not related to them. The agency must interview at least three of the references. Prior to approval, all adult 
household members shall undergo criminal background checks and checks of child abuse and neglect records.

The agency shall ensure that the physical facilities of an adoptive home present no health or safety hazards 
and that they are sufficiently clean and comfortable to ensure the well-being and respect of the family in the 
community. The adoptive home must comply with the same standards used to approve foster family homes.

The home study must include a minimum of one individual in-person interview for each parent and two joint 
interviews. The study shall describe and evaluate aspects of the home and family and shall include the following:
 � The composition of the household and intrafamily relationships
 � The family's attitudes, values, and level of understanding of child development
 � The manner in which the family handles conflict, stress, and frustration
 � Individual and family hobbies, recreation, community activities, and social life
 � Each parent's personal history, attitudes, feelings, and values
 � The parents' financial situation and motivation to adopt
 � An assessment of the adoptive parents' ability and willingness to make a lifetime commitment to the adopted 

child and their understanding of the legal rights of the adopted child

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Code of State Rules § 78-2-13 

An agency shall not approve an adoptive home if any of the following are true:
 � The adoptive parents have health, behavior, or emotional or psychological problems that may endanger the 

well-being of a child.
 � Not all references for the foster and adoptive parents are positive in nature.
 � Any household member has any convictions other than minor traffic violations.
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When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Code of State Rules §§ 78-2-16; 78-2-19 

A comprehensive written home study must be completed prior to placing a child in the home. 

For adoptive parents who have not had a child placed with them, the agency shall evaluate them annually and 
complete a narrative summary that includes the following:
 � An update of each of the parents' biographies and any changes in their circumstances or attitudes about 

adoption
 � A recommendation for any changes in the adoptive parents' conditions of approval

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Code of State Rules § 78-2-23

Following placement of a child in an adoptive home, the agency shall provide support services, including the 
following: 
 � An initial telephone contact within 72 hours of placement and an initial visit within 1 week of placement 
 � A minimum of six visits during the placement, at least four of which are in the home of the adoptive parents

In a two-parent family, both parents must be involved in at least three visits. Additional visits may be made on 
a frequency determined by the needs of the child and the adoptive parents. Visits shall include all household 
members, and the child shall be observed during each visit. If the child is old enough to carry on a conversation, 
the caseworker must conduct an interview with him or her in private during each visit.

The agency shall continue to provide support services for a minimum of 6 months or longer until permanent 
placement of the child is achieved. If the child is in the adoptive home as a foster care placement, the period of 
support services can include the time spent in the adoptive home in foster care. The agency shall provide a final 
visit with the adoptive family to review the adoption process prior to finalizing the adoption. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Code § 49-7-101 

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

Adoption Policy (West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Children and Families, 
Office of Children and Adult Services)

State regulations 

https://dhhr.wv.gov/bcf/policy/Documents/Adoption%20Policy%20August%202020.pdf
http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=26849&Format=PDF
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WISCONSIN

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 48.88

The study shall include the petitioners and any other adults residing in the petitioners' home. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 48.88

The court shall order one of the following to conduct or supplement the investigation:
 � If an agency has guardianship of the child: the guardianship agency, unless the agency has already filed its 

recommendation and has filed with the recommendation a report of an investigation
 � If no agency has guardianship of the child and a relative other than a stepparent has filed the petition for 

adoption: the Department of Children and Families, a county department, or a licensed child welfare agency
 � If the child is a citizen of a foreign jurisdiction and is under the guardianship of an individual: the agency that 

conducted the home study required under Federal law prior to the child's entry into the United States

If the child is an Indian child, the court may request the Tribal child welfare department of the Indian child's 
Tribe to conduct the investigation.

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 48.82; 48.84

When practicable and if requested by the birth parent, the adoptive parents shall be of the same religious faith 
as the birth parents of the adoptee.

If otherwise qualified, no person shall be denied the benefits of this section because the person is deaf, blind, 
or has other physical handicaps. No otherwise qualified person may be denied the benefits of this subchapter 
because of his or her race, color, ancestry, or national origin.

Before a child may be placed for adoption with a proposed adoptive parent who has not previously adopted 
a child, the adoptive parent shall complete the preadoption preparation required under this section. The 
preparation shall be provided by a licensed child welfare agency, private adoption agency, the State adoption 
information exchange, the State adoption center, a technical college, or an institution or college campus within 
the University of Wisconsin system. If the proposed adoptive parent does not reside in this State, he or she may 
meet this requirement by obtaining equivalent preparation in his or her State of residence.

The department shall promulgate rules establishing the number of hours of preadoption preparation that is 
required and the topics covered under that preparation. The preparation shall include training on issues that 
may confront adoptive parents, in general, and that may confront adoptive parents of special needs children 
or foreign children. In all cases, the training shall cover the topics of attachment, trauma, neglect, and abuse, 
including sexual abuse.

A proposed adoptive parent shall obtain at least 25 hours of the preadoption preparation, including the 
following:

 � At least 6 hours of training that is provided in person, either individually or in a group
 � At least 6 hours of training that is appropriate to the specific needs of the child to be adopted
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Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 48.88

In determining whether the petitioner’s home is suitable for the child, the investigating agency or Tribal child 
welfare department shall consider whether the petitioner is fit and qualified to care for the child, exercises 
sound judgment, does not abuse alcohol or drugs, and displays the capacity to successfully nurture the child.

The investigation shall be conducted using an assessment system that is approved by the department. The 
assessment system shall provide a reliable, comprehensive, and standardized qualitative evaluation of a 
petitioner’s personal characteristics, civil and criminal history, age, health, financial stability, and ability to 
responsibly meet all requirements of the department.

If the investigating agency has special concern as to the welfare of the child or the suitability of the placement, 
the investigation may include a clinical assessment of the petitioner's mental health or alcohol or other drug 
use. A person who provides the assessment shall not be employed by the investigating agency and shall be a 
licensed psychologist, psychiatrist, advanced practice social worker, independent social worker, clinical social 
worker, or professional counselor.

If the petitioner was required to obtain an initial license to operate a foster home before placement of the child 
for adoption, the investigating agency shall do the following:
 � Obtain a criminal history search from the records maintained by the Department of Justice and a fingerprint-

based check of the national crime information databases 
 � Obtain information maintained by the department regarding any substantiated reports of child abuse or 

neglect against the petitioner and any other adult residing in the petitioner’s home for any State in which the 
person has lived within the preceding 5 years 

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 48.837

In the case of a child on whose behalf adoption assistance payments will be provided, if the petitioner has been 
convicted of any of the offenses specified in § 48.685(5)(c), including murder, homicide, battery, sexual assault 
or exploitation, child abuse or neglect, incest, child prostitution, child pornography, or incest, the agency may 
not report that the petitioner's home is suitable for the child. 

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 48.837

When the proposed adoptive parent or parents of a child reside in this State and are not relatives of the child, 
a parent having custody of a child and the proposed adoptive parent or parents of the child may petition the 
court for placement of the child for adoption if the home is licensed as a foster home under § 48.62. At the 
request of a custodial parent and the proposed adoptive parents, the department, a county department, or a 
child welfare agency may place the child in the home of the proposed adoptive parent or parents prior to the 
filing of a petition. 

After an adoption petition is filed, the court shall order an investigation. The agency making the investigation 
shall file its report with the court at least 10 days before the hearing on the petition. 
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Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 48.84; Admin. Code DCF § 51.10

A person who is providing the required preadoption preparation shall offer to the adoptive parent at least 6 
additional hours of training appropriate to the postadoption needs of the family, to be provided after a court 
issues an order granting the adoption.

In regulation: The entity that provides the required preadoption training shall refer adoptive parents with 
postadoption needs to resources appropriate to the specific needs of the family or offer to provide at least 6 
hours of training, if the entity has sufficient expertise with the family's specific needs.

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 48.835; 48.88

A parent having custody of a child may place the child for adoption in the home of a relative of the child without 
a court order.

If a stepparent has filed a petition for adoption and no agency has guardianship of the child, the court shall 
order the department, a county department, or a licensed child welfare agency to conduct a screening 
consisting of no more than one interview with the petitioner and a check of the petitioner's background 
through public records, including records maintained by the department or any county department. 

Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 48.837; 48.988

When the proposed adoptive parent or parents of a child reside outside the State and are not relatives of 
the child, a custodial parent and the proposed adoptive parent or parents of the child may petition the 
court for placement of the child for adoption in the proposed adoptive home if the home meets the criteria 
established by the laws of the other State for a preadoptive placement of a child in the home of a nonrelative. 
An appropriate agency in the other State must complete an investigation of the home and file a report and 
recommendation concerning the home with the department, county department, or licensed child welfare 
agency.

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children. 

Foster to Adopt Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. §§ 48.833; 48.88; Admin. Code DCF § 56.14

The department or a licensed child welfare agency may place a child for adoption in a licensed foster home 
without a court order if the proposed adoptive parents have completed the preadoption preparation required 
under § 48.84(1).

If the petitioner was required to obtain an initial license to operate a foster home before placement of the child 
for adoption, the agency making the investigation shall obtain a criminal history search and a child abuse and 
neglect records check. If the petitioner has been convicted of any of the offenses specified in § 48.685 (5)(bm), 1 
to 4, the agency may not report that the petitioner's home is suitable for the child.

In regulation: A foster parent who is licensed solely for the purpose of adoption of a domestic infant or a foreign 
child will not be required to complete the foster parent training if the foster parent completes the preadoption 
preparation training required under Admin. Code DCF § 51.10. 
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Links to Resources

State regulations on preadoption training 

WYOMING

Current Through August 2020

Who Must Be Studied
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 1-22-104

The petitioners for adoption may be ordered by the court to undergo a home study. 

Agency or Person Conducting the Study
Citation: Code of Rules § 049-0001-1 

The Department of Family Services shall take applications for adoption services for prospective adoptive 
families only when ordered to do so by a court of competent jurisdiction or through the Interstate Compact on 
the Placement of Children (ICPC) when a child becomes legally available for adoption, is in the custody of the 
department, and when adoption is in the case plan. All other individuals and families requesting adoptive home 
study services are to be referred to child-placing agencies or adoption agencies. 

Qualifications for Adoptive Parents
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 1-22-103; Code of Rules § 049-0001-1

Any adult person who has resided in the State during the 60 days immediately preceding the filing of the 
petition for adoption and who is determined by the court to be fit and competent to be a parent may adopt in 
accordance with this act. 

In regulation: The department shall evaluate the applicant, including, but not limited to, the following areas:  
 � The applicant is an adult.  
 � The applicant is secure in his or her current status and able to provide for the child.  
 � The applicant's health, security, income, and social and emotional ability allow for stable parenting.  
 � The applicant's motivation is centered on the best interests of the child.  
 � The applicant has handled past concerns, such as divorce, marital conflict, and employment changes, in a 

constructive manner.  
 � The applicant and other members of the applicant's family are open and comfortable with the sharing of 

adoption and biological background information with the child. 

Elements of a Home Study
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 1-22-104; Code of Rules § 049-0001-1 

Adoption proceedings shall be commenced by a petition filed in district court. An affidavit from each petitioner 
shall be attached to the petition setting forth the following:
 � Any previous or current diagnosed psychiatric disorders of the petitioner
 � All felony convictions of the petitioner within the preceding 10 years
 � All misdemeanor convictions of the petitioner within the preceding 5 years
 � The current parole or probation status of the petitioner, if any

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/ch.%20DCF%2051.pdf
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In regulation: If the department is conducting the adoptive home study, the applicant must provide the 
following:
 � Names, addresses, age, sex, race and nationality; education, work, and employment records; physical 

description; verification of marriage(s) and divorce(s); financial statement of assets, liabilities, and income; 
family members and others living within the home

 � Names and addresses of five references who have known the applicant for a minimum of 2 years
 � A general physical examination, completed within the year
 � Autobiographies of each applicant
 � A statement as to the motivation to adopt and the types of children the applicant would consider
 � Documentation that they are residents of Wyoming  

Following the receipt of the aforementioned information, the caseworker shall conduct interviews both at the 
department field office and the applicant's home to gather the information needed to complete an adoptive 
home study and to assist in the evaluation of the suitability of placement of a child for adoption in that home. 
Central registry and fingerprint-based national criminal history record checks shall be completed. Additional 
information related to the suitability of the applicant for adoption may be required.   

Grounds for Withholding Approval
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 1-22-111; Code of Rules § 049-0001-1 

The adoption petition may be denied if the court finds that the best interests and welfare of the child will be 
served by such denial. 

In regulation: The adoptive home study shall include a recommendation for or against the adoptive placement.  

When Studies Must Be Completed
Citation: Code of Rules § 049-0001-1 

The study must be completed within a reasonable timeframe. 

Postplacement Study Requirements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 1-22-111

After the petition to adopt has been filed and a hearing held, the court, acting in the best interests and welfare 
of the child, may make any of the following orders:
 � Enter an interlocutory decree of adoption giving the care and custody of the child to the petitioners pending 

further order of the court
 � Defer entry of an interlocutory decree of adoption and order the department or a private licensed agency to 

investigate and report to the court the background of the child and of the petitioners and the medical, social, 
and psychological backgrounds and statuses of the consenting parent and putative father

 � Enter a final decree of adoption, if the child has resided in the home of the petitioner for 6 months

After a written report of the investigation is filed, the court shall determine if the adoption by the petitioners is 
in the best interests and welfare of the child and thereupon enter the appropriate order or decree. 

Exceptions for Stepparent or Relative Adoptions

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 
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Requirements for Interjurisdictional Placements
Citation: Ann. Stat. § 14-5-101

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the ICPC.

The child shall not be sent into the receiving State until the appropriate public authorities in the receiving 
State notify the sending agency, in writing, that the proposed placement does not appear to be contrary to the 
interests of the child. 

Foster to Adopt Placements

This issue is not addressed in the statutes and regulations reviewed. 

Links to Resources

State regulations

https://rules.wyo.gov/DownloadFile.aspx?source_id=9799&source_type_id=81&doc_type_id=110&include_meta_data=Y&file_type=pdf&filename=9799.pdf&token=156144079056253198180230067015093245180223230055
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