skip to main content

Browse by Topic


Child Welfare Policy Manual

The Child Welfare Policy Manual updates and reformats all of the existing, relevant policy issuances (Policy Announcements and Policy Interpretation Questions) into an easy-to-use question and answer format, replacing the Children's Bureau's former policy issuance system. This manual is broken down into nine main policy areas: 1) AFCARS, 2) CAPTA, 3) Independent Living, 4) MEPA/IEAP, 5) Monitoring, 6) SACWIS, 7) Title IV-B, 8) Title IV-E, and 9) Tribes/Indian Tribal Organizations. Future policy guidance will be disseminated in this format and announced as "Updates!" to the manual, ensuring that the most current policy information is available to States quickly and accurately.

Open Website »

Screen Shot of Child Welfare Policy Manual